Andhra cricket team

Team Country: India
Team City: Anantapur, Andhra Pradesh
Team Administrator: Andhra Cricket Association (ACA)
Founded (Year): 1930
Home Ground: Dr. Y. S. Rajasekhara Reddy International Cricket Stadium
Coach: A. Yugandhar
Captain: Kona Srikar Bharat
Forms of Cricket: First-Class Limited Overs Twenty20
Andhra cricket team

Andhra cricket team: competitions

Andhra cricket team: First-Class Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Ranji Trophy Ranji Trophy 0 Irani Cup Irani Cup 0

Andhra cricket team: Limited Overs Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Vijay Hazare Trophy Vijay Hazare Trophy 0

Andhra cricket team: Twenty20 Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 0

Andhra cricket team: Indian domestic cricket team

Published: Reading time: ~ 4 min. Comments: 0
Andhra cricket team

Andhra is an Indian cricket team formed in 1930 in the south of the country, in the state of Andhra Pradesh. The club participates in the first-class competitions of the Ranji Trophy, the one-day Vija Hazare Trophy (formerly the Ranji One Day Trophy), as well as the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy – domestic short T20 matches. The team plays its home matches at the Dr. Y. S. Rajasekhara Reddy International Stadium, which holds 27,500 spectators. There are no big victories on the club’s account, but the Andhra players are doing everything possible to win their first long-awaited title.

Andhra cricket team

Andhra cricket team: history of the origin

Cricket in India appeared in the XVIII century. Every year this sport became more and more popular among the residents of the country. By the way, today, the Indian Premier Cricket League is recognized as the most popular championship in the world.

In 1928, the Board of Control for Cricket in India appeared in the country. The Council is the governing body in India responsible for developing men’s and women’s cricket in the state. Interestingly, BCCI is not financially dependent on the government of India!

As for the team from the state of Andhra Pradesh, the official foundation date of the club is 1930. For the first 20 years, it was just a local amateur team that played cricket. Finally, in 1953, the Andhra Cricket Association appeared in the city of Visakhapatnam – the governing body of cricket in the state, which is part of the national BCCI.

Andhra cricket team took part in the Ranji Trophy for the first time in the same 1953 year. At that time, 21 sports teams participated in the tournament. All the clubs were grouped geographically into four or five zones. Players from Andhra got a place in the South Zone. Unfortunately, the team could not go beyond the 1st round. In that round, it lost to the Mysore cricket team (now called Karnataka).

K.-S.-Bharat - Andhra cricket team captain
K.-S.-Bharat – Andhra cricket team captain

Andhra cricket team – other tournaments and the best results

In India, in 1959, the first first-class match of the Irani Trophy (today called the Irani Cup) was held for the first time. This one-match tournament was invented to celebrate the 25th anniversary of the Ranji Trophy. According to the regulations, the Irani Cup title is played by the winners of the Ranji Trophy and a team called the Rest of India cricket team. The 2nd team consists of 11 best players from all over the country (the composition is constantly changing), except for cricketers from the current Ranji Trophy championship team.

In its entire history, the Andhra cricket team has never participated in the Irani Cup. Moreover, the club has never reached the final stage of the Ranji Trophy. Officially, the best achievement of the team in a first-class tournament is considered to be reaching the quarterfinals in 2020:

  • Andhra is located in the elite group A, where it took 3rd place and reached the play-off round;
  • In the quarterfinals, the club lost to the future winner of the championship title – the Saurashtra cricket team.

Starting in 1993, in addition to first-class matches, players from Andhra began to take part in one-day competitions called the Ranji Hazare Trophy. Until 2002, there was no main winner of the tournament (there were only the top 5 teams of the playing zones). And since 2002, the championship has had finals, and the tournament was renamed the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Dr. Y. S. Rajasekhara Reddy International Cricket Stadium
Dr. Y. S. Rajasekhara Reddy International Cricket Stadium

The best result in one-day matches for the Andhra cricket team was the semi-final in 2018: the club was in group C, left it in the play-off round from 1st place. In the quarterfinals, the team dealt with the Delhi cricket team, and in the semi-finals, they lost to the Saurashtra cricket team.

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy is the 3rd domestic cricket championship, in which the Andhra team has been participating since 2006. This is a Twenty20 tournament (that is, only two innings of 20 overs are played). All 38 national teams of India participate in the competition, divided among themselves into six game groups. Unfortunately, to date, the club has not shown high results at the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. In 2021, it took 5th place in group E (but the 1st places from each group go to the play-off, plus the two best teams from groups A-E, who will score the most points).

We believe that the sports team has enough strength and opportunities to start winning significant titles. We hope that this will be implemented in the near future.

Andhra cricket team is one of the most interesting in Indian cricket. Follow the News of the team, and also use Tips for matches with its participation.

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form