St Lucia Zouks

Nickname: Zouks On Fire
Team Country: West Indies
Team City: Saint Lucia, West Indies
Team Administrator: Mohit Burman, Karan Paul, Ness Wadia, Preity Zinta
Founded (Year): 2013
Home Ground: Darren Sammy Stadium
Coach: Daren Sammy
Forms of Cricket: Twenty20
St Lucia Zouks

St Lucia Zouks: competitions

St Lucia Zouks: Twenty20 Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Caribbean Premier League Caribbean Premier League 0
2022 season of The 6ixty 0

St Lucia Zouks: Current Squad

Roston Chase Roston Chase All-rounder

St Lucia Zouks: cricket team from West India

Published: Reading time: ~ 4 min. Comments: 0
St Lucia Zouks

St Lucia Zouks (formerly St Lucia Stars, also known as Zouks On Fire) is one of the six franchise teams of the Caribbean Premier League, founded in 2013. The rights to the team belong to a group of Indian businessmen – Mohit Burman, Ness Wadia, Preity Zinta and Karan Paul.

The colors of the form are blue and yellow. The team’s home ground with a capacity of 15,000 spectators, formerly known as the Beausejour Cricket Ground, was renamed in 2016 in honor of Daren Sammy, the long-time captain of the West Indies national team, who twice led it to victory in the ICC World Twenty20 competitions.

Saint Lucia started the first draw with a defeat, having won only two group stage matches. And yet, despite the fact that the team failed to make it to the playoffs, it performed well in the match against the future finalists – the Guyanese.

Nevertheless, the need to update and expand the debut line-up was quite obvious. Sunil Ambris, Johnson Charles and Sohail Tanvir joined the team, but the management failed to keep Tamim Iqbal and Misbah ul-Haq, which affected the results: according to the results of 2014, Saint Lucia occupied the penultimate line. A year later, the team again finished in fifth place and, along with St. Kitts & Nevis Patriots, lost the chance to play in the playoffs.

Having strengthened the squad (for example, Shane Watson, Shane Shillingford, Michael Hussey and other venerable players were included in the application), St Lucia Zouks made a decisive attempt to correct the situation and succeeds: having won six matches at the group stage, the team entered the playoffs for the first time in history. Unfortunately, the islanders could not overcome the resistance of the Trinbago Knight Riders: they were five wickets behind the opponent, they finished the 2016 draw on the fourth line.

St Lucia Zouks history

2017 was a truly disastrous year for Saint Lucia. The team showed negative statistics, not winning a single match in the group, despite the presence of such stars as Lasith Malinga, Daren Sammy and Shane Watson. It is not surprising that the squad was again cleaned up: Kieron Pollard took the place of captain (he later lost this position to Faf du Plessis from South Africa), and Mitchell McClenaghan, Kesrick Williams and David Warner joined the list of players. And although the team failed to make it to the playoffs again, some of them showed success (for example, according to the results of the match against Barbados Tridents, which Saint Lucia won by an impressive margin of 38 runs, Pollard was recognized as the best player).

Having finished on the penultimate line of the standings twice in a row in 2020, Saint Lucia finally broke out ahead. Having received the right to play in the playoffs, the team bypassed the Guyana Amazon Warriors by ten wickets in the semifinals and got the right to compete for the main trophy of the league. To the fans’ disappointment, the Trinbago Knight Riders were stronger in the final match, whose bowlers make up an eight-wicket gap.

Year Number of matches Wins Losses Wins %
2013 7 2 5 28,57
2014 9 2 7 22,22
2015 10 4 5 40
2016 11 6 5 54,55
2017 10 0 9 0
2018 10 3 6 30
2019 10 3 6 30
2020 12 7 5 58,33

St Lucia Zouks Zouks On Fire: the best players

St Lucia Zouks Zouks On Fire is one of the least effective CPL teams. It took part in the fight for the trophy only once (2020), and six of the eight draws ended at the group stage. Nevertheless, although the representatives of Saint Lucia have never topped the lists of the best players of the season, their achievements in specific positions have been recognized. So, in particular:

  • In 2013, Andre Fletcher took third place in the league’s batsman race, and in 2015 he rose to second place;
  • In 2016, Johnson Charles (No. 2) was included in the list of the best CPL batsmen;
  • According to the results of the 2020 draw, two bowlers were in the top 5 at once – Scott Kuggeleijn (first place) and Kesrick Williams (No. 5).

St Lucia Zouks Zouks On Fire: the best players

St Lucia Zouks Zouks On Fire: records

The best batsman of St Lucia Zouks Zouks On Fire is the Grenadian Andre Fletcher, who has been playing for the team since its foundation and, during this time, managed to record 2081 runs.

  • The second and third places with a large margin are occupied by the natives of St. Lucia, Johnson Charles and Daren Sammy (1037 and 898 runs, respectively);
  • The top three bowlers of the team include Kesrick Williams (St. Vincent) with 34 wickets, representative of Dominica Shane Shillingford (25 wickets) and the same Daren Sammy (24 wickets).
Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form