Balochistan cricket team

Team Country: Pakistan
Team City: Quetta, Balochistan
Team Administrator: Balochistan Cricket Association
Founded (Year): 1954
Home Ground: Bugti Stadium, Quetta
Home Ground: Gwadar Stadium, Gwadar
Coach: Faisal Iqbal
Captain: Imam-ul-Haq
Forms of Cricket: First-Class Limited Overs Twenty20
Balochistan cricket team

Balochistan cricket team: competitions

Balochistan cricket team: First-Class Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Quaid-e-Azam Trophy Quaid-e-Azam Trophy 0

Balochistan cricket team: Limited Overs Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Pakistan Cup Pakistan Cup 1 2021-22

Balochistan cricket team: Twenty20 Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years National T20 Cup Pakistan National T20 Cup Pakistan 0

Balochistan cricket team: Current Squad

Imam-ul-Haq Imam-ul-Haq Batsman Captain

Balochistan cricket team: Pakistan domestic club

Published: Reading time: ~ 4 min. Comments: 0
Balochistan cricket team

The cricket team is a Pakistani cricket team representing Balochistan province of the same name. The team takes part in internal competitions of all first-class, T20I and List A formats, including the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy, National T20 Cup and Pakistan Cup home tournaments.

Balochistan cricket team: history

The Balochistan was founded in 1954, after which the collective took part in the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy of the 1954/55 season for the first time. To put it mildly, the debut disappointed the fans of the new Pakistani club: the Balochistan lost 53 runs to the Sind in the home arena in the very first match. Then the captain Athar Khan managed to get 57 points for his charges and take two wickets, but the result was already predetermined.

The Balochistan lost to an outsider (combined team of the Railways and the Multan) in the following season 1955/56.

Almost every season, from 1972 to 1979 (except 1975/76), the team did not play more than one match in the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy, losing already at the start. At one point, it even happened that the Balochistan was going on a series of six defeats in a row (5 innings, 1 in runs). Naturally, the club lost a significant part of the fan base after that. However, the setbacks did not end there.

The Balochistan played the weakest match with 53 points against the National Bank of Pakistan in the 1974/75 season. Opponents allowed the Balochistan to lead only at the start of the match. However, there is a bigger setback in the history of the club. The Balochistan lost to the Sinda with the most devastating handicap in club history of 575 runs in the 1973/74 match, which is considered one of the colossal losses in first-class cricket overall.

During a difficult period for the team, Shahid Fawad was the club’s most successful batsman. Among the player’s best indicators are 32 points in four games in the 1972/73 season and 33 and 94 points (the club’s best result) against the Sinda in the 1978/79 season.

The combined team of the North West Frontier Province and the Balochistan hosted the first-class of the Indian national team as part of its outbound tour in the 1978/79 season. The draw in Peshawar can be called a success for the Pakistani unification, although, as it turned out, there were no representatives of Balochistan in the composition.

Balochistan cricket team: history

Balochistan cricket team: achievements

Despite its more than half a century history, the Balochistan cannot boast of bright titles and serious achievements. The team does not have a single trophy at the moment.

In this case, the fans can only support their favorites in every possible way during this difficult period.

Balochistan cricket team: achievements

Balochistan cricket team: players

As part of the restructuring of domestic cricket, the Balochistan was substantially modified and re-assembled from six players at once. The presentation of the new line-up was on August 31, 2019.

At the moment the team looks like this:

Name Birth date Batting Style Bowling Style Notes
Akbar-ur-Rehman 14 September 1983 (age 37) Right-handed Right-arm leg break
Imran Farhat 20 May 1982 (age 39) Left-handed Right-arm leg break Vice-captain
Ayaz Tasawwar 10 December 1990 (age 30) Right-handed Right-arm leg break
Ali Waqas 26 December 1989 (age 31) Left-handed Right-arm off break
Awais Zia 1 September 1986 (age 34) Left-handed Right-arm off break
Haris Sohail 1 January 1989 (age 32) Left-handed Slow left-arm orthodox
Abdul Bangalzai 4 March 2003 (age 18) Right-handed
Taimur Ali 1 June 1991 (age 30) Right-handed Right-arm off break
Azeem Ghumman 24 January 1991 (age 30) Right-handed Right-arm leg break
Imran Butt 27 December 1995 (age 25) Right-handed
Imam-ul-Haq 22 December 1995 (age 25) Left-handed
Usama Mir 24 January 1991 (age 30) Right-handed Right-arm leg break
Bismillah Khan 1 March 1990 (age 31) Right-handed
Spin Bowlers
Kashif Bhatti 25 July 1986 (age 34) Right-handed Slow left-arm orthodox
Jalat Khan 3 February 1986 (age 35) Left-handed Slow left-arm orthodox
Raza-ul-Hasan 26 November 1987 (age 33) Right-handed Right-arm off break
Yasir Shah 2 May 1986 (age 35) Right-handed Right-arm leg break Captain
Pace Bowlers
Taj Wali 21 March 1991 (age 30) Left-handed Left-arm medium-fast
Umaid Asif 30 April 1984 (age 37) Right-handed Right-arm medium-fast
Amad Butt 10 May 1995 (age 26) Right-handed Right-arm fast
Khurram Shahzad 25 November 1999 (age 21) Right-handed Right-arm medium
Gohar Faiz 27 September 1986 (age 34) Right-handed Right-arm fast-medium
Akif Javed 10 October 2000 (age 20) Right-handed Left-arm medium-fast

* international players are in bold.

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form