Goa cricket team

Team Country: India
Team City: Goa, India
Team Administrator: Goa Cricket Association
Founded (Year): 1950
Home Ground: Dr. Rajendra Prasad Stadium, Margao
Home Ground: Goa Cricket Association Academy Ground, Porvorim
Coach: Bhaskar Pillai
Captain: Amit Verma
Forms of Cricket: First-Class Limited Overs Twenty20
Goa cricket team

Goa cricket team: competitions

Goa cricket team: First-Class Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years
Ranji Trophy 0
Irani Trophy 0

Goa cricket team: Limited Overs Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years
Vijay Hazare Trophy 0

Goa cricket team: Twenty20 Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years
Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 0

Goa cricket team: Indian domestic cricket team

Published: Reading time: ~ 4 min. Comments: 0
Goa cricket team

The Indian Goa cricket team was formed in 1950 in the state of the same name with a population of 1.5 million people. Since 1985, the club has been competing in 3 professional tournaments: Ranji Trophy, Vijay Hazare Trophy and Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. Unfortunately, at the moment, the team has no championship titles. Home matches are played at the Dr. Rajendra Prasad Stadium with a capacity of 5,000 people, as well as at the Goa Cricket Association Academy Ground. We offer you a small overview of the professional Indian cricket club.

Goa cricket team – first performances

The Goa Cricket Association is the local governing body responsible for cricket in the state of Goa. The club is a full member of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). This status gives the Association the right to field a team for any championships held by the BCCI. In addition, the local authority is responsible for all cricket competitions held in the state of Goa. In the near future, GCA has plans to build a new stadium in the city of Pernem (the population of the district is 70,000 people).

The sports cricket team itself was formed in 1950. But until the 1980s, the club played exclusively at the amateur level. Finally, in 1985, GCA became a member of the Republican Council, and the team received the status of a professional team.

In its debut season at the first-class Ranji Trophy tournament (1985-1986), the team played its matches in the South Zone. The group consisted of 6 teams; the Goa cricket team lost all 5 games. At the end of the season, the club took last place.

Unfortunately, the players from Goa have not won the championship for ten years! The first victory was registered only on October 28, 1996, over the Karnataka cricket team. The team practically did not make up further competition for other teams. After analyzing all the performances of the Goa cricket team, it became clear that for the first time in history, the club reached the playoff round only in the extreme Ranji Trophy season (2019-2020).

This season was the last, as the next one was canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. As a result of the draw, the Goa team with 7 victories took 1st place in the plate group and reached the 1/4 finals. There, the players met with the Gujarat team, to which they lost with a difference of 464 runs.

Goa cricket team – first performances

Goa cricket team – results of tournaments with a limited number of overs

In addition to the first-class championship, the team has been participating in a new tournament with a limited number of overs since 1993 (matches are held in just one day, two innings of 40-60 overs are played). The tournament was originally called the Ranji One Day Trophy. In 2002, it was renamed the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

At this tournament, the Goa cricket team reached the playoffs for the first time in the 2014-2015 season. The club took 2nd place in the South Zone, which gave it the right to meet in the 1/4 final with the Odisha cricket team. To the disappointment, the team from Goa lost the match.

In the last season, which ended in March 2021 (the games were not canceled due to COVID-19), the club played in Group A, where, as a result, it took 5th place out of 6 possible ones.

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy is another championship with a limited number of overs. The tournament was formed in 2006, and the matches consist of 2 innings, where 20 overs are played in each. The club also did not show any significant victories at this tournament. In the last game season (2020-2021), the team played in Group D, in which, according to the results of 5 matches, it took 4th place out of 6.

Dr. Rajendra Prasad Stadium

At the moment, some of the best players of the team are:

  • Amit Verma;
  • Deepraj Gaonkar;
  • Heramb Parab;
  • Snehal Kauthankar;
  • Amulaya Pandrekar.

The fact that the Goa cricket team does not have championship titles is not the worst thing that can happen to the team. It is clear that the players are trying; from time to time, they show decent results. We hope that everything will get better for the team soon.

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form