Assam cricket team

Team Country: India
Team City: Guwahati
Team Administrator: Assam Cricket Association
Founded (Year): 1948
Home Ground: ACA Stadium, Guwahati
Home Ground: Nehru Stadium, Guwahati
Coach: Ajay Ratra
Captain: Kunal Saikia
Forms of Cricket: First-Class Limited Overs Twenty20
Assam cricket team

Assam cricket team: domestic cricket team

Published: Reading time: ~ 4 min. Comments: 0
Assam cricket team

The Assam Cricket Team is a sports team that was formed in 1948. The club is based in the self-titled Indian state of Assam, with a population of 30 million people. Every year, the team plays in 3 major championships: in the first-class Ranji Trophy, the one-day Vijay Hazare Trophy, and the T20 – Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. Assam Club plays its home games at the Barsapara Stadium, with a capacity of 40,000 people. It also has a spare place for games – the Nehru Sports Stadium, with a capacity of 15,000 people. The team’s highest achievement is considered to be 2nd place in 2013 at the Vijay Hazare Trophy, as well as reaching the semi-finals in 2016 at the Ranji Trophy.

Assam cricket team – how it all started

Cricket became interesting in India in the middle of the XIX century. Since then, every year this sport has become more and more popular. Nowadays, cricket in India is considered the most popular sport. Officially, in 1928, a body was formed in Mumbai, which became responsible for cricket in the country at the state level. It is called the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).

In 1948, the local Assam Cricket Association was formed in the state of Assam. It is a full member of the BCCI. The Association is responsible for organizing sports events and is also considered the governing body for the local Assam cricket team.

The official date of the foundation of the club is also considered to be 1948. Assam played its first match in the first-class Ranji Trophy in December 1948 against the United Provinces team (the players from Assam lost the match).

The long-awaited debut victory happened only in the 1951-1952 season. Then the club was stronger than its rivals from the state of Orissa. This victory meant reaching the 2nd round of the championship. Unfortunately, the team easily gave the match to the Bengal cricket team.

For a long time, the club simply held on to its level. Until 2016, the Assam team did not show great results in the first-class Ranji Trophy.

Assam cricket team – how it all started

Assam cricket team – entry to other professional tournaments

In 1993, a new Ranji One Day Trophy cricket championship was launched in India. It was a tournament held in a one-day format (matches were held in one day with a limited number of overs). Until 2002, the tournament was held without determining the absolute champion. The final appeared only at the beginning of the XXI century, and then the competition was renamed the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Since 1993, the Assam Cricket Club has also started participating in one-day matches. For the players, the biggest achievement in this championship happened in 2013:

  • First, the team won the Eastern Zone (group stage);
  • Next, Assam cricket team won against Madhya Pradesh by four wickets;
  • In the 1/4 final, the club was stronger than the Mumbai cricket team (score 178:151);
  • In the semi-final, Assam dealt with the players from Kerala (the team won by a difference of 5 wickets);
  • In the final, the Assam club met with the Delhi cricket team, to whom it lost with a score of 215:290.

In addition to 2 competitions, in 2006, the team debuted at the new Twenty20 championship – Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. The last result of the club is 4th place in group B in 2021 (note that now the tournament consists of 6 groups, and only eight teams go to the playoff round).

Assam cricket team – entry to other professional tournaments

It is worth mentioning the best result in the Ranji Trophy. A historic achievement for the club happened in 2016. According to the results of the group stage, the Assam team took 3rd place in Group A. This gave it the right to enter the playoff round. Then, in the 1/4 final, the team dealt with the Punjab cricket team. But already in the semi-finals, the team lost to the Saurashtra club. Despite the loss, the first-class semi-final of 2016 is the best achievement of the local team to date.

Such famous players as Riyan Parag, Abu Nechim, and Krishna Das play for the club.

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form