Pakistan Super League

Full Current Name: Pakistan Super League
Tournament Country: Pakistan
Tournament Administrator: Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB)
Cricket Forms: Twenty20
Current Champion: Lahore Qalandars
Nearest Tournament: 9 February 2023 - 19 March 2023
Format Tournament: Double round-robin and Playoffs
Numbers Of Team: 6
Pakistan Super League

Pakistan Super League: all about the T20 tournament

Published: Reading time: ~ 5 min. Comments: 0
Pakistan Super League

The Pakistan Super League (PSL for short) is Pakistan’s domestic T20 championship, founded on September 9, 2015 by the Pakistan Cricket Board. There are currently six cricket teams in the league. How PSL was created and developed, read our article.

Pakistan Super League: history of development

T20 is one of the most popular formats for many domestic championships in countries where cricket is popular. The public liked the one-day shortened format. By reducing the playing time of the match, the cricket competition took place on the field more dynamically. It allowed spectators to watch the match with interest without interruption and without getting tired.

For the first time, the Pakistan Cricket Board planned to launch the Pakistan Super League in 2013, but the creation of a new domestic championship in the country was postponed for two years, first due to logistical problems and then because they could not find investors for the implementation of this project for a long time. And finally, all the issues were settled by 2015, and the Pakistan Super League was officially founded on September 9.

The first season of the Pakistan Super League was played in 2016. Moreover, the championship was held on the territory of the UAE. At that time, there were hostilities in Pakistan. From 2009 to 2019, the country did not host home matches of international cricket competitions. However, almost all of the PSL finals were played in Pakistan. For example, during the finals in 2018, 8 thousand people were involved to ensure the safety of players and spectators, and even more in 2019 – up to 13 thousand police officers plus 2500 armed paramilitary personnel.

There were five teams in the league: the Islamabad United, the Karachi Kings, the Quetta Gladiators, the Peshawar Zalmi and the Lahore Qalandars.

The first match took place on February 4, 2016 in Dubai at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium. The Quetta Gladiators and the Islamabad United clashed in a cricket match, in which the first team won a landslide victory.

Pakistan Super League: history of development

By 2018, there were six representatives in the Pakistan Super League. Officially, the PSL consists of the following teams:

  • the Peshawar Zalmi.
  • the Lahore Qalandars.
  • the Karachi Kings.
  • the Islamabad United.
  • the Quetta Gladiators.
  • the Multan Sultans.

General characteristics of Pakistan Super League:

  • Frequency of the championship – annually.
  • The number of teams that take part in the PSL – 6.
  • The official anthem is “Ab Khel Jame Ga” by Ali Zafar.
  • Trophies awarded to players – Hanif Mohammad award and a green cap are awarded to the top scorer. Fazal Mahmood award and a maroon cap presented by a leading wicket-taker. Imtiaz Ahmed award is awarded to the best wicket-keeper.
  • The competition format is a double round system, after which the top four teams advance to the playoffs. Two teams are remaining in the final, competing for the title of PSL winner.
  • Scoring system for the group stage: victory = 2 points; no result = 1 point; defeat = 0 points.
  • In the event of a tie, a super over is used to determine the winner.
Pakistan Super League Winnners
Year Team
2016 The Islamabad United
2017 The Peshawar Zalmi
2018 The Islamabad United
2019 The Quetta Gladiators
2020 The Karachi Kings

Pakistan Super League: the current squad line-up

We suggest you familiarize yourself with the current official line-up of the teams that play in the Pakistan Super League.

  1. the Peshawar Zalmi – home stadium of Arbab Niaz Stadium:

Bowlers: Aamir Khan, Abrar Ahmed, Fidel Edwards, Mohammad Imran, Mohammad Imran Randhawa, Mohammad Irfan, Muhammad Irfan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Sameen Gul, Saqib Mahmood, Umaid Asif, Wahab Riaz, Waqar Salamkheil.

  • All Rounder: Amad Butt, Fabian Allen, Khaid Usman, Ravi Bopara.
  • Batsman: Bismillah Khan, David Miller, Haider Ali, Hazratullah Zazai, Imam-ul-Haq, Kamran Akmal, Rovman Powell, Sherfane Rutherford, Shoaib Malik, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Jonatan Wells.

Wahab Riaz is the team captain.

  1. the Lahore Qalandars – home of Gaddafi Stadium:
  • Bowlers: Ahmed Danyal, Dilbar Hussain, Haris Rauf, Maaz Khan, Rashid Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Sohail Akhtar, Sultan Ahmed, Ahmad Danyal, Salman Mirza.
  • All-rounder: James Faulkner, Mohammad Hafeez, Salman Ali Agha, Seekkuge Prasanna, Tim David, David Wiese, Samit Patel.
  • Batsman: Ben Dunk, Callum Ferguson, Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Faizan, Zaid Alam, Zeeshan Ashraf, Joe Denly.

Sohail Akhtar is the team captain.

  1. the Karachi Kings – home stadium of the National Stadium:
  • Bowler: Abbas Afridi, Arshad Iqbal, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Idyas, Noor Ahmad, Waqas Maqsood, Abbas Afridi, Mohammed Abbas.
  • All-rounder: Aamer Yamin, Daniel Christian, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Nabi, Qasim Akram, Trisara Perera.
  • Batsman: Babar Azam, Chadwick Walton, Colin Ingram, Danish Aziz, Joe Clarke, Martin Guptill, Mohammad Haris, Najeebullah Zadran, Sharjeel Khan, Zeeshan Malik.

Imad Wasim is the team captain.

  1. the Islamabad United – home stadium of Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium:
  • Bowler: Ahmed Safi Abdullah, Akif Javed, Ali Khan, Fawad Ahmed, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Waseem, Musa Khan, Zafar Gohar, Zeeshan Zameer. Batsman: Asif Ali, Brandon King, Colin Munro, Hussain Talat, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Akhlaq, Rohail Nazir, Umar Amin, Usman Khawaja, Alex Hales, Philip Salt, Paul Stirling.
  • All-rounder: Faheem Ashraf, Shadab Khan, Lewis Gregory.

Shadab Khan is the team captain.

  1. the Quetta Gladiators – home of Bugti Stadium:
  • Bowler: Arish Ali Khan, Dale Steyn, Mohammad Hasnain, Naseem Shah, Qais Ahmad, Usman Shinwari, Zahid Mahmood, Zahir Khan, Zahoor Khan.
  • All-rounder: Abdul Nasir, Andre Russell, Anwar Ali, Ben Cutting, Chris Gayle, Hassan Khan, Jack Wildermuth, Khurram Shahzad, Mohammad Nawaz.
  • Batsman: Azam Khan, Cameron Delport, Fast du Plessis, Jake Weatherald, Saim Ayub, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Tom Banton, Usman Khan.

Sarfaraz Ahmed is the team captain.

Pakistan Super League: the current squad line-up

  1. the Multan Sultans – home of Multan Cricket Stadium:
  • Bowler: Blessing Muzarabani, Imran Tahir, Mohammad Imran Khan, Mohammad Umar, Mohammad Imran Khan, Shahnawaz Dhani, Sohaibullah, Sohail Khan, Sohail Tanvir, Usman Qadir.
  • All-rounder: Asif Afridi, Hammad Azam, Khushdil Shah, Carlos Brathwaite, Shahid Afridi.
  • Batsman: Johnson Charles, Mohammad Rizwan, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Rilee Rossouw, Shan Masood, Shimron Hetmyer, Sohaib Maqsood, Waseem Muhammad, Chris Lynn, James Vince.

Mohammad Rizwan is the team captain.

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form