Saurashtra cricket team

Team Country: India
Team City: Rajkot, Gujarat, India
Team Administrator: Saurashtra Cricket Association
Founded (Year): 1936
Home Ground: Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Rajkot
Coach: Karsan Ghavri
Captain: Jaydev Unadkat
Forms of Cricket: First-Class Limited Overs Twenty20
Saurashtra cricket team

Saurashtra cricket team: competitions

Saurashtra cricket team: First-Class Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Ranji Trophy Ranji Trophy 1 2019–20 Irani Cup Irani Cup 0

Saurashtra cricket team: Limited Overs Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Vijay Hazare Trophy Vijay Hazare Trophy 2 2007–08, 2022–23

Saurashtra cricket team: Twenty20 Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 0

Saurashtra cricket team: Indian cricket team

Published: Reading time: ~ 4 min. Comments: 0
Saurashtra cricket team

Saurashtra Professional Cricket Club is one of the three teams based in the state of Gujarat (the other teams are Baroda and Gujarat cricket team). The population of the state is 60 million people. The team was formed in the late 1940s as a result of the alliance of two clubs: the Western India and Nawanagar cricket team. The modern team performs at three popular tournaments of the country: Ranji Trophy, Vijay Hazare Trophy and Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. To date, the team has one championship title at the Ranji Trophy and one championship victory at the Vijay Hazare Trophy. Home matches are played at the Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, with a capacity of 28,000 people. Read our brief review of the main activity of the sports club.

Saurashtra cricket team – team formation. Ranji Trophy Tournament

As mentioned above, the Saurashtra cricket team was formed as a result of the union of 2 teams. The 1st club – Western India, has participated in the Ranji Trophy since 1934. it is the winner of the 1944 tournament. Then the team won the final against the Bengal cricket team.

The 2nd club – Nawanagar, began to participate in the first-class tournament in 1936. Amazingly, the team became the winner of the tournament at its debut championship! In the final game, the club beat the Bengal cricket team. In addition, the next season, the team again made it to the final but already lost it to the Bombay cricket team (now Mumbai cricket team).

So, in the late 1940s, a new team called Saurashtra was formed from 2 good clubs. Since 1950, it has been under the leadership of the Saurashtra Cricket Association (SCA), a local body responsible for all cricket in the self-titled Saurashtra region and the Kutch region. In turn, the SCA is part of the Board of Control for Cricket in India, which gives the right to field a team for professional cricket tournaments.

The new team took part in the Ranji Trophy for the first time in 1950. In its 1st match, the club lost to the Baroda cricket team and ended its performance in the championship. The first winning game was registered in the 1958-1959 season over the Maharashtra cricket team. To tell the truth, in the future, the club did not show big victories until almost the 2010s.

Finally, the long-awaited excellent season was registered in 2013. In the group stage, the club took 2nd place and advanced to the playoff round. The team reached the final, where, unfortunately, they lost to the Mumbai cricket team. In 2016 and 2019, the club also managed to qualify for the tournament’s final but failed to win there both times.

In the 2019-2020 season, the Saurashtra cricket team won its first championship title:

  • In the group stage, the club took 2nd place in Group B and made it to the playoffs;
  • In the 1/4 final, the team beat the Andhra cricket team;
  • In the semi-final match, the team won against Gujarat cricket team;
  • Finally, the club beat the Bengal cricket team in the final.

The 2020-2021 Ranji Trophy season was canceled due to COVID-19.

Saurashtra cricket team – team formation. Ranji Trophy Tournament

Saurashtra cricket team – results of other competitions

In 1993, the cricket championship was formed in India in a format with a limited number of overs. Initially, the tournament was named the Ranji One Day Trophy. In 2002, it was replaced by the Vijay Hazare Trophy. Players from Saurashtra were able to win it (tournaments) in 2008. Then in the final game, the club beat the Bengal cricket team with an advantage of 6 wickets.

A great season turned out to be in 2018. The team managed to reach the final but could not win it. The club lost the deciding match to the Karnataka cricket team. In the last season of the Vijay Hazare Trophy (2020-2021), the team reached the 1/4 final, where it lost to the Mumbai cricket team.

Saurashtra cricket team – results of other competitions

Since 2006, the club has been competing in another tournament with a limited number of overs – the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. The matches of this championship are held in the form of Twenty20 – they last a maximum of 3 hours, two innings of 20 overs are held per game.

To our great disappointment, the club has not yet had any loud and significant victories here. In the last season (2020-2021), which was held in a shortened format, the Saurashtra team took 3rd place out of 6 in Group D.

Today, compared to other clubs, the Saurashtra cricket team looks very good. We think that in the future, the team will definitely show what it is capable of!

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form