Haryana cricket team

Team Country: India
Team City: Lahli, Haryana
Team Administrator: Haryana Cricket Association
Founded (Year): 1970
Home Ground: Chaudhary Bansi Lal Cricket Stadium, Rohtak
Coach: Surendra Bhave
Captain: Harshal Patel
Forms of Cricket: First-Class Twenty20
Haryana cricket team

Haryana cricket team: competitions

Haryana cricket team: First-Class Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Ranji Trophy Ranji Trophy 1 1990–91 Irani Cup Irani Cup 1 1991–92

Haryana cricket team: Twenty20 Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 0

Haryana cricket team: Current Squad

Mohit Sharma Mohit Sharma Bowler Yuzvendra Chahal Yuzvendra Chahal Bowler

Haryana cricket team: Indian famous cricket team

Published: Reading time: ~ 4 min. Comments: 0
Haryana cricket team

Indian cricket club Haryana first appeared in first-class matches in 1970. The team represents the eponymous state with a population of 25 million people. The club participates in 3 Indian championships: the Ranji Trophy, the Vijay Hazare Trophy and the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. He plays home matches at the small stadium, Chaudhary Bansi Lal, with a capacity of 8,000 people. Throughout its history, the club has once won the first-class Ranji Trophy and once the one-day Irani Cup. In this article, we describe the main sports moments from the life of the Haryana cricket team.

Haryana cricket team – early years

The Haryana Cricket Association (HCA) is the governing body of cricket in Haryana, responsible for all activities of the local sports club. The Association is a full member of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). In addition to the men’s team, HCA also organizes matches for the women’s cricket team. The Cricket Association develops and promotes cricket and holds various tournaments for all age groups (U13-U25) in Haryana.

The cricket team received professional status in 1970. Since then, the club has appeared in the domestic first-class Ranji Trophy tournament. In the debut season, the team settled down in the Northern Zone, where, at the end of the championship, they took 5th place out of 6.

The first time to reach the playoff round was in 1975. Club Haryana finished 2nd in their group and advanced to the preliminary quarter-finals. The team defeated the Madhya Pradesh cricket team in this round. At the next stage, the team was awaited by rivals from the Hyderabad cricket team. Unfortunately, the players from Haryana lost the 2nd match in the play-off round.

Finally, a successful season happened in 1986. The club reached the final of the Ranji Trophy for the first time. However, the Haryana cricket team could not win it. The title match was lost to Delhi Cricket Club.

The team passed to the next final five years later, in 1991. Then, in the decisive game, the Haryana cricket team played against Tamil Nadu. The match ended with Haryana’s victory. The club won its 1st league title.

An additional game has been held for the Irani Cup in India since 1960, at the end of the Ranji Trophy season. Playing the current winner of the first-class tournament against the national team of the best players of the last season (except for the cricketers from the winning team). Thanks to the 1990 victory, the Haryana was able to compete for their 2nd championship trophy. So, the team from Haryana became the 29th winner of the one-day Irani Cup tournament in 1991 at the Nahar Singh Stadium.

Haryana cricket team - early years

Haryana cricket team – participation in other championships, famous club players

In 1993, a new tournament appeared in the country – the Ranji One Day Trophy. The championship consisted of one-day matches, all teams from the Ranji Trophy took part. Until the beginning of the XXI century, the championship was held without a final (it consisted of 5 zones, each with its own winner). In 2002, the tournament was renamed the Vijay Hazare Trophy, and the playoffs appeared.

At this championship, the team from Haryana did not manage to take decent results. The club finished the last season 2020-2021 in 6th place in Group E.

In 2006, another professional cricket championship appeared in India – the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. The new tournament is extremely different from the first-class Ranji Trophy. The competition format is one-day short matches with limited overs (2 innings of 20 overs).

Haryana cricket team - participation in other championships, famous club players

All internal professional teams (38 clubs) also play here. In 2021, the Haryana cricket team won Group E in the last season and advanced to the playoff round. Unfortunately, the team could not go beyond the quarter-finals. The team members lost to the future finalist of the Baroda cricket team tournament with a score of 148/7 – 150/2.

For the team, at different times such professional players as:

  • Kapil Dev;
  • Amit Mishra;
  • Joginder Sharma;
  • Yuzvendra Chahal.

We are sure that despite the modest number of titles on account of the Haryana cricket team, the team will still show their skills and professionalism!

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form