Mumbai cricket team

Ex Nickname: Bombay cricket team
Team Country: India
Team City: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Team Administrator: Mumbai Cricket Association
Founded (Year): 1930
Home Ground: Wankhede Stadium
Home Ground: Bandra Kurla Complex Ground
Coach: Amol Muzumdar
Captain: Shreyas Iyer
Forms of Cricket: First-Class Limited Overs Twenty20
Mumbai cricket team

Mumbai cricket team: Current Squad

Rohit Sharma Rohit Sharma Batsman

Mumbai cricket team: Indian popular cricket team

Published: Reading time: ~ 5 min. Comments: 0
Mumbai cricket team

The professional cricket club was formed in 1930 under the 1st name Bombay Cricket Association. The modern name appeared in 1995. The Mumbai team is the most titled club in the first-class Ranji Trophy tournament. It has 41 championship titles to its credit. In addition, the team has won the one–day tournament – Irani Cup – 14 record times and the Vijay Hazare Trophy 4 times. The team also competes in another popular championship – the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. It plays its home matches at the Wankhede Stadium with a capacity of 45,000 people. The Mumbai cricket team raised such strong players as Sachin Tendulkar, Sunil Gavaskar, Polly Umrigar and Dilip Vengsarkar.

Mumbai cricket team – records at Ranji Trophy and Irani Cup

Mumbai Cricket Association (until 1995 Bombay) is the governing sports body for cricket in the city of Mumbai, with a population of 15 million people. The city is located in the state of Maharashtra. MCA was formed in 1930. The company is responsible for the modern Mumbai Cricket team, as well as for all local cricket sports events. The Association holds various tournaments among all age groups.

Mumbai Cricket Association is a full member of the Board of Control for Cricket in India. Being on the Board gives the sports body the right to field its local cricket team for various professional tournaments held under the leadership of the MCA.

So, the Bombay cricket team (further – Mumbai) debuted in the 1st season of the first-class Ranji Trophy championship (matches are played from 3 to 5 days) in 1934. At that time, 15 professional teams took part in the tournament. Mumbai players ended up in the Western Zone (there were 4 in total):

  • According to the results of the draw, the club started the championship from the 2nd round. Here the team beat the Maharashtra cricket team;
  • In the 3rd round, the team won against the Western India cricket team and went to the 1/2 final;
  • In the semi-final meeting, the club easily coped with the Hyderabad cricket team;
  • Eventually, in the final, the Mumbai cricket team won against the Northern India cricket team.

It turns out that the Mumbai club became the 1st champions of the Ranji Trophy tournament. So it began its record-breaking championship path.

The team was able to repeat the success in the next season. They were stronger than the Madras cricket team (now Tamil Nadu cricket team). Then the team did not have any championship awards for five years. The club continued its extravaganza in 1942. Then it won its 3rd trophy against the Mysore cricket team (now Karnataka).

Mumbai cricket team became a frequent champion of the first-class tournament until 1958. At that time, the team already had nine trophies. And then the most famous period began both for the team and for the championship itself. Mumbai Club from 1959-1973 became the best in the Ranji Trophy 15 times in a row! No one could take away the championship title from the club.

In 1974, the Karnataka cricket team did it (Mumbai did not reach the final at all). In the 1980s, the popularity of the local team fell a little, but it was able to regain its glory in the mid-1990s. At the beginning of the XXI century, the club had 34 first-class titles on its account!

Mumbai cricket team was able to get its 41st championship victory in 2016. In the final, the team beat the Saurashtra cricket team. In the last season of the Ranji Trophy, the club played in Group B, where it finished 6th out of 9 possible places.

In 1960, in honor of the 25th anniversary of the first-class tournament, it was decided to create another tournament, which will consist of only one match: between the current winner of the Ranji Trophy and a team of the best players of the season (except members from the winning team).

The 1st champion at the Irani Cup was the Mumbai club. Until 1986, the team won this tournament every 2-3 years. The next time the team won the one-day Irani Cup was in 1995. During the entire existence of the Irani Cup, players from Mumbai became champions 14 record times (plus one joint victory in 1966).

Mumbai cricket team – records at Ranji Trophy and Irani Cup

Mumbai cricket team – participation in other professional tournaments

Since 1993, another cricket championship has appeared in India – the Ranji One Day Trophy. The matches of this tournament are held in a format with a limited number of overs. That is, two innings of 40-60 overs are played in one match. For the first nine years, the tournament was held without a playoff round, and the winners were the first five teams from 5 playing zones. Mumbai cricket team played in the Western Zone, where it became the best in 1997-2002.

Since 2002, the championship has had playoff rounds, the name of the championship has been changed to the Vijay Hazare Trophy. The team from Mumbai became a full-fledged winner for the first time in 2004. Then the club beat the Bengal cricket team in the decisive match.

Mumbai cricket team – participation in other professional tournaments

As of 2021, the Mumbai cricket team has four championship titles on its account. The last time players won the Vijay Hazare Trophy competition that was in 2021 (the tournament was held in a shortened format due to COVID-19):

  • The club took 1st place in Group D and reached the 1/4 finals;
  • In the quarterfinals, the team beat the Saurashtra cricket team;
  • In the 1/2 final, the team was better than the Karnataka cricket team;
  • In the final game, the club won against the Uttar Pradesh cricket team.

In 2006, another cricket tournament was formed in the country – the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. Its matches are also held in a format with a limited number of overs (two innings of 20 overs each are played).

Mumbai cricket team has no titles in this championship. The best achievement in the last five years is 2nd place in Group B of the Super League. In the last season, the club took the last 6th place in Group E.

Throughout its history, the sports club has shown what it is capable of. Follow the team’s further results with us!

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form