Kandy Tuskers

Nickname: Nuwara Machan
Team Country: Sri Lanka
Team City: Kandy, Central Province, Sri Lanka
Team Administrator: Parvez Khan (Pacific Ventures Limited)
Founded (Year): 2020
Coach: TBD
Captain: Wanindu Hasaranga
Forms of Cricket: Twenty20
Kandy Tuskers

Kandy Tuskers: competitions

Kandy Tuskers: Twenty20 Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Lanka Premier League Lanka Premier League 0

Kandy Tuskers: franchise team from Sri Lanka

Published: Reading time: ~ 4 min. Comments: 0
Kandy Tuskers cricket team

Kandy Tuskers (also Tuskers in Charge) is a professional T20 cricket team. It represents the city of Kandy in the Lanka Premier League. The co-owners of the franchise are Abbas Muni and Bollywood actor Sohail Khan. The team captain is a local native of Kusal Perera, who also leads the national team in competitions with limited overs. The colors of the form are blue and orange.

In the first match of the 2020 draw, the Kandyans were opposed by the Colombo Kings. Largely thanks to captain Kusal Mendis, who made 87 runs, the team was able to transfer the game to the super-over, where, however, the kings were stronger – 16/1 against 12/0. In the second match, the tournament draw brought Kandy with Dambulla Viiking, but they lost again, having lost four wickets. It is worth noting that this time, due to the rain, the Duckworth-Lewis-Stern method (DLS) was used to determine the final score.

Kandy managed to get the first victory of the season only on the third attempt. In the match, where Galle Gladiators opposed them, the Kandyans scored an advantage of 25 runs, despite the impressive statistics of the Gladiators’ opener Danushka Gunathilaki (the final gap in the score was 171/7 to 196/5 in favor of Kandy Tuskers Tuskers in Charge). However, the team failed to continue the winning streak. In the next match, where Kandy faced Jaffna Stallions, they let their opponents go too far, allowing them to come off by as many as 54 runs.

Kandy Tuskers history

The Kandyans did not give up and were able to start the next match against Dambulla Viiking quite confidently: the team captain Mendis again showed himself, scoring 55 runs, but this was not enough to ensure the desired result, and the Kandyans lost by a difference of five wickets. The series of defeats lasted for another match, this time against the “kings”, whose batsmen played more smoothly and effectively. The only one who could record this game to his credit was Rahmanullah Gurbaz, who completed 34 runs, but the Colombo Kings had only 15 overs to end the game, increasing the gap to seven wickets, and go through to the semi-finals.

In the seventh match of the draw, the Kandyans were able to beat the future champions Jaffna Stallions with a slight advantage of six runs. They only needed a victory in the last game against Galle Gladiators since it was about a ticket to the playoffs. However, the team’s batsmen again failed to cope with the task, registering only 128 runs, 68 of which fell to Mendis. The Gladiators’ bowlers also turned out to be much stronger than the Kandyan ones, who were able to snatch only one wicket from their opponents, prejudging the outcome of the entire game.

Thus, Kandy became the only team that failed to qualify for the playoffs of the competition, having won only two victories for the entire tournament:

Team Number of Matches Wins Losses Wins %
Colombo Kings 2 0 2 0
Dambulla Viiking 2 0 2 0
Galle Gladiators 2 1 1 50
Jaffna Stallions 2 1 1 50

Kandy Tuskers Tuskers in Charge: the best players

In the 2020 draw, representatives of Kandy Tuskers Tuskers in Charge were twice recognized as the best players of the match:

Player Country of origin Opponent in the match Date
Brendan Taylor Zimbabwe Galle Gladiators November 30
Asela Gunaratne Sri Lanka Jaffna Stallions December 9

Kandy Tuskers Tuskers in Charge: the best players

Kandy Tuskers Tuskers in Charge: records

Having won only two victories in the 2020 draw, Kandy Tuskers Tuskers in Charge did not have time to be noted in the team achievement standings. Nevertheless, the following players showed themselves in the intra-team competition:

  • Best batsmen – Kusal Mendis (263 runs), Kusal Perera (209 runs) and Rahmanullah Gurbaz (169 runs);
  • The best bowlers are Asela Gunaratne (9 wickets), as well as Naveen ul-Haq and Nuwan Pradeep (eight wickets each).
Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form