West zone cricket team

Team Country: India
Team City:
Team Administrator: Board of Control for Cricket in India
Captain: Wasim Jaffer
Forms of Cricket: First-Class Limited Overs
West zone cricket team

West zone cricket team: Indan Indian domestic cricket team

Published: Reading time: ~ 4 min. Comments: 0
West zone cricket team

The zonal team from West India took part in domestic cricket tournaments for the first time in 1961. The national team consists of 5 professional teams that represent various states and unions of the country. Currently, the national team has 18 championship titles at the first-class Duleep Trophy tournament and 11 trophies at the Deodhar Trophy competitions. The Board of Control manages the team for Cricket in India (BCCI). Among the popular players of the team are: Vijay Hazare, Sunil Gavaskar, Wasim Jaffer, Yusuf Pathan, Rohit Sharma and others. This article will briefly tell about all the victories at 2 West zone cricket team tournaments.

West zone cricket team – performance at the Duleep Trophy

West zone cricket team is a sports team that performs at two popular tournaments. The team consists of the best players from 5 internal teams, members of the BCCI:

The Board of Control for Cricket in India is a national sports community that has been responsible for cricket in the country since 1928. BCCI organizes a number of popular championships, including the first-class Duleep Trophy tournament.

The Duleep Trophy has been held in India since 1961. Five zonal teams participate in the championship. The games are held in the format of first-class cricket; that is, one match lasts from 3 to 5 days.

The West zone cricket team won the opening draw. The team beat the team from the South zone in the final. The following year, the team confirmed the title of champion of the Duleep Trophy. A year later, the West zone cricket team again won the tournament, but together with the South zone, as the 1964 final ended in a draw.

West zone cricket team – performance at the Duleep Trophy

For easy perception, we will make a list of further results with the participation of the West zone team:

  • 4th victory in the decisive game;
  • 1967-1968 Two final losses in a row;
  • 1969-1970 Two final wins;
  • Defeat in the final;
  • Another decisive victory;
  • 4th loss;
  • 1977-1978 Plus two more wins in the final meetings;
  • 1979-1980 Two consecutive defeats;
  • 1981-1982 The next two titles;
  • Loss in the final match;
  • 12th championship title;
  • 1987-1988 Two losses in the final meetings;
  • Joint victory in the final with North zone cricket team;
  • 1991-1992 10th and 11th defeats in the decisive game;
  • Another loss in the final;
  • 3rd overall victory (draw in the final) with the Central zone club;
  • 1999-2000 Two defeats in the final matches;
  • 15th championship in the Duleep Trophy;
  • Another championship title;
  • 15th defeat in the tournament;
  • 2009-2010 The last two wins in the first-class championship.

The West zone cricket team did not enter the final round again until 2015. And since 2016, the format of the competition has changed. Now only three internal teams compete at the tournament, the composition of which is chosen by the BCCI.

West zone cricket team – results for the Deodhar Trophy

Since 1973, the zonal team has been participating in another professional tournament – the Deodhar Trophy. 5 national teams also play at the competitions.

The West zone team won the tournament for the first time in 1976. Then, in the decisive game, the team beat the South zone cricket team. It repeated the success after four years. A memorable segment happened in 1983-1986. At this time, the club won the tournament four times in a row. In 1991, it became a 7-time champion of the Deodhar Trophy.

Unfortunately, the next victory happened only 16 years later. Only in the final of 2007, the West zone cricket team beat the team from the South zone. Another memorable period falls on 2012-2014. Three final victories in a row made the team a 15-time champion of the popular tournament.

West zone cricket team – results for the Deodhar Trophy

Today, only three national teams participate in the Deodhar Trophy, the composition of which is also appointed by the Board of Control for Cricket in India.

Find out the results of other zonal teams on our sports website! West zone cricket team is one of the most interesting in Indian cricket. Follow the News of the team, and also use Tips for matches with its participation.

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert
Other articles by this author: - Nelson - Ferret - Pegs All articles by this author

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form