Central Punjab cricket team

Team Country: Pakistan
Team City: Punjab, Pakistan
Team Administrator: Central Punjab Cricket Association
Founded (Year): 2019
Home Ground: Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore
Home Ground: Iqbal Stadium, Faisalabad
Coach: Abdul Razzaq
Captain: Babar Azam
Forms of Cricket: First-Class Limited Overs Twenty20
Central Punjab cricket team

Central Punjab cricket team: competitions

Central Punjab cricket team: First-Class Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Quaid-e-Azam Trophy Quaid-e-Azam Trophy 2 2019-20, 2020-21

Central Punjab cricket team: Limited Overs Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Pakistan Cup Pakistan Cup 0

Central Punjab cricket team: Twenty20 Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years National T20 Cup Pakistan National T20 Cup Pakistan 0

Central Punjab cricket team: Current Squad

Babar Azam Babar Azam Batsman Captain Faheem Ashraf Faheem Ashraf Bowler Hasan Ali Hasan Ali Bowler

Central Punjab cricket team: Pakistan domestic cricket team

Published: Reading time: ~ 4 min. Comments: 0
Central Punjab cricket team

The Central Punjab cricket team (CPCT) is one of the leading cricket clubs in Pakistan, representing the administrative division of the northern and central parts of Punjab province.

The franchise is represented in all competition formats (the first-class, the T20I and the List A) and participates in all domestic Quaid-e-Azam Trophy, National T20 Cup and Pakistan Cup tournaments.

The club belongs to several young organizations created in 2019. Team colors: blue-orange. Home ground is the Gaddafi Stadium.

Central Punjab cricket team: history

The entire internal system of Pakistani cricket was changed at the moment of the restructuring of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) in 2019. The changes affected half of the clubs operating at that time, some of which had to be forced to unite.

Currently, the PCB is a group of six representatives, three of which are historically formed teams, and the rest are franchises created on the basis of several clubs. The last one includes the Central Punjab cricket team.

The CPCT represents the administrative union of the northern and central provinces of Punjab. Like its closest competitors, it was licensed on September 3, 2019, after which it debuted in the 2019/20 season. Unexpectedly for many, the club reached the final of the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy together with Northern, over which it won a confident victory. The CPCT dropped out of the group stage of the National T20 Cup early enough despite the success.

The Central Punjab unsuccessfully started the defense of the Quaid-e-Azam title in the following season 2019/20. However, five following victories made it possible for the CPCT to reach the final, where they tied with the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and were declared as joint winners.

The Central Punjab concentrated on the Pakistan Cup and National T20 Cup after the second championship, where they finished fourth and fifth place.

Central Punjab cricket team: history

Central Punjab cricket team: achievements

The CPCT is one of the most titled clubs in Pakistan in the first-class format since the transformation of the Pakistan Cricket Board in 2019: the team twice won the Quaid-e-Azam trophy over the past two seasons.

However, low performance is observed in other formats. Thus, the club did not get higher than the fourth place in the 2020/21 season in the Pakistan Cup, and the Punjab settled on the fifth line in the National T20 Cup Central format. However, the club is not limited in time, so it has every chance to collect a full collection of trophies soon.

Central Punjab cricket team: achievements

Central Punjab cricket team: players

In the offseason 2021/22, the Central Punjab cricket team is represented by the following members:

Name Birth date Batting Style Bowling Style Notes
Saad Nasim 29 April 1990 (age 31) Right-handed Right-arm leg break
Usman Salahuddin 2 December 1990 (age 30) Right-handed
Mohammad Saad 24 March 1990 (age 31) Right-handed
Rizwan Hussain 26 April 1996 (age 25) Left-handed
Ali Zaryab 27 December 1998 (age 22) Left-handed Right-arm off break
Tayyab Tahir 26 July 1993 (age 27) Right-handed Right-arm leg break
Ahmed Shehzad 23 November 1991 (age 29) Right-handed Right-arm leg break
Azhar Ali 19 February 1985 (age 36) Right-handed Right-arm leg break Vice-captain
Abid Ali 16 October 1987 (age 33) Right-handed Right-arm leg break
Babar Azam 15 October 1994 (age 26) Right-handed Right-arm off break Captain
Qasim Akram 1 December 2002 (age 18) Right-handed Right-arm off break
Raza Ali Dar 11 December 1987 (age 33) Left-handed Slow left-arm orthodox
Muhammad Akhlaq 12 November 1992 (age 28) Right-handed
Ali Shan 17 October 1994 (age 26) Right-handed
Kamran Akmal 13 January 1982 (age 39) Right-handed
Spin Bowlers
Ahmed Safi Abdullah 1 March 1998 (age 23) Left-handed Slow left-arm orthodox
Usman Qadir 10 August 1993 (age 27) Left-handed Right-arm leg break
Zafar Gohar 1 February 1995 (age 26) Left-handed Slow left-arm orthodox
Bilal Asif 24 September 1985 (age 35) Right-handed Right-arm off break
Pace Bowlers
Waqas Maqsood 4 November 1987 (age 33) Left-handed Left-arm fast-medium
Ahmed Bashir 10 December 1995 (age 25) Right-handed Right-arm medium
Hasan Ali 2 July 1994 (age 27) Right-handed Right-arm medium-fast
Bilawal Iqbal 17 August 1989 (age 31) Right-handed Right-arm fast-medium
Sohaibullah 20 March 1996 (age 25) Left-handed Left-arm medium
Naseem Shah 15 February 2003 (age 18) Right-handed Right-arm fast

* international players are in bold.

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form