Surrey County Cricket Club

Nickname: Brown Caps
Team Country: England
Team City: Surrey, South East England
Team Administrator: Steve Elworthy
Founded (Year): 1890
Home Ground: The Oval, Kennington, London
Coach: Gareth Batty
Captain: Rory Burns
Forms of Cricket: First-Class Limited Overs Twenty20
Surrey County Cricket Club

Surrey County Cricket Club: competitions

Surrey County Cricket Club: First-Class Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years
County Championship 20 1890, 1891, 1892, 1894, 1895, 1899, 1914, 1952, 1953, 1954, 1955, 1956, 1957, 1958, 1971, 1999, 2000, 2002, 2018, 2022

Surrey County Cricket Club: Limited Overs Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years
Pro40 National League 2 1996, 2003
Royal London One-Day Cup Royal London One-Day Cup 1 1982
Benson & Hedges Cup 3 1974, 1997, 2001

Surrey County Cricket Club: Twenty20 Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years
Twenty20 Cup 1 2009

Surrey County Cricket Club: Current Squad

Colin de Grandhomme Colin de Grandhomme All-rounder Jason Roy Jason Roy Batsman Kemar Roach Kemar Roach Bowler Sam Curran Sam Curran All-rounder

Surrey County Cricket Club: overview

Published: Reading time: ~ 4 min. Comments: 0
Surrey County Cricket Club

Surrey County Cricket Club is one of the eighteen first-class cricket clubs in England and Wales. The team represents the county of Surrey, which is part of the South-Eastern region of England. Surrey County Cricket Club has participated in all the highest national cricket championships, including the County Championship, since 1890. In addition, the team participates in other, smaller competitions within the country.

The home stadium is The Oval, which is located in Kennington (South London). The capacity of the site is about 25,500 people. By the way, the club has been based there since the creation of both the Surrey team and the stadium.

The club’s coat of arms looks very interesting. It depicts the feathers of the Prince of Wales – the heraldic sign of the heir to the throne. Surrey has used this symbol since 1915, since the land on which the team’s home stadium is located belongs to the Prince of Wales.

The club’s signature color is chocolate brown. All Surrey players wear caps or helmets corresponding to this color scheme, for which the club received the nickname “brown caps”.

Surrey: a brief history of the English cricket team

Surrey County Cricket Club: a brief history of the English cricket team

Cricket in Surrey appeared long before the foundation of the club, somewhere in the 17th century. The earliest teams were formed back in the 1660s, and the first known match in Surrey was held on July 1, 1707, Croydon against London.

The final decision to establish a cricket club was made on August 18, 1845, and it happened at Horns Tavern, Kennington. This proposal was made by William Denison, the first secretary of the club. A few months later, on October 22, 1845, the club’s employees were officially approved, and the team’s recruitment began. At the same time, the newly formed Surrey club began to rent The Oval, on the site of which there was once a market garden. Surrey’s first first-class match took place at the end of May 1846, with athletes from Kent Cricket Club competing.

Further in the history of the team, there were ups and downs. After a brilliant season in 1864, a decline began due to the departure of key players, and until the end of the 1880s, the level of play remained mediocre. Everything changed with the appearance of George Lohmann in Surrey, who is still called the best bowler of all time. He joined the team in 1884, and then the club’s affairs began to improve dramatically. Since 1890, the team will take three consecutive championship titles at once.

They will break this record only in 1958 when the title was taken seven times in a row (since 1952). It so happened that the top players of that time, including, for example, Alec Bedser, went to Surrey.

Since the 1960s and up to the end of the 1990s, the club has experienced a period of “calm”: they will win the County Championship only once during this time, only occasionally winning other tournaments. But even the successful period from the late 1990s to the early 2000s was not long: by the end of 2005, the Surrey team became obsolete and moved to the second division but was restored to its league in 2006. However, a little later, the team was relegated again and returned to the first division only in 2011.

Now the team continues to maintain a high level and play in the first division. The last time Surrey County Cricket Club took the championship title was in 2018.

Surrey in our time: achievements, composition

Surrey County Cricket Club in our time: achievements, composition

At the moment, the Surrey County Cricket Club is coached by Vikram Solanki. In total, the team took the title of champion 19 times; this is the second place among all the top English clubs (only Yorkshire has more, 32 times).

The list of achievements of the team is as follows:

First XI honours

  • County Championship– 1893, 1896, 1898, 1900, 1901, 1902, 1905, 1908, 1912, 1919, 1922, 1923, 1924, 1925, 1931, 1932, 1933, 1935, 1937, 1938, 1939, 1946, 1959, 1960, 1962, 1963, 1966, 1967, 1968, 2001, 2014, 2015; general – 1949.
  • FP Trophy – 1965, 1969, 2002.
  • National League – 1983.
  • Benson & Hedges Cup – 1987.

Second XI honours

  • Second XI Championship – 1977, 1984, 1991, 2003; overall-1987.
  • Second XI Trophy – 2009, 2017.
  • Minor Counties Championship – 1947, 1957, 1958, 1968, 1971.

The current composition of Surrey in 2021:

  • Batsmen: Hashim Amla, Laurie Evans, Rory Burns (captain), Jason Roy, Mark Stoneman, Ollie Pope, Ben Geddes.
  • Bowlers: Conor McKerr, Matt Dunn, Nick Kimber, Gareth Batty, Jade Dernbach, Amar Virdi, Dan Moriarty, Reece Topley, James Taylor, Liam Plunkett, Gus Atkinson, Kemar Roach, Sean Abbott.
  • Wicketkeepers: Ben Foakes, Jamie Smith.
  • All-rounders: Jordan Clark, Will Jacks, Ryan Patel, Nico Reifer, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Rikki Clarke, Jamie Overton.

The main sponsor of the team is Kia Motors.

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form