Jharkhand cricket team

Team Country: India
Team City: Ranchi, Jharkhand
Team Administrator: Jharkhand Cricket Association
Founded (Year): 2003
Home Ground: JSCA International Stadium Complex, Ranchi
Coach: Rajiv Kumar
Captain: Saurabh Tiwary
Forms of Cricket: First-Class Limited Overs Twenty20
Jharkhand cricket team

Jharkhand cricket team: competitions

Jharkhand cricket team: First-Class Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Ranji Trophy Ranji Trophy 0 Irani Cup Irani Cup 0

Jharkhand cricket team: Limited Overs Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Vijay Hazare Trophy Vijay Hazare Trophy 1 2010-11

Jharkhand cricket team: Twenty20 Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 0

Jharkhand cricket team: Indian professional cricket team

Published: Reading time: ~ 4 min. Comments: 0
Jharkhand cricket team

The professional cricket team Jharkhand was formed in 2003. The club is based in the city of Ranchi of the eponymous state of Jharkhand with a population of 32.5 million people. Players compete in 3 popular national championships: the Ranji Trophy, the Vijay Hazare Trophy and the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. The Jharkhand cricket team plays home matches at the JSCA Complex international stadium with a capacity of 50,000 people. The club has one championship title in the tournament of one-day matches in 2011. Find out other information about the sports team in our article.

The Jharkhand cricket team – historic birth

The Indian state of Jharkhand was formed two decades ago – in 2000. Before that, this place was called Bihar. The cricket team at Bihar dates back to the first half of the 20th century. However, the Indian authorities decided to create another state under the name Jharkhand in 2000. Almost all sporting activities (including cricket) ended up on the side of the new site. Bihar staff lost their Association and professional team. The club was renamed the Jharkhand cricket team in 2004. And already, a new team from Bihar resumed their professional career only in 2018.

The Jharkhand State Cricket Association is the local governing organization responsible for all cricket in the state. The Association is a member of the Board of Control for Cricket in India, where it has been a full member since 2003.

For the first time, the Jharkhand cricket team made their debut at the first-class Ranji Trophy in the 2004-2005 season. The team played their first match against the Saurashtra cricket team. The game ended in a draw. In the last season, which took place in 2019-2020 (due to the COVID-19 pandemic in 2021, it was the Ranji Trophy season that was canceled, all other championships were over), the club was in Group C, where it took 6th place out of 10.

In addition to the first-class tournament, the Jharkhand cricket team in 2004 began to participate in another championship in the format of one-day matches – the Vijay Hazare Trophy. A successful season for the club was in 2011:

  • The team was in the Eastern zone, from where it advanced to the play-off round from the 1st place;
  • In the quarter-finals, the team faced off against the Mumbai cricket team, which they beat by 3 wickets;
  • In the semi-finals, players from the Jharkhand faced a club from the Vidarbha region. The match ended with Jharkhand winning by 5 wickets;
  • Finally, in the decisive match, the local team faced off against members of the Gujarat club. Fortunately, the Jharkhand had no equal in this round. The players defeated the Gujarat cricket team with a score of 255/8 – 96.

To date, this is the only significant trophy for the Jharkhand cricket team!

In the last season at the Vijay Hazare Trophy (2020-2021), the team played in Group B, where they finished 3rd out of 6.

The Jharkhand cricket team - historic birth

The Jharkhand cricket team – 3rd professional tournament, famous club players

Since 2006, the sports team has represented its state in the popular Twenty20 (short matches with limited overs) format under the name Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. Here the club is in the middle of the tournament. In their last season, which ended in January 2021, the Jharkhand cricket team finished 3rd out of 6 in Group B.

The Jharkhand cricket team - 3rd professional tournament, famous club players

As part of every professional sports team, there have been such players, whose names are known throughout the country. In this team, these popular members are:

  • Saurabh Tiwary;
  • Varun Aaron;
  • Shahbaz Nedeem;
  • MS Dhoni;
  • Ishan Kishan;
  • Ishank Jaggi.

If we compare the performance of Jharkhand cricket team with other professional teams, then we can safely say that this team performs very well in domestic tournaments! Despite the relatively small age of the club, it already has a champion trophy. In truth, not all teams in the country have such an achievement. Our site wishes a successful future season and new championship achievements!

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form