Kerala cricket team

Ex Nickname: Travancore-Cochin cricket team
Team Country: India
Team City: Thiruvananthapuram city, Kerala, India
Team Administrator: Kerala Cricket Association
Founded (Year): 1950
Home Ground: Greenfield International Stadium
Coach: Tinu Yohannan
Captain: Sanju Samson
Forms of Cricket: First-Class Limited Overs Twenty20
Kerala cricket team

Kerala cricket team: competitions

Kerala cricket team: First-Class Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Ranji Trophy Ranji Trophy 0

Kerala cricket team: Limited Overs Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Vijay Hazare Trophy Vijay Hazare Trophy 0

Kerala cricket team: Twenty20 Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 0

Kerala cricket team: Indian professional cricket team

Published: Reading time: ~ 4 min. Comments: 0
Kerala cricket team

The Kerala Indian Club was formed in 1956 in the Kerala state of the same name. The team participates in 3 professional tournaments: thr Ranji Trophy, the Vijay Hazare Trophy and the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. The team does not have its own home site. It hosts guests at various stadiums in Kerala State. The Kerala cricket team does not have a single significant trophy. The sports club came into being after the reorganization of the Travancore-Cochin state. In this article, we will analyze all the main points from the life of a professional club.

Kerala cricket team – staff expansion

The Kerala Cricket Association is the organization that deals with cricket sports in the state of Kerala. The company was formed in 1950 under the 1st name Travancore-Cochin Cricket Association. At the same time, a cricket team of the same name was formed.

From 1951-1957, Travancore-Cochin competed in the first-class Ranji Trophy. During this period, the team’s best achievement has reached the 3rd round of the tournament in the 1953-1954 season.

After India passed the State Reorganization Act, the new state of Kerala appeared in 1956. It consists of 4 regions: Cochin, Malabar, South Canara and Travancore (total population 34 million). Consequently, the local cricket association and the sports club have changed as well.

Today the Kerala Cricket Association (KCA) is a full member of the Board of Control for Cricket in India. A local company is responsible for the development of cricket throughout the state. KCA organizes various amateur tournaments for schoolchildren and students (U14-U25). Both men’s and women’s competitions are held.

Kerala cricket team - staff expansion

Kerala cricket team – tournament games

The redesigned Kerala cricket team replaces Travancore-Cochin at the top-notch Ranji Trophy. The team spent their debut season in 1958. Then the tournament consisted of 22 teams, which were united in 5 playing zones. The Kerala players were in the South Zone, where they took the last 5th place at the end of the championship.

Unfortunately, the cricket club could not show great victories and performances for all this time. If we take the statistics of the Kerala cricket team performances over the past five years, the 2018-2019 season is considered the best:

  • 1st place in the group stage in group B. Advance to the play-off round;
  • Victory in the quarter finals over a team from Gujarat state. Advance to the semi-finals of the tournament;
  • Lost in the semi-final stage in the match against the Vidarbha cricket team.

In addition to first-class matches, the team has been playing in domestic competitions of another format since 1993 – cricket, with a limited number of overs (matches last only one day, maximum 8 hours). Until 2002, the championship was named the Ranji One Day Trophy. The playoff stages appear after 9 years of the foundation of the tournament, and the championship is renamed Vijay Hazare Trophy. Here, over the past ten years, the last season – 2020-2021 is considered the best performance:

  • According to the results of the group stage, the club took 3rd place in group C and advanced to the playoffs;
  • Unfortunately, the team immediately lost to the Karnataka cricket team in the quarter-finals.

Since 2006, a new tournament has started in India called the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. The championship format is also with limited overs. However, games are played here for a maximum of 3 hours. Two innings of 20 overs are played.

Kerala cricket team - tournament games

In its first season, the club played in the South Zone, where it took the last 6th place in the championship. In the 2020-2021 season, the Kerala cricket team participated in Group E. The group stage finished in 2nd place out of 6 (reaching the playoffs only from 1st position).

The most outstanding players of the club in different years are:

  • Tinu Yohannan;
  • Shanthakumaran Sreesanth;
  • Sanju Samson;
  • Ajay Varma;
  • Robin Uthappa;
  • Sachin Baby.

Besides them, there are other professional players.

Despite the fact that the club has no championship titles, the local team players always go to the end and fight in every match. We hope that the quality of the band’s performance will only grow.

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form