Rajasthan cricket team

Team Country: India
Team City: Rajasthan, India
Team Administrator: Rajasthan Cricket Association
Founded (Year): 1920
Captain: Ashok Menaria
Forms of Cricket: First-Class Limited Overs Twenty20
Rajasthan cricket team

Rajasthan cricket team: competitions

Rajasthan cricket team: First-Class Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Ranji Trophy Ranji Trophy 2 2010-11, 2011-12

Rajasthan cricket team: Limited Overs Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Vijay Hazare Trophy Vijay Hazare Trophy 0

Rajasthan cricket team: Twenty20 Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 0

Rajasthan cricket team - professional cricket club

Published: Reading time: ~ 4 min. Comments: 0
Rajasthan cricket team

The Indian Rajasthan cricket team was formed in the 1920s. The collective represents the state of Rajasthan, with a population of 68 million people. The club first participated in the first-class Ranji Trophy championship in 1935. It is a 2-time winner of this tournament. In addition, the sports team performs well at the championships with a limited number of overs: Vijay Hazare Trophy and Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. The home venue for the games is Sawai Mansingh Stadium, with a capacity of 30,000 people. Such recognizable players as Hanumant Singh, Pravin Arme, Ashok Menaria, and Chandrapal Singh have played and are playing for the club at various times. In this article, we introduce you to the main achievements of the famous cricket club.

Rajasthan cricket team – Ranji Trophy performance

Rajasthan Cricket Association (RCA) is the governing sports body responsible for cricket in the state of Rajasthan. The Association was formed in 1931 under the first name Rajputana Cricket Association. The company was renamed in 1956. RCA is part of the Board of Control for Cricket in India, which gives it the right to field a team in domestic professional tournaments.

The Association is responsible for developing the cricket team and also holds competitions for different age groups at the local level. There is even an amateur Rajasthan Premier League T20 in the state, which was created both for young novice players and those who have already finished their leading sports career and just like to play cricket.

The Rajasthan team took part in the Ranji Trophy for the first time in the 1935-1936 season. Then the club played only 1 match in the tournament, losing it to the Central India cricket team (now called Madhya Pradesh). The team won its 1st match only in 1939, beating the Delhi cricket team in the North Zone.

Rajasthan cricket team – Ranji Trophy performance

The real breakthrough happened in the early 1960s. Players from Rajasthan have reached the final match 8 times throughout 14 seasons:

  • In 1961, the club took 2nd place, losing in the final to the Bombay cricket team (now the Mumbai cricket team);
  • The team lost again in the final to the Bombay cricket team;
  • Losing in the final to the Bombay cricket team;
  • 4th consecutive loss to the Bombay cricket team;
  • Another defeat by the Bombay cricket team;
  • Losing in the final to the Bombay cricket team;
  • 6th defeat by the Bombay cricket team;
  • Another loss in the final, but this time to the Karnataka cricket team.

Even if all the decisive matches were lost, we believe that these are still excellent results for any team.

The next time the Rajasthan cricket team was able to get to the final only after 37 years. Finally, the club achieved its goal and won the first-class championship title for the first time. In 2011, in the decisive match, the players won against the Baroda cricket team. The following season, the club repeated the result and beat the Tamil Nadu team in the final.

By the way, since 1960, the current winners of the first-class tournament have been playing another match against a team of the best players of the season in the Irani Cup championship. Unfortunately, in 2 such matches in 2012 and 2013, the Rajasthan cricket team lost.

In the last season of the Ranji Trophy, the club played matches in Group A, where, according to the championship results, it took 7th place out of 9.

Rajasthan cricket team – participation in other famous championships

Rajasthan cricket team – participation in other famous championships

In addition to the Ranji Trophy, since 1993, the team has been competing in the Vijay Hazare Trophy championship (until 2002, it was called the Ranji One Day Trophy). Here, a good season turned out in 2007. The team successfully made it to the tournament’s final, where they met with an already familiar opponent – the Mumbai cricket team. Unfortunately, the Rajasthan players lost this time too. In the last season of the Vijay Hazare Trophy (2020-2021), the team played in Group D, in which, according to the tournament results, it took 4th place out of 6.

Also, since 2006, the club has been participating in another championship with a limited number of overs – the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. His matches are held in the form of Twenty20 (two innings of 20 overs are played). The team reached the final only in 2018, where it lost 41 points to the Delhi cricket team. In the last season, which was held in a short format due to COVID-19, the team reached the tournament’s semifinals, where they lost by 7 wickets to a club from Tamil Nadu.

We believe that the club has already had good results in its history. We wish the players good luck and further significant victories!

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form