Badureliya Sports Club

Team Country: Sri Lanka
Team City: Maggona
Founded (Year): 2004
Home Ground: Surrey Village Cricket Ground
Coach: Thamara Abeyratne
Captain: Alankara Asanka Silva
Forms of Cricket: First-Class Limited Overs Twenty20
Badureliya Sports Club

Badureliya Sports Club: competitions

Badureliya Sports Club: First-Class Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Premier Trophy Premier Trophy 0

Badureliya Sports Club: Limited Overs Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years
Premier Limited Overs Tournament 0

Badureliya Sports Club: Twenty20 Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years
Twenty20 Tournament 1 2014–2015

Badureliya Sports Club: professional team from Sri Lanka

Published: Reading time: ~ 4 min. Comments: 0
Badureliya Sports Club

When it comes to cricket in Sri Lanka, the first thing that comes to mind is the Sri Lanka Premier League – the country’s largest and most famous Twenty20 tournament, in which the best cricketers in the country participate, playing in seven teams. But this sport in Sri Lanka is by no means limited to such a small number of participants. There are lesser-known tournaments and lesser-known teams that are also part of the country’s cricket system. We will tell you about one of these teams – the Badureliya Sports Club in our article.

Badureliya status, history and achievements

Cricket to the territory of Sri Lanka, which was then called Ceylon, was brought, of course, by the British. And now the locals will be able to compete with the British in international competitions in this sport and the degree of people’s love for it. In addition to the Lanka Premier League, there are three other major regional tournaments in the country: the SLC Premier Trophy (Tier A and Tier B), a first-class cricket competition; the Premier Limited Overs Tournament is a List A competition; the Twenty20 competition, a tournament held under the Twenty20 rules.

Twenty-five regional teams are participating in these tournaments, one of which is the Badureliya Sports Club. We tell you the main information about this team that every fan should know:

  • The home arena is Surrey Village Cricket Ground, located in Maggona and built in 2011.
  • The team played in a first-class cricket match for the first time in the 2005-06 season.
  • Players enter the field in a pale blue uniform.
  • An incident related to an episode in the team’s history, which affected the interests of 18 clubs in Sri Lanka and almost led to the cancellation of one of the Premier Trophy draws 2008-09. The fact is that 18 clubs participating in this tournament signed a letter in 2008, where they threatened to boycott the tournament if the Badureliya BS team, which took the last place in Tier A, is not transferred to Tier B required by the rules. It also caused Ajith Jayasekera (the tournament committee chairman) and Mahinda Halangoda, another interim committee member, to leave their posts. Despite all the troubles, the tournament was still held.
  • The team currently has one Sri Lanka Cricket Twenty-20 Tournament title won in the 2014-15 season. This is the main achievement of the Badureliya.
  • Following their performance in the 2019–20 Premier Trophy Tier A, the team was relegated to Tier B. They reached the semifinals in the 2020–21 Major Clubs Limited Over Tournament, where they lost to the Nondescripts Cricket Club. The Badureliya was unable to advance beyond the group stage in the Sri Lanka Cricket Twenty-20 Tournament.
Tournament name Number of titles Years in which titles were won
Premier Trophy Tier A
Premier Limited Overs Tournament
Sri Lanka Cricket Twenty-20 Tournament 1 2014-2015

Badureliya status, history and achievements

Badureliya Sports Club Roster

The team captain is currently Alankara Asanka Silva. Thamara Abeyratne coaches the players.

The team includes the following players: Alankara Asanka Silva (captain), Sandun Weerakkody, TM Sampath, Yashodha Lanka, Chamikara Edirisinghe, Umayanga Suwaris, Ravindu Rathnayake, Dilshan de Soysa, Mithira Then Sanduura, Dunith Jayatungka, Nim Buddushanika, Dunith Jayatungka, Nim Buddushanika , Milinda Siriwardana, Malinda Jayod.

Badureliya Sports Club Roster

The most productive cricketers of the team in the entire history of its existence are:

  1. Alankara Asanka Silva. He is not only the captain but also one of the most valuable players. He is the leader in the number of wickets taken by a wide margin (34 wickets, while Buddika Sanjeewa, the second in the ranking, took only 23).
  2. TM Sampath. He is the first in the game with 374 runs for the number of wounds he has earned for the Badureliya Sports Club.
  3. Gangul Ravina. This player is no longer part of the team but is ranked first in the Best Economy Rate (3.00).
  4. Hans Fernando. He currently plays for Panadura SC but is still number one on the Best Strike Rate list (188.89).
  5. Lahiru Samarakoon. This cricketer is currently a member of the Kandy Tuskers and is ranked number one in the Highest Scores Badureliya Sports Club (99).
  6. Roshan Laksiri. Roshan is currently the best bowler in team history (5/12).
Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form