Comilla Warriors

Ex Nickname: Comilla Victorians
Team Country: Bangladesh
Team City: Comilla, Chittagong Division
Team Administrator: Legends Sporting Limited
Founded (Year): 2015
Coach: Mohammad Salahuddin
Captain: Imrul Kayes
Forms of Cricket: Twenty20
Comilla Warriors

Comilla Warriors: competitions

Comilla Warriors: Twenty20 Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Bangladesh Premier League Bangladesh Premier League 3 2015, -19, -22

Comilla Warriors: Current Squad

Evin Lewis Evin Lewis Batsman Karim Janat Karim Janat All-rounder Sunil Narine Sunil Narine All-rounder

Comilla Warriors: Bangladesh professional men's T20 franchise

Published: Reading time: ~ 4 min. Comments: 0
Comilla Warriors team

The Cumilla Warriors is one of seven franchise clubs with full-time membership in the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL). It was originally announced as the Comilla Victorians, but after the change of the main sponsor, it underwent a rebranding procedure. The colors of the form are black and red.

Comilla Victorians is a Bangladeshi professional men's cricket team
Comilla Victorians is a Bangladeshi professional men’s cricket team, competing in Bangladesh Premier League (T20)

Comilla Warriors: history

The official year of creation of Cumilla Victorians is 2015. It was then that the leadership of the league decided to expand the composition of the participants, drawing attention to Comilla – one of the largest cities in the country that did not have its own team. The rights to the new franchise were acquired for $ 27 and a half million by Nafisa Kamal, who previously owned the Sylhet Royals.

Experts assessed the newcomers’ chances in their debut season as modest. The team could not boast of a balanced team: having signed three foreign players and thirteen natives of Bangladesh, the management made the main bet on Mashrafe Mortaza, inviting only two veterans – Shoaib Malik and Andre Russell. Nevertheless, the first year in the league was overly successful for the Comilla Victorians: starting with a victory over the Dhaka Dynamites, the team later won the main trophy, and Imrul Keyes became the second in the list of the best batsmen of the competition (312 runs).

As is often the case, the second season in the league was a disaster for the Comilla. It lost five matches in a row, occupying the penultimate line, so the management did not hesitate to rest, thoroughly shaking up the composition. Without extending the contract with Mashrafe Mortaza, the Comilla chose Tamim Iqbal as an A + player, signing Mohammad Nabi, Imran Khan Jr., Hassan Ali, and many other players.

Comilla Warriors stadium
Comilla Warriors stadium

At first, it seemed that this was enough: the team had a great start, winning nine matches and losing only three. However, the qualification failed miserably, losing first to the Dhaka Dynamites and then suffering an offensive defeat to the Rangpur Riders, which was also marred by a serious referee error.

In the future, the management continued to expand and strengthen the composition. Retaining Tamim Iqbal, Mohammad Saifuddin and Shoaib Malik, they additionally signed British all-rounder Liam Dawson and Sri Lankan Asela Gunaratne. Having invited the batsman Anamul Haq and the promising Afghan Waqar Salamkheil, the Comilla approached the start of the new season fully armed.

These efforts soon paid off: after beating the Rangpur Rangers in the playoffs, the Comilla Victorians secured their second league title in their short history.

On the eve of the last rally, a conflict of interest occurred between the league’s teams, forcing its leadership to assume control functions temporarily. The tournament was temporarily renamed Bangabandhu BPL T20 2019 and was run entirely by the Bangladesh Cricket Board.

Mushfiqur Rahim, who previously played for the Chittagong Vikings, became the Comilla player last season. In addition to him, Soumya Sarkar, Sabbir Rahman and some other players joined the team’s ranks. Dasun Shanaka was appointed captain and had the honor to lead the team under the new name “Comilla Warriors”. The Comilla finished the season on the third line of the table.

Comilla Warriors - Bangladesh Premier League Champions (2015, 2019)
Comilla Warriors – Bangladesh Premier League Champions (2015, 2019)

Comilla Warriors: players

The Comilla Warriors are coached by Ottis Gibson (Barbados), with Soumya Sarkar as captain. In the main squad, it is worth highlighting the following players:

  1. Best Batsman – British David Malan (444 wound);
  2. Bowlers Mujeeb-UR-Rehman, who took a total of 15 wickets and Al-Amin Hossain and Soumya Sarkar (12 respectively).

Comilla Warriors: statistics

Although the Comilla Warriors played only five seasons in the league, during this time, it managed to win the main trophy twice:

Year Final position Season
2015 Champions
2016 League Stage
2017 Playoffs
2019 Champions
2019-20 League Stage

Comilla Warriors: record holders

Afghan bowler Mujeeb-UR-Rehman played the most matches for the Comilla Warriors in a season. In addition, the following contributed to the list of records:

  • Best Batsman – David Malan, second and third places are occupied by Soumya Sarkar and Sabbir Rahman, respectively;
  • The most effective batsmen bunch – Bhanuka Rajapaksa and Yasir Ali (103 wounds for two in the match against Dhaka Platoon);
  • The maximum number of wickets on account of Mujeeb-UR-Rehman is 15.

Comilla Warriors is one of the most interesting in Bangladesh cricket. Follow the News of the team, and also use Tips for matches with its participation.

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form