Leeward Islands cricket team

Team Country: West Indies
Team City: The Valley, Anguilla
Founded (Year): 1880
Home Ground: Ronald Webster Park
Home Ground: ARG
Coach: Eldine Baptiste
Captain: Jahmar Hamilton
Forms of Cricket: First-Class Limited Overs Twenty20
Leeward Islands cricket team

Leeward Islands cricket team: competitions

Leeward Islands cricket team: First-Class Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Regional Four Day Competition Regional Four Day Competition 4 1989–90, 1993–94, 1995–96, 1997–98 (shared)

Leeward Islands cricket team: Limited Overs Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Super50 Cup Super50 Cup 7 1977–78 (shared), 1981–82, 1992–93 (shared), 1993–94, 1994–95, 1997–98, 2010–11

Leeward Islands cricket team: Twenty20 Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years
Caribbean Twenty20 0

Leeward Islands cricket team: Current Squad

Sheldon Cottrell Sheldon Cottrell Bowler

Leeward Islands cricket team: club from West India

Published: Reading time: ~ 4 min. Comments: 0
Leeward Islands cricket team

The Leeward Islands cricket team is a first-class team representing several member countries of the Leeward Islands Cricket Association. This regional organization is, in turn, a member of the West Indies Cricket Board. It is worth noting that in this case, the principle of traditional administrative division adopted in the former British colony is violated – Dominica is assigned to the Windward Islands group. Therefore, the local association is represented by:

  1. Antigua and Barbuda;
  2. Kitts;
  3. Nevis;
  4. Anguilla;
  5. Montserrat;
  6. British Virgin Islands;
  7. US Virgin Islands;
  8. Sint Maarten.

Accordingly, the national team has several home grounds: Ronald Webster Park, ARG, Warner Park, Edgar Gilbert Ground, Elquemedo Willett Park, Salem Oval, Carib Lumber Ball Park, Addelita Cancryn. The colors of the uniform are burgundy and gold.

Despite having the appropriate status, the Leeward Islands team does not apply for international competitions. The only notable exception was the participation of Antigua and Barbuda in the 1998 Commonwealth Games. However, the Leeward Islands cricket team regularly performs at intra-regional games of the Caribbean, in particular, the West Indies’ Professional Cricket League, which hosts Regional four-day competitions and NAGICO Regional Super50. The best representatives of the team who were able to prove themselves at this level receive an invitation to the West Indies national team.

Leeward Islands cricket team history

In addition, the Leeward Islands cricket team is a regular member of the Professional Cricket League, where it performs under the name Leeward Islands Hurricanes. For more than forty years of its existence, the team has managed to win a total of 11 titles:

Competition Individual titles Divided titles
Regional Four Day Competition 3 (1989-1990, 1993-1994, 1995-1996) 1 (1997-1998)
WICB Cup 5 (1981-1982, 1993-1994, 1994-1995, 1997-1998, 2010-2011) 2 (1977-1978, 1992-1993)

The Leeward Islands made their nominal debut in cricket competitions in 1958, when they lost to Jamaica by a difference of 19 runs. It took almost ten years to grow a competitive generation: in the 1968-1969 season, a historic victory was won over the Guyanese with a gap of 43 runs at the Warner Park Sporting Complex. Nevertheless, the status of the team remained uncertain for a long time: from 1965 to 1966 and from 1980 to 1981, the Leeward Islands played as part of the United Islands team along with their colleagues from the Windward Islands, but already in the 1975-1976 season there was a division.

In 1980, the Leeward Islands were assigned the status of an independent team. Just a year later, they made their debut in the Shell Shield, beating the Windward Islands with a difference of 57 runs, but it took eight seasons to win the first Red Stripe Cup trophy in the team’s history. In the period from 1989 to 1998, the Leeward Islands cricket team won several more significant titles, proving that they were ready to fight for the highest places.

In the 1997-1998 season, the Leeward Islands scored a double, sharing the title of the first-class competition with Guyana. Since then, the team has won only one significant trophy, although its representatives have been repeatedly called up to the West Indies national team.

Leeward Islands cricket team: the best players

Eldine Baptiste currently coaches the Leeward Islands cricket team. The team captain is Jamar Hamilton. The most famous players of the Leeward Islands national team of all time traditionally include:

  • Curtly Ambrose, one of the best fast bowlers of all time, who took a total of 405 wickets in test matches;
  • Viv Richards, who has repeatedly been awarded the title of the best batsman at both test level and in ODI;
  • Winston Benjamin, a veteran all-rounder and the father of the world-famous runner Rai Benjamin;
  • Andy Roberts, who is considered the ancestor of West Indian fast bowling;
  • Kieran Powell, one of the most experienced batsmen of the West Indies, and others.

Leeward Islands cricket team: the best players

Leeward Islands cricket team: records

In addition to the recognized legends of the Leeward Islands cricket team, many current players have managed to mark local records. So, in particular:

  • The top three batsmen are Kieran Powell, who scored 242 runs between 2011 and 2013, Devon Thomas (216 runs) and Chesney Hughes, who is not far behind him (213 runs);
  • The most effective pair of batsmen was formed by Chesney Hughes and Tonito Willett, who made 66 runs for two in the match against Canada on January 21, 2011;
  • The best bowlers are Gavin Tonge (14 wickets), Justin Athanaze (13 wickets) and Anthony Martin (11 wickets).
Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form