Khyber Pakhtunkhwa cricket team

Team Country: Pakistan
Team City: Peshawar, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Pakistan
Team Administrator: Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Cricket Association
Founded (Year): 1937
Home Ground: Arbab Niaz Stadium, Peshawar
Home Ground: Abbottabad Cricket Stadium, Abbottabad
Coach: Abdul Razzaq
Forms of Cricket: First-Class Limited Overs Twenty20
Khyber Pakhtunkhwa cricket team

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa cricket team: competitions

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa cricket team: First-Class Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Quaid-e-Azam Trophy Quaid-e-Azam Trophy 2 2020-21, 2021-22

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa cricket team: Limited Overs Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Pakistan Cup Pakistan Cup 1 2020-21

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa cricket team: Twenty20 Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years National T20 Cup Pakistan National T20 Cup Pakistan 2 2020-21, 2021-22

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa cricket team: Current Squad

Mohammad Rizwan Mohammad Rizwan Wicket-Keeper Captain

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa cricket team: Pakistan domestic cricket team

Published: Reading time: ~ 3 min. Comments: 0
Khyber Pakhtunkhwa cricket team

The Khyber Pakhtunkhwa cricket team is a Pakistani regional cricket team that represents Khyber Pakhtunkhwa in the championships. She competes in regional first-class cricket tournaments, List A and T20. Let’s talk about this team and its achievements in more detail.

Brief information about the team

The Khyber Pakhtunkhwa represents the province of the same name in cricket competitions and was founded in its current format in 2019. Despite this, the team’s history is quite rich: it was founded on the basis of the North-West Frontier Province team, which has been playing cricket since 1937 and was part of the structure of cricket teams existing within India.

After Pakistan was declared an independent state in 1947, North-West Frontier Province continued to enter the field, taking part in the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy, Pentangular Trophy and Pakistan Cup tournaments.

The name of the province has changed to the current one since 2010, and the name of the team has changed at the same time. 2019 saw a new round in the development of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa: the entire Pakistani cricket system was reformed and streamlined. Since then, instead of many teams, only six have participated in the national championships, representing various regions of Pakistan, including the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa. Its rivals are Northern, Southern Punjab, Central Punjab, Balochistan, Sindh.

The team captain is currently Mohammad Rizwan, who is best at wicket-keeper batsman.

He coached the Abdul Razzaq team.

Brief information about the team

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Achievements

This team is currently one of the most formidable rivals in the championships.

Championship name Number of titles Years in which titles were won
National T20 Cup 2 2020 – 2021, 2021-2022
Quaid-e-Azam Trophy 2 2020 – 2021, 2021-2022
Pakistan Cup 1 2020 – 2021

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Achievements

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa cricket team roster

Of course, this team could not have achieved such success if it did not include brilliant cricketers who earn injuries and prevent opponents from doing the same.

The team’s players are in the 2021-2022 season:

  • Mohammad Rizwan (team captain). He plays for the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa cricket team and represents Pakistan on the international stage since 2015. Mohammad is one of the top 100 cricket players in all three international cricket formats (Test, ODI, Twenty20).
  • Fakhar Zaman. He plays as the opening batsman and also plays for the Pakistan national cricket team. He became the first batsman from Pakistan to score 200 in an ODI cricket match in July 2018.
  • Usman Shinwari. Before joining the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, this player is a fast bowler and played with the Sylhet Sixers (Bangladesh) and Melbourne Renegades (Australia).
  • Iftikhar Ahmed. An all-rounder cricketer who has also been a member of the Pakistan national team since 2015 and started his regional career in 2010.
  • Shaheen Shah Afridi. He plays as a fast bowler. He made his regional debut in 2017, internationally as a member of the Pakistan national team in 2018.
  • Also on the field are: Adil Amin, Ahmed Jamal, Arshad Iqbal, Asad Afridi, Ashfaq Ahmad, Asif Afridi, Imran Khan snr, Irfanullah Shah, Israrullah, Junaid Khan, Kamran Ghulam, Khalmmid Usman, Mehran Ibrahim, Moharidi Mohammad Amir Khan Gul, Samiullah jnr, Saqib Jamil, Zohaib Khan.
  • On the reserve in the team are (Additional players): Gohal Ali, Haris Khan, Mohammad Arif Shah, Maaz Sadaqat, Mohammad Ali, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Imran, Mohammad Khayyam, Nasir Faraz, Salman Khan jnr, Shoaib Malik, Wahab Riaz, Waqar Ahmad.

Because the Pakistani cricket structure was recently reorganized, the history of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa cricket team as it has after the introduction of the new rules is just beginning, but the start turned out to be truly impressive.

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form