Southern Punjab cricket team

Team Country: Pakistan
Team City: Multan, Multan Division, Pakistan
Team Administrator: Southern Punjab Cricket Association
Founded (Year): 2019
Home Ground: Multan Cricket Stadium, Multan
Home Ground: Bahawal Stadium, Bahawalpur
Coach: Shahid Anwar
Captain: Umar Siddiq
Forms of Cricket: First-Class Limited Overs Twenty20
Southern Punjab cricket team

Southern Punjab cricket team: competitions

Southern Punjab cricket team: First-Class Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Quaid-e-Azam Trophy Quaid-e-Azam Trophy 0

Southern Punjab cricket team: Limited Overs Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Pakistan Cup Pakistan Cup 0

Southern Punjab cricket team: Twenty20 Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years National T20 Cup Pakistan National T20 Cup Pakistan 0

Southern Punjab cricket team: Current Squad

Mohammad Abbas Mohammad Abbas Bowler

Southern Punjab cricket team: Pakistan domestic cricket team

Published: Reading time: ~ 4 min. Comments: 0
Southern Punjab cricket team

The Southern Punjab cricket team (SPCT) is a professional Pakistani cricket team representing several united territories in the southern province of Punjab.

The team is present in three first-class competition formats, List A and T20I, taking an active part in all domestic tournaments: the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy, the Pakistan Cup and the National T20 Cup.

The franchise was founded in 2019. Team color is burgundy green. Home place is the Multan CS.

Southern Punjab cricket team: history

The national cricket organization, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), decided to change the internal discipline policy in early 2019. In this regard, the largest restructuring in the history of this system had to happen. As a result, the league was reduced to six representatives of the home championship, three of which are new clubs, and the rest are established franchises with more than half a century of history. Despite this, the rebranding also affected the latter.

The official date for the appearance of the Southern Punjab cricket is September 3 – the club’s registration date. The final line-up of the SPC was approved on the same day.

It was officially announced in December 2020 that Australian Aaron Summers would play for the new Punjabi club in the Pakistan Cup 2020/21. This experience was an excellent opportunity for the legionnaire to introduce Pakistanis to the Australian cricket school, after which they decided to stay in the team. Logically, Summers became the first Australian citizen to take part in the Pakistani domestic cricket championship, writing himself in the club’s history.

The 2019/20 debut season ended for the SPC with fourth in the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy and third in the National T20 Cup.

The 2020/21 season results look better: 3rd position in the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy, 4th in the Pakistan Cup and 5th in the National T20 Cup.

Southern Punjab cricket team: history

Southern Punjab cricket team: achievements

The SPCT is part of a group of young and promising clubs in Pakistan. In this regard, it is not surprising that the team has not yet managed to find its own game that allowed it to compete for titles. The team has been participating in all national championships for two years, but the best achievement remains the 3rd place at the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy (2020).

The club did not have time to prove itself in the remaining formats.

Despite the lack of outstanding performance, fans see the Southern Punjab cricket team wanting to play and win, so they continue to support the club.

Southern Punjab cricket team: players

Southern Punjab cricket team: players

The SPCT line-up has not changed for two seasons, but it has some changes in 2021. The Southern Punjab currently has the following players:

Name Birth date Batting Style Bowling Style Notes
Saif Badar 3 July 1998 (age 23) Right-handed Right-arm leg break
Sohaib Maqsood 15 April 1987 (age 34) Right-handed Right-arm off break
Zain Abbas 2 November 1991 (age 29) Left-handed
Imran Rafiq 3 November 1996 (age 24) Left-handed
Shan Masood 14 October 1989 (age 31) Right-handed Right-arm medium-fast Captain
Mukhtar Ahmed 20 December 1992 (age 28) Right-handed Right-arm leg break
Mohammad Umair 31 October 1994 (age 26) Right-handed
Agha Salman 23 November 1993 (age 27) Right-handed Right-arm off break
Hussain Talat 12 February 1996 (age 25) Left-handed Right-arm medium-fast Vice-captain
Aamer Yamin 26 June 1990 (age 31) Right-handed Right-arm medium
Khushdil Shah 7 February 1995 (age 26) Left-handed Slow left-arm orthodox
Umar Siddiq 30 December 1992 (age 28) Left-handed
Zeeshan Ashraf 11 May 1992 (age 29) Left-handed
Waqar Hussain 17 October 1994 (age 26) Right-handed
Spin Bowlers
Zahid Mahmood 20 March 1988 (age 33) Right-handed Right-arm leg break
Umer Khan 5 August 1999 (age 21) Left-handed Slow left-arm orthodox
Mohammad Irfan 31 October 1989 (age 31) Left-handed Slow left-arm orthodox
Pace Bowlers
Mohammad Ilyas 21 March 1999 (age 22) Right-handed Right-arm fast-medium
Mohammad Imran 25 December 1996 (age 24) Right-handed Right-arm medium
Mohammad Abbas 10 March 1990 (age 31) Right-handed Right-arm medium-fast
Bilawal Bhatti 17 September 1991 (age 29) Right-handed Right-arm medium-fast
Zia-ul-Haq 11 December 1994 (age 26) Right-handed Left-arm fast-medium
Ali Shafiq 16 November 1996 (age 24) Right-handed Right-arm medium
Aaron Summers 24 May 1996 (age 25) Right-handed Right-arm fast Overseas cricketer from Australia

* international players are in bold.

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form