Railways cricket team

Team Country: India
Team City: New Delhi, Delhi
Team Administrator: Railways Sports Promotion Board
Founded (Year): 1930
Home Ground: Karnail Singh Stadium, New Delhi
Coach: Dinesh Lad
Captain: Karn Sharma
Forms of Cricket: First-Class Limited Overs Twenty20
Railways cricket team

Railways cricket team: competitions

Railways cricket team: First-Class Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Ranji Trophy Ranji Trophy 2 2001–02, 2004–05 Irani Cup Irani Cup 2 2002-03, 2005-06

Railways cricket team: Limited Overs Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Vijay Hazare Trophy Vijay Hazare Trophy 1 2005–06

Railways cricket team: Twenty20 Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 0

Railways cricket team: Indian cricket team

Published: Reading time: ~ 4 min. Comments: 0
Railways cricket team

The Indian Railways Cricket Club was formed in 1930. The team is located in the capital of the country – New Delhi. The team has two championship titles of the first-class Ranji Trophy championship, two victories at the Irani Cup, as well as one championship victory at the Vijay Hazare Trophy tournament. In addition, the club participates in the championship of short matches – Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. It plays its home games at the Karnail Singh Stadium, with a capacity of 5,000 people. Read our prepared material about a famous sports team.

Railways cricket team – debut victory

Railways Sports Promotion Board (RASPB) is a sports organization that promotes 30 sports disciplines. A state body – Indian Railways, governs the council. That is, RASPB is responsible for sports in this large company.

Cricket has become one of the leading sports. Today, RASPB is a full member of the Board of Control for Cricket in India. The Sports Cricket Club made its professional debut in 1959.

At its 1st Ranji Trophy championship, the Railways team was in the Northern Zone, where, according to the results of the championship, it took 3rd place out of 6. The club managed to reach the playoff round for the first time only in 1967. The team took 1st place in the group stage and has already lost in the 1/4 finals to a team from the state of West Bengal.

In the 1987-1988 season, the local cricket club reached the decisive stage of the championship for the first time. However, the team lost to the Tamil Nadu cricket team in the final.

Finally, the first championship victory at the first-class Ranji Trophy tournament happened in 2002:

  • The team entered the playoff stage from the 1st place of the Central Zone;
  • Further, in the 1/8 finals, the club was stronger than the Delhi cricket team;
  • In 1/4, the team won against Tamil Nadu cricket team;
  • In the semi-final draw, the players beat the Bengal cricket team;
  • In the final match, the Railways cricket team won against a team from the city of Baroda.

The championship victory allowed the team to participate in a one-day tournament between the current winner of the Ranji Trophy and the national cricket team among the best players of the season. So, the Railways club became the champion of the Irani Cup in 2003.

It turned out to repeat the triumph in 2005. The team reached the final, in which they beat the Punjab cricket team. Also, in 2006, they managed to win the Irani Cup for the 2nd time. In the last season of the Ranji Trophy (2019-2020), the sports team was in Group B, in which it took 7th place out of 9 possible ones.

Railways cricket team – debut victory

Railways cricket team – significant results in other tournaments

Since 1993, the Railways cricket team has been participating in another professional championship, the Vijay Hazare Trophy (until 2002, it was called the Ranji One Day Trophy). The tournament is held in a format with a limited number of overs (games last a maximum of 8 hours, two innings of 40-60 overs are played). For the first nine years, the championship was held without a playoff stage. The winners were determined by the group stage in 5 playing zones. So, in 2002, the Railways team became the best in the Central Zone.

A successful season turned out in 2006. The players from Railways reached the final stage, in which they beat the experienced Uttar Pradesh team with an advantage of 20 runs. The team tried to repeat the achievement in the 2013-2014 season. However, it failed to win against the Karnataka cricket team in the final. The last time (2020-2021), the club played in Group C, in which, according to the results of the championship, it took 4th place out of 6.

Railways cricket team – significant results in other tournaments

Another professional tournament played by the Railways cricket team is called the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. The championship was formed only in 2006. Unfortunately, during this time, the local team did not have any championship titles. The best achievement over the past five seasons is considered the exit from 1st place from group C to the super league of the championship.

At various times, some of the famous players of the Railways cricket team are considered to be:

  • Budhi Kunderan;
  • Sanjay Bangar;
  • Karn Sharma;
  • Murali Kartik;
  • Dinesh Mor.

At the domestic championships, the club shows decent results. We will follow the further performances of the sports team!

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form