Hyderabad cricket team

Team Country: India
Team City: Hyderabad, Telangana
Team Administrator: Hyderabad Cricket Association
Founded (Year): 1934
Coach: J. Arunkumar
Captain: Tanmay Agarwal
Forms of Cricket: First-Class Limited Overs Twenty20
Hyderabad cricket team

Hyderabad cricket team: competitions

Hyderabad cricket team: First-Class Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Ranji Trophy Ranji Trophy 2 1937/38,1986/87 Irani Cup Irani Cup 1 1986/87

Hyderabad cricket team: Limited Overs Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Vijay Hazare Trophy Vijay Hazare Trophy 0

Hyderabad cricket team: Twenty20 Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 0

Hyderabad cricket team: Indian professional cricket team

Published: Reading time: ~ 4 min. Comments: 0
Hyderabad cricket team

Professional Indian cricket club Hyderabad was formed in 1934 in the city of the same name in Telangana state. The population of this place is 35 million people. Players are 2-time champions of the first-class Ranji Trophy as well as winners of the one-day Irani Cup. In addition, the club competes in two more championships: the Vijay Hazare Trophy and the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. He plays home matches at the international stadium Rajiv Gandhi, which seats 55,000 spectators. We have prepared a short material for you about the history of a popular sports club.

Hyderabad cricket team – BCCI entry and club debut championship

Telangana State learned about cricket through the British army in the 19th century. However, until 1934, there was no own cricket club on the administrative territory. So, the Hyderabad Cricket Association was formed in the city in the same 1934. It is the local governing body in the state that oversees the development of cricket. The association is a member of the State Cricket Control Council of India (BCCI). Thanks to this, the local authority has the right to field a professional team in various cricket competitions.

The Hyderabad cricket team was also formed in the year the Association was founded. The club debuted in Season 1 of the first-class Ranji Trophy. The team won their first match against the Tamil Nadu team. Due to the small number of clubs, the players were immediately able to reach the tournament’s semifinals. Unfortunately, the club lost the match to the future champion – the Bombay cricket team there(today it is called the Mumbai cricket team).

A real triumph at the Ranji Trophy happened for the Hyderabad cricket team in 1938:

  • Initially, the players easily beat the Tamil Nadu cricket team;
  • In the semifinals, the team beat the Southern Punjab cricket team;
  • Finally, in the final match, the team met with the Saurashtra cricket team, which they beat in a single wicket in a very difficult game.

This was the 1st championship title for the city and the team. The next attempt to take the title appeared in 1943. But then the club lost 307 runs to the Baroda cricket team in the decisive game.

Playing on for 32 years in a first-class tournament, the Hyderabad cricket team was able to get into the third final for themselves only in 1965. However, this time was also a failure: the team lost to the Bombay cricket team (already it was the 10th title out of 18 in a row for them at that time).

Fortunately, everything worked out in 1987. The club made it to the 4th final in its history, where it played against the Delhi cricket team. The playoff ended in victory for the players from Hyderabad. By the way, in the same year, thanks to a big victory, the team represented their state at the one-day Irani Cup tournament. This is a game between the reigning champion and the team of the best players of the last season. The match ended with a big win for the Hyderabad group.

Another chance to win fame and the championship appeared for the players in 2000. The club won all preliminary rounds, and in the final, they met with the Mumbai cricket team, to whom they lost by a score of 297 runs. In the last game year of the first-class Ranji Trophy championship (2019-2020), the team took 18th place.

Hyderabad cricket team - BCCI entry and club debut championship

Hyderabad cricket team – participation in other venues

Since 1993, the club began to participate in a new tournament called the Ranji One Day Trophy. The format of the championship is called one-day. The match took place in one day (up to 8 hours with a limited number of overs). Since 2002, the tournament has been renamed the Vijay Hazare Trophy, and the final matches appeared. The Hyderabad team was in Group A in the last season of 2020-2021, in which, according to the championship results, took 3rd place.

Hyderabad cricket team - participation in other venues

Another tournament in the format of one-day matches started in India in 2006. It is called the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. Much to our disappointment, the Hyderabad cricket team has not yet shown decent results at this championship. The club was last ranked 5th out of 6 in Group B.

We hope that we will witness historical moments with the participation of a team from the state of Telangana soon.

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form