Barbados Tridents

Nickname: Barbados Royals
Team Country: West Indies
Team City: Bridgetown, Barbados
Team Administrator: Manoj Badale
Founded (Year): 2013
Home Ground: Kensington Oval
Coach: Trevor Penney
Captain: David Miller
Forms of Cricket: Twenty20
Barbados Tridents

Barbados Tridents: competitions

Barbados Tridents: Twenty20 Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Caribbean Premier League Caribbean Premier League 2 2014, 2019
2022 season of The 6ixty 0

Barbados Tridents: Current Squad

Jason Holder Jason Holder All-rounder

Barbados Tridents: cricket team from West India

Published: Reading time: ~ 4 min. Comments: 0
Barbados Tridents cricket team

Barbados Tridents is one of the six franchise teams representing the Caribbean Premier League since 2013. Winner of the second and seventh draws, participant of the 2014 Cricket Champions League. One of the main shareholders of the club is the famous Hollywood actor Mark Wahlberg, who was introduced to the game by a close friend Ajmal Khan, the head of Barbados Tridents and one of the founders of CPL.

The colors of the Barbadians’ uniforms are blue, light blue and yellow. Trevor Penney currently coaches the team.

Barbados Tridents confidently started in the first ever league draw (2013), winning four consecutive victories, and in each of the matches, the title of the best player was invariably awarded to representatives of the team (Shoaib Malik, Shakib al-Hasan, Kieron Pollard). However, subsequently, luck turned away from the Barbadians: losing in the remaining matches, they still made it to the playoffs, but they could not impose a serious fight on Jamaica.

A year later, Barbados Tridents managed to rehabilitate themselves in the eyes of the fans for the failures of the opening season. Having won six matches in the competition’s group stage, the team easily sorted out the final with Guyana Amazon Warriors – 152/6 to 107/4. Shoaib Malik was recognized as the best player of the final match, who took second place in the list of the best batsmen of the league (406 runs) at the end of the season.

2015 was one of the most controversial in the history of the franchise. On the one hand, the Barbadians won the most victories in the group stage, scoring 12 points, which helped them get to the final straightaway. However, the team could not win the second trophy in a row, losing to Trinbago Knight Riders. This was partly due to personnel problems: only two players of Barbados Tridents, Kieron Pollard and Robin Peterson, were able to gain a foothold in the list of the best bowlers (fourth and fifth place, respectively).

Barbados Tridents history

The next three seasons were a period of decline for Barbadians. From 2016 to 2018, they never rose above the fifth line, and in 2018 they completely fell back to the last, losing eight matches out of ten. After a disastrous season, the management of Barbados Tridents seriously took up updating the squad: Asif Ali, Johnson Charles, Imad Wasim, Jonathan Carter, Justin Greaves and a young Nepalese star Sandeep Lamichhane joined the team, whose main task was to bring depth to the team’s attack.

Having won five matches in the group, the Barbadians faced the Guyana Amazon Warriors in the first qualifying match, to whom they lost 218/3 to 188/8. Getting to the final depended on the next game, in which Trinbago Knight Riders opposed Barbados, and this time the team executed to absolute perfection, beating the opponents 160/6 to 148. Ashley Nurse was recognized as the player of the match, and in the decisive battle, the game of life was played by Jonathan Carter, who provided the team with a solid lead on runs, which ultimately helped the Barbadians to take the second league trophy.

In the 2020 season, Wahab Riaz, Marcus Stinis, Alex Hales, and many other players left the team, affecting its results. Having finished the year on the fifth line of the table, the Barbadians could not defend the title.

Year Number of matches Wins Losses Wins %
2013 8 4 4 50
2014 10 7 3 70
2015 11 6 5 54, 54
2016 10 3 6 30
2017 10 4 6 40
2018 10 2 8 20
2019 13 7 6 61,53
2020 10 3 7 30

Barbados Tridents: the best players

Representatives of Barbados Tridents have repeatedly been included in the best players’ lists, not only in winning seasons. So, in particular:

  • Shoaib Malik won the batsman’s race in 2013 with 272 runs;
  • In 2014, the best bowler of the tournament was Ravi Rampaul (18 wickets);
  • In 2019, Hayden Walsh Jr. recorded a similar achievement (22 wickets).

Barbados Tridents: the best players

Barbados Tridents: records

The best batsman of the Barbados Tridents is Dwayne Smith, who played for the team from 2013 to 2018 and made 1305 runs during this period. In addition, the number of distinguished players can include:

  • Batsmen Shoaib Malik and Kieron Pollard (1271 and 1080 runs respectively);
  • The best pair of batsmen – Johnson Charles and Jonathan Carter, who made 110 runs for two in a match against Trinbago Knight Riders on September 26, 2019;
  • Bowlers Ravi Rampaul (52 wickets), Jason Holder (49 wickets) and Kieron Pollard (37 wickets).
Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form