Northern Districts cricket team

Nickname: Northern Brave
Team Country: New Zealand
Team City: Hamilton, New Zealand
Team Administrator: Northern Districts Cricket Association
Founded (Year): 1955
Home Ground: Seddon Park
Home Ground: Bay Oval, Blake Park Mount Maunganui
Coach: Graeme Aldridge
Captain: Dean Brownlie
Forms of Cricket: First-Class Limited Overs Twenty20
Northern Districts cricket team

Northern Districts cricket team: competitions

Northern Districts cricket team: First-Class Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Plunket Shield Plunket Shield 8 1962–63, 1979–80, 1991–92, 1992–93, 1999–00, 2006–07, 2009–10, 2011–12

Northern Districts cricket team: Limited Overs Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Ford Trophy Ford Trophy 7 1979–80, 1994–95, 1997–98, 2002–03, 2004–05, 2008–09, 2009–10

Northern Districts cricket team: Twenty20 Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Super Smash Super Smash 3 2013–14, 2017–18, 2021-22

Northern Districts cricket team: Current Squad

Colin de Grandhomme Colin de Grandhomme All-rounder Ish Sodhi Ish Sodhi Bowler Mitchell Santner Mitchell Santner All-rounder Tim Southee Tim Southee Bowler Trent Boult Trent Boult Bowler

Northern Districts cricket team: club from New Zealand

Published: Reading time: ~ 4 min. Comments: 0
Northern Districts cricket team

The Northern Districts is a professional cricket club formed in 1955 out of 6 district associations in New Zealand. The team is on North Island with a population of 3.5 million. The main venue for home games is Seddon Park Stadium with a capacity of 10,000. In addition, the team has four more spare sports grounds. For 2021, the Northern Districts has 8 Plunket Shield championships, a 7-time Ford Trophy winner, and a 2-time Super Smash champion. By the way, the team is performing under the name Northern Knights at the last championship. In this article, we describe all the important victories of the Northern Districts cricket club.

Northern Districts cricket team – team associations

Cricket is one of the most popular summer sports in New Zealand. Officially, the New Zealand Cricket appeared in the country in 1894 – this is the main governing body responsible for cricket. The headquarters of the company is in the city of Christchurch (population 390 thousand people). The NZC has been a full member of the International Cricket Council since 1926.

Today, the Sports Council organizes both international competitions and several domestic professional championships. Officially, six popular teams take part in national tournaments. You can find detailed information about each of them on our website. In this article, we will talk about the Northern Districts cricket team.

As stated above, NDCT is a professional cricket club formed from 6 district cricket sports associations:

  1. the Northland Cricket;
  2. the Counties Manukau Cricket;
  3. the Hamilton Cricket;
  4. the Waikato Valley Cricket;
  5. the Bay of Plenty Cricket;
  6. the Poverty Bay Cricket.

Because the team consists of several associations, therefore, it has several places to play. The main home stadium is Seddon Park. However, there are other playgrounds:

  • Bay Oval (Tauranga city, capacity 10,000 people);
  • Cobham Oval (Whangarei city, capacity 5,500 people );
  • Harry Barker Reserve (Gisborne city);
  • Owen Delany Park (Taupo city capacity 15,000 people).

Northern Districts cricket team - team associations

Northern Districts cricket team – results of three tournaments

Plunket Shield is the country’s premier cricket championship since 1906. Northern Districts debuted in 1956. The team won the championship for the first time in 1963. Then, in the final, the team defeated the Wellington cricket team. Subsequently, the club advanced to the decisive round of the tournament in the following years:

  • 1980. Winning the final against the Wellington cricket team;
  • 1982. Final round loss to the Wellington cricket team;
  • 1992. Joint victory. Draw in the final with Central Districts cricket team;
  • 1993. The team won the Otago cricket team in the final;
  • 1998. Final loss by the Canterbury cricket team;
  • 2000. Winning the decisive match against the Auckland cricket team;
  • 2001. Loss from the Wellington cricket team;
  • 2007. 6th champion title. The club beat the Canterbury cricket team;
  • 2010. Another victory in the final. Playing against the Canterbury cricket team;
  • 2012. The last trophy won in the final game against the Central Districts cricket team;
  • 2017. Lost in the final by the Canterbury cricket team;
  • 2021. Another loss in the decisive match from the Canterbury cricket team.

In total, the team became the best eight times in the first-class championship!

The team has been participating in another professional tournament – The Ford Trophy since 1971. The matches of this championship were played in a format with a limited number of overs in List A. It meant that one match lasts up to 8 hours; it consisted of 2 innings, 50 overs were played in each of them.

Northern Districts cricket team - results of three tournaments

The Northern Districts cricket team won the championship for the first time in 1980. In total, the club has seven trophies. The last two appeared in 2009 and 2010. And the last time the players were able to reach the final happened in May 2021. Unfortunately, the team lost by eight wickets to the Canterbury cricket team.

The Super Smash (2021 Dream11 Super Smash) is the 3rd championship in which NDCT competes since 2005. The tournament, like the FT, is held in a format with limited overs but with Twenty20 status (there are two innings of 20 overs each in one game).

Here the team acts under the name Northern Knights. The club reached the final for the first time in 2008. Unfortunately, he lost to the Central Stags cricket team there. They won only six years later. In the decisive match, the club was able to beat the Otago Volts cricket team. The team repeated the success in 2018. The Northern Districts took revenge and beat the Central Stags cricket team. However, the team again lost to them in the final already in the next season. The club finished the draw in 2021 in 4th place.

Our site tracks virtually all of the current cricket tournaments in New Zealand. Follow the results of your favorite team with us!

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form