Punjab cricket team

Team Country: India
Team City: Punjab, India
Team Administrator: Punjab Cricket Association
Founded (Year): 1968
Home Ground: Inderjit Singh Bindra Stadium, Mohali
Home Ground: Inderjit Singh Bindra Stadium, Mohali Maharaja Yadavindra Singh International Cricket Stadium, Mullanpur, Mohali
Coach: Munish Bali
Captain: Mandeep Singh
Forms of Cricket: First-Class Limited Overs Twenty20
Punjab cricket team

Punjab cricket team: competitions

Punjab cricket team: First-Class Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years
Ranji Trophy 1 1992-93
Irani Trophy 0

Punjab cricket team: Limited Overs Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years
Vijay Hazare Trophy 0

Punjab cricket team: Twenty20 Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years
Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 0

Punjab cricket team: Indian popular cricket team

Published: Reading time: ~ 4 min. Comments: 0
Punjab cricket team

Punjab Professional Cricket Club was formed in 1968 in the self-titled state of Punjab. The population of the state is 27.5 million people. The team is the winner of the first-class Ranji Trophy championship in the 1992-1993 season. In addition, the Punjab cricket team takes part in tournaments in the format with a limited number of overs: Vijay Hazare Trophy and Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. Home matches are played at the Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium, with a capacity of 26,000 people. The club also has other venues for games: Mullanpur International Cricket Stadium, Dhruve Pandove Stadium and Gandhi Sports Complex Ground. We present to your attention a brief overview of the well-known team.

Punjab cricket team – general information

Punjab Cricket Association is the local governing body for cricket, which was formed in 1956 to promote the sport in the state. The company is responsible for the sports club, as well as for all local events and competitions that take place in Punjab.

The Association is part of the Board of Control for Cricket in India. This gives it the right to field a sports team for professional cricket tournaments. So, in 1968, the newly formed Punjab State team held its debut season at the Ranji Trophy.

The club appeared as a result of the combination of 3 professional teams: Southern Punjab cricket team, Eastern Punjab cricket team and Northern Punjab cricket team. The debut of the new squade took place in 1968.

In its 1st season, the club has won only one out of 4 matches. As a result, the team took the penultimate 4th place in the Northern Zone. For the first time, it turned out to go beyond the group stage in 1971. Then the players stopped at the preliminary quarterfinal stage.

A truly bright season was registered in 1993:

  • The team finished the group stage in 1st place in the Northern Zone;
  • Next, in the preliminary quarterfinal against Bengal cricket team, the local club came out victorious;
  • In the 1/4 final, the game against Hyderabad cricket team ended with Punjab winning by 9 wickets;
  • In the 1/2 final, the team beat Madhya Pradesh cricket team with a difference of 80 points;
  • Eventually, in the final, the Punjab cricket team met Maharashtra cricket team, from which it won with an advantage of 120 runs.

It was the 1st championship title for the players from united Punjab. By the way, since 1959, another first-class tournament was introduced – the Irani Cup. However, there is only one match held here, between the current winner of the Ranji Trophy and a team of the season’s best players. In 1994, the Punjab team also tried to play. Unfortunately, they lost the match.

Further, a good season turned out in 1995. Then the club took 2nd place, losing in the final to the Bombay cricket team. Another significant final happened in 2005. The team again lacked one step to win. The players lost in the decisive match of the Railways cricket team.

In the last season of the Ranji Trophy, which was held in 2019-2020 (the 2020-2021 season was canceled due to the spread of COVID-19), Punjab cricket team played in Group A, where, according to the results of the tournament, it took 4th place out of 9.

Punjab cricket team – general information

Punjab cricket team – participation in other championships

Since 1993, the team has been participating in competitions of the one-day match format – the Ranji One Day Trophy (games are played in a day, two innings of 40-60 overs are played). For the first nine years, the championship was held without an elimination round. Group matches were held in 5 game zones, where the best team was chosen. In 1999, 2001 and 2002, Punjab was recognized as the best in the Northern Zone.

Since 2002, the playoff stages have appeared at the tournament. The championship changed its name to the Vijay Hazare Trophy. Over the past five years, the best result for the players was reaching the 1/4 finals in the 2019-2020 season (the club lost to the Karnataka cricket team in the playoffs).

Punjab cricket team – participation in other championships

Another tournament where the team plays is called the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. The championship appeared in 2006. The matches of this tournament take place in a day; two innings of 20 overs are played. The last good result in this championship is considered to be the 2020-2021 season. The club won the group stage, won the 1/4 finals against the Karnataka cricket team and lost to the Baroda cricket team in the semi-finals.

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form