Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

Full Current Name: Mastercard Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy
Tournament Country: India
Tournament Administrator: Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI)
Cricket Forms: Twenty20
Current Champion: Mumbai cricket team
Nearest Tournament: 11 October 2022 - 5 November 2022
Format Tournament: Round-robin then knockout
Numbers Of Team: 38
Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Twenty20 cricket home tour in India

Published: Reading time: ~ 4 min. Comments: 0
Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

The first season of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy was held in India in 2006. The tournament is named after a famous Indian cricketer. The format of the competition is games with a limited number of overs. Matches are held in the form of Twenty20 (one game is two innings, where 20 overs are played each). The championship consists of a group stage and a playoff round. The Board of Control for Cricket in India manages the tournament. The most titled Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy clubs are the Baroda cricket team, Gujarat cricket team, Karnataka cricket team and Tamil Nadu cricket team. They have two championship titles on their account. Read a short review about the professional and young cricket tournament.

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy – launch of the tournament

In 2006, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) decided to launch a new cricket championship, the matches of which will be held in the form of Twenty20. The BCCI is the main governing body for cricket, responsible for the sport across India. The Board was formed in 1928. Today, it hosts dozens of different professional cricket tournaments.

Initially, the BCCI wanted to create a new championship called the Inter State T20 Championship. However, by the release of its 1st season, the tournament was renamed the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy.

Syed Mushtaq Ali (1914-2005) is a former professional cricketer who became the 1st player to score 112 runs in the national team against England in 1936. He played his last test match against the English national team in 1952 at the age of 38.

Although the official date of the tournament’s creation is considered to be 2006, the 1st sports season was held in the period 2009-2010. Then 26 teams took part in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy (the 27th Rajasthan cricket team refused at the last moment). The winner of the debut championship was a club from the state of Maharashtra.

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy – launch of the tournament

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy – different tournament formats

Almost every game season, the BCCI adjusts the format of the competition. For example, in 2016-2017, in order to qualify for the tournament, 28 teams participated in the 1st Inter State Twenty20 Tournament. Here, the clubs were divided into five geographical zones (Central, East, North, South and West Zone). According to the group stage results, the 1st places of each zone represented their geographical group at the main Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy championship. In 2017, the championship was won by West Zone (represented by its Bengal cricket team).

The following year, in order to get to the tournament, professional teams competed in the Zonal T20 League. After all the matches were played, the top 10 teams entered the Super League of the main championship. The Super League consisted of 2 groups (Group A and Group B).

The 2018-2019 season was the 10th in a row. Nine new teams were added to the tournament. The zonal system was canceled. The clubs were divided into five groups, in which their winners and the 2nd place of each group entered the Super League. There, the league was again divided into two subgroups, in which the finalists of the championship were determined.

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy – different tournament formats

The last season (2020-2021) was held according to a bit different requirements. For a clear view, we will display everything in the table:

League stage (38 teams)
Group A
(6 teams)
Group B
(6 teams)
Group C
(6 teams)
Group D
(6 teams)
Group E
(6 teams)
Plate Group (8 teams)
Getting into Knockout stage (8 команд)
From Group A 2 teams qualified From Group B 1 team qualified From Group C 2 teams qualified From Group D 1 team qualified From Group E 1 team qualified From Plate Group 1 team qualified

After that, the playoff matches were held, which began with the 1/4 final.

By the way, due to COVID-19, the extreme season was held in a shortened format. Before the start of the championship, the Mumbai Cricket Association proposed that the tournament should be held in one city of Mumbai. The city has six stadiums with all amenities. BCCI willingly agreed to such an initiative. All matches were held under strict sanitary control!

As for the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy’s personal records, the current player of the Baroda cricket team, Kedar Devdhar, has the most runs during the entire tournament. And Piyush Chawla is the record holder for the number of wickets knocked out. The Gujarat cricket team player has hit 85 wickets.

Follow the upcoming Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy sports seasons with us!

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Comments on Article

No Comments for this post

Leave Your Comment

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form