Titans cricket team

Nickname: Multiply Titans
Team Country: South Africa
Team City: Centurion, Gauteng, South Africa
Founded (Year): 2004
Home Ground: SuperSport Park, Centurion
Coach: Mandla Mashimbyi
Captain: Grant Thomson
Forms of Cricket: First-Class Limited Overs Twenty20
Titans cricket team

Titans cricket team: competitions

Titans cricket team: First-Class Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years 4-Day Domestic Series 4-Day Domestic Series 7 2006–07, 2008–09, 2011-2012, 2015–16, 2017–18, 2021-22

Titans cricket team: Limited Overs Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Momentum One Day Cup Momentum One Day Cup 6 2007–08, 2008–09, 2013-14 (shared), 2014–15, 2016–17, 2018–19

Titans cricket team: Twenty20 Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Betway T20 Challenge Betway T20 Challenge 7 2004–05, 2007–08, 2011–12, 2015–16, 2016–17, 2017–18, 2021-22

Titans cricket team: Current Squad

Aiden Markram Aiden Markram Batsman Faf du Plessis Faf du Plessis Batsman Tabraiz Shamsi Tabraiz Shamsi Bowler

Titans cricket team: popular club from South Africa

Published: Reading time: ~ 3 min. Comments: 0
Titans cricket team

The cricket club Titans was formed in 2004 thanks to the union of 2 teams: the Easterns and the Northerns. The home venue for the Titans is Centurion Park Stadium in Centurion Town. The site has a capacity of 22,000 people. The second venue for professional matches is the Willowmoore Park Stadium (20,000 people) in Benoni. Over 17 years of their history, the Titans became 6-time champions of the 1-class 4-Day Domestic Series championship. The club also has six victories in the Momentum One Day Cup tournament and six victories in the CSA Twenty20 Challenge.

Titans – First Teams

Cricket came to the province of North Eastern Transvaal in the 20th century. There, the first cricket team was formed in 1937, which until 1971 called itself the North Eastern Transvaal cricket team. In the early 1970s, after the Transvaal province was renamed Gauteng, the club was renamed North Eastern, and from 1994 it was renamed simply Northerners.

Since 1986, the Centurion Park stadium has become the home venue for first-class matches for the Severyans. Before that, the club’s main site was the sports field in Pretoria – Berea Park. The format of the domestic cricket championships in South Africa changed dramatically in 2004. Because of this, the Northerns and the Club Easterns partly merged to form a new professional team, the Titans.

Today the Northerns compete in the CSA Provincial Competitions (3-day and one-day matches). The club was recognized as the best three times: twice in 2006 and once in 2015.

The Easterns are the second team that formed the Titans. The band itself appeared in 1989 and was called Eastern Transvaal. It changed its name in 1995. Now it’s just Team Eastern representing the South African city of Benoni.

The home ground for the Eastern players is Willowmoore Park Stadium with a capacity of 20,000. The club took its only championship title in the entire history of its existence there in 2003. A year later, the Eastern team, together with the team from Northerns, formed the new Titans club, which until 2021, represented the province’s interests at the country’s top championships. And since 2004, the Easterns players themselves have been participating in less popular tournaments – CSA Provincial Competitions.

Titans - First Teams

Titans – new team results

The Titans came about thanks to a change in the rules of the South African cricket competition. The team is one of 6 clubs that participate in all major country tournaments: the 4-Day Domestic Series, the Momentum One Day Cup and the CSA Twenty20 Challenge.

The club won its first title in 2005 at the CSA Twenty20 Challenge Short Match Championship. The following year, the team shared the championship with the Dolphins. In just 17 years, the Titans were able to win 18 finals:

  • First-class matches of the 4-Day Domestic Series (6 times) – the last one in 2018;
  • the Momentum One Day Cup (6) – overall victory in 2014, last title in 2019;
  • the CSA Twenty20 Challenge (6) – last in 2018.

Titans - new team results

In addition to domestic competitions, the Titans performed well in the international T20 Champions League in 2012. In the group stage, they finished in 2nd place, behind only the Indian team Delhi Capitals. Then, reaching the semifinals, the team met with the Australian team Sydney Sixers, who lost by two wickets (163/5 – 164/8).

The last cricket season in South Africa ended in March 2021. Since then, the country’s domestic tournaments are subject to major changes. This will also affect the Titans team (as well as the other 5 clubs). There will no longer be a club with that name. Instead of her, two provincial teams will continue to play – the Northerns and Easterns.

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form