Gujarat cricket team

Team Country: India
Team City: Ahmedabad, Gujarat
Team Administrator: Gujarat Cricket Association
Founded (Year): 1950
Home Ground: Narendra Modi Stadium
Coach: Sairaj Bahutule
Captain: Priyank Panchal
Forms of Cricket: First-Class Limited Overs Twenty20
Gujarat cricket team

Gujarat cricket team: competitions

Gujarat cricket team: First-Class Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Ranji Trophy Ranji Trophy 1 2016–17
Irani Trophy 0

Gujarat cricket team: Limited Overs Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Vijay Hazare Trophy Vijay Hazare Trophy 1 2015–16

Gujarat cricket team: Twenty20 Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2 2012/13, 2014/15

Gujarat cricket team: Current Squad

Jasprit Bumrah Jasprit Bumrah Bowler

Gujarat cricket team: Indian domestic cricket team

Published: Reading time: ~ 4 min. Comments: 0
Gujarat cricket team

The Indian cricket team Gujarat was formed in 1950 in the state of the same name Gujarat. In addition to it, the state at professional championships is represented by two other teams – the Baroda cricket team and the Saurashtra cricket team. The players from the Gujarat team have won one championship victory in the first-class Ranji Trophy, one title in the Vijay Hazare Trophy and two victories in the short-match tournament – the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. The club plays home matches at the Narendra Modi Stadium with a capacity of 132,000 people. For 2021, this is the largest stadium not only in India but in the whole world! Our site has prepared for you a short overview of the popular sports cricket team.

Gujarat cricket team – a club from the 1950s

The Gujarat Cricket Association (GCA) was formed in 1934 before the team itself appeared in 1950. Today it is the local governing organization of Gujarat state cricket. The association develops and manages this sport and also represents the interests of 3 local professional clubs. The headquarters of the GCA is the Narendra Modi Stadium.

The Gujarat cricket team began their professional career in 1950. Then the new team took part in the Ranji Trophy championship. Who would have thought that a newcomer to the tournament would immediately make it to the final? And so it happened. But, already in the decisive match, the team lacked professionalism a little. The players lost the final match to the Holkar cricket team (now called Madhya Pradesh).

Further, the club became the middle peasant of the first-class championship over several decades. The Gujarat cricket team began to play at another domestic tournament in the country in 1993. Initially, the championship was called the Ranji One Day Trophy (a format of one-day matches with a limited number of overs). It was held for the first 9 years without a final match (the tournament was divided into 5 zones in which the best clubs were selected).

In 2002, the final draws appeared at the one-day tournament; the tournament was renamed to the Vijay Hazare Trophy. Here, for the first time, the Gujarat club successfully performed in 2011. The team reached the final stage, where they met with the Jharkhand cricket team. Unfortunately, the match ended in defeat for the Gujarat players.

Finally, the Gujarat team was able to win the championship title in 2016. Then, the club was opposed by a popular team from Delhi at the one-day final of the Vijay Hazare Trophy at the M. Chinnaswamy stadium in Bangalore. The final match ended in victory for the Gujarat cricket team with a score of 273 – 134.

The team also performed successfully a year later at the first-class Ranji Trophy tournament:

  • The club advanced from Group A to the playoffs from 2nd place, losing only to the Mumbai cricket team;
  • In the quarter-finals, the team won over the Odisha cricket team;
  • In the semifinals, the club beat the Jharkhand cricket team;
  • In a difficult final, the team snatched the championship title from the Mumbai cricket team.

In the last season of 2020 (there was no first-class tournament in 2021), Gujarat won Group A, went through the quarter-finals (beat the Goa cricket team) and lost in the semifinals to the Saurashtra cricket team.

Gujarat cricket team - a club from the 1950s

Gujarat cricket team – Twenty20 Championship results and other facts

A new professional cricket championship, the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, appeared in the country in 2006. The Gujarat club won their 1st league title there. It happened in 2013. Then the team won over the Punjab cricket team. The team managed to become the best for the second time in the 2014-2015 season. In the final match, the club again proved to be stronger than the Punjab cricket team.

Such famous players as:

  1. Jasprit Bumrah;
  2. Manpreet Juneja;
  3. Axar Patel;
  4. Jasu Patel;
  5. Parthiv Patel.

Gujarat cricket team - Twenty20 Championship results and other facts

Let’s talk a little more about the team’s home stadium. Narendra Modi Stadium is the largest stadium in the world. It was built in 1983. Once the stadium was demolished, it happened in 2015. Five years later, in February 2020, it was completely rebuilt (the estimated cost of the stadium is 110 million US dollars). The site is named after Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi. Today, this place plays host to many domestic and international cricket matches.

In addition, other meetings are organized at the stadium. For example, at the beginning of 2020, an event called Namaste Trump was held here. Then, former US President Donald Trump and his family visited India for the first time.

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form