Karnataka cricket team

Ex Nickname: Mysore cricket team
Team Country: India
Team City: Bengaluru, Karnataka, India
Team Administrator: Karnataka State Cricket Association
Founded (Year): 1933
Coach: K V Shashikanth
Captain: Mayank Agarwal
Forms of Cricket: First-Class Limited Overs Twenty20
Karnataka cricket team

Karnataka cricket team: competitions

Karnataka cricket team: First-Class Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Ranji Trophy Ranji Trophy 8 1973–74, 1977–78, 1982–83, 1995–96, 1997–98, 1998–99, 2013–14, 2014–15 Irani Cup Irani Cup 6 1973–74, 1982–83, 1995–96, 1997–98, 2013–14, 2014–15

Karnataka cricket team: Limited Overs Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Vijay Hazare Trophy Vijay Hazare Trophy 4 2013–14, 2014–15, 2017–18, 2019–20

Karnataka cricket team: Twenty20 Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2 2018–19, 2019–20

Karnataka cricket team: Current Squad

KL Rahul KL Rahul Wicket-Keeper

Karnataka cricket team: Indian popular cricket team

Published: Reading time: ~ 4 min. Comments: 0
Karnataka cricket team

The professional cricket club was formed in 1933 under the first name Mysore cricket team. The modern name of the team appeared in 1973. The club is based in the self-titled state of Karnataka. It is the largest state in South India and the 6th in the whole country, with a population of 61 million people. The team has 8 championship titles at the first-class Ranji Trophy competitions, 6 wins at the Irani Cup one-day championship, 4 titles at the Vijay Hazare Trophy and 2 titles at the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy short championship. Karnataka cricket team plays its home matches at the Mangalam Chinnaswamy Stadium, with a capacity of 40,000 people. Read a brief review of a popular sports club.

Karnataka cricket team – the first years of the team

Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA) is the governing sports body in the Indian state of Karnataka. It was formed in 1933 under the name Mysore Cricket Association. After the state was officially renamed in 1973, the name of the Association and, consequently, the sports club changed.

KSCA has been a full member of the Board of Control for Cricket in India since 1934. Due to this status, the Association has the right to field a cricket team for the first-class Ranji Trophy championship. The first season of the tournament was held in 1934. At the debut championship, the Mysore cricket team back then (Karnataka will be further in the text) found itself in the Southern Zone, where it lost in the 1st round to the Madras cricket team (since 1970, Tamil Nadu cricket).

It was possible to reach the 1st final in the 1941-1942 season. The players successfully passed 3 rounds and fought against the Bombay cricket team (since 1996, it has been called Mumbai) in a decisive match. Unfortunately, the Karnataka club failed to win for the 1st time. The next final with the participation of the local team happened only in 1960. However, it was also unsuccessful. The sports club again lost to the players from the Bombay team.

Karnataka cricket team – the first years of the team

Karnataka cricket team – a time of great achievements

The real success in first-class matches happened in 1974. For the Karnataka cricket team, this was the 3rd decisive match, in which they became winners for the first time. In the final for the championship title, the team won against the Rajasthan cricket team with a score of 276-176.

Also, that year, the team won the Irani Cup. It is a one-day tournament that is held once a year (since 1960) between the current winner of the Ranji Trophy and the Indian national team of the best players of the season. In the future, the winning results of the Karnataka cricket team can only be envied:

  • 2nd place in Ranji Trophy;
  • Victory in the final over Uttar Pradesh cricket team;
  • 2nd place in the Ranji Trophy Championship;
  • 2nd place in the Ranji Trophy;
  • 3rd championship title. Victory over the Bombay cricket team. Also, the 2nd victory of the Irani Cup;
  • Another title in the Ranji Trophy. Win over Tamil Nadu. 3rd victory at the Irani Cup;
  • Victory in the final over Uttar Pradesh. 4th title in Irani Cup;
  • 6th title in the Ranji Trophy. The club beat the Madhya Pradesh team;
  • 2nd place in the Ranji Trophy;
  • Victory in the final match over Maharashtra cricket team. 5th title in Irani Cup;
  • Extreme championship title in the first-class championship. Victory over Tamil Nadu. The 6th victory in the Irani Cup.

In the last season, the Karnataka cricket team reached the semi-finals.

Karnataka cricket team – a time of great achievements

In 1993, another professional cricket championship, the Vijay Hazare Trophy, was formed in India. This is a one-day match tournament with a limited number of overs. Until 2002, the championship was called the Ranji One Day Trophy. Here, the Karnataka cricket team has won the finals four times:

  1. In 2014, the victory over the Railways cricket team;
  2. In 2015, the club beat the Punjab cricket team;
  3. In 2018, the victory over the Saurashtra cricket team;
  4. In 2020, the extreme win over Tamil Nadu.

Meanwhile, since 2006, the Karnataka cricket team has been participating in another popular championship with a limited number of overs – the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. The club has won this competition twice: in 2019 (Tamil Nadu cricket team) and 2020 (Baroda cricket team).

Follow the team’s further performances on our website.

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form