New South Wales Сricket Team

Nickname: NSW Blues
Team Country: Australia
Team City: Sydney, New South Wales
Team Administrator: Cricket NSW
Founded (Year): 1856
Home Ground: Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG)
Home Ground: North Sydney Oval
Coach: Phil Jaques
Captain: Peter Nevill
Forms of Cricket: First-Class Limited Overs Twenty20
New South Wales Сricket Team

New South Wales Cricket Team (NSW Blues): Competitions

New South Wales Сricket Team: First-Class Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Sheffield Shield Sheffield Shield 47 1896, 1897, 1900, 1902, 1903, 1904, 1905, 1906, 1907, 1909, 1911, 1912, 1914, 1920, 1921, 1923, 1926, 1929, 1932, 1933, 1938, 1940, 1949, 1950, 1952, 1954, 1955, 1956, 1957, 1958, 1959, 1960, 1961, 1962, 1965, 1966, 1983, 1985, 1986, 1990, 1993, 1994, 2003, 2005, 2008, 2014, 2020

New South Wales Сricket Team: Limited Overs Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years One Day Cup One Day Cup 12 1985, 1988, 1992, 1993, 1994, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2006, 2015, 2016, 2021

New South Wales Сricket Team: Twenty20 Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Big Bash League Big Bash League 1 2009
Champions League Twenty20 1 2009

New South Wales Сricket Team (NSW Blues): Current Squad

Adam Zampa Adam Zampa Bowler Mitchell Starc Mitchell Starc Bowler Nathan Lyon Nathan Lyon Bowler Pat Cummins Pat Cummins Bowler Steve Smith Steve Smith Batsman

New South Wales Сricket Team (NSW Blues): Australian team of the State of New South Wales

Published: Reading time: ~ 3 min. Comments: 0
New South Wales Cricket Team - NSW Blues (Australia)

The world-famous NSW Blues cricket club (formerly called the New South Wales cricket team) was founded back in 1856. This team stood at the very origins of cricket in Australia and is based in Sydney, New South Wales.

The NSW Blues played their first match in March 1856 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground. Then the New South Wales team won a tense game against the Victoria club, and the New South Wales cricket team already played their first test match against England in 1877, introducing their first captain Dave Gregory to the public.

The squad is currently a member of the Cricket NSW Association (full name is the New South Wales Cricket Association). The association itself was created in 1859, and at the moment, in addition to the NSW Blues, it includes five other major teams – the NSW Breakers (Australia’s most successful women’s team), the Sydney Sixers (men’s and women’s teams) and the Sydney Thunder (also men’s and women’s teams).

NSW Blues is famous for producing the best players in the world of cricket. Among the natives, there are such world athletes as Pat Cummins, Steve Smith, David Warner, Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Starc, Trent Copeland, Moises Henriques and Nathan Lyon. To further understand the team’s achievements, NWS has brought up 12 of the world’s top 20 batsmen, as well as 10 of the world’s top 20 bowlers, including the greatest player in cricket history – Donald Bradman.

NSW Blues: team information

NSW Blues: team information

The NSW Blues team participates in major Australian cricket tournaments such as the Sheffield Shield and the limited overs Marsh One-Day Cup. In addition, the team took part in Twenty20 and Big Bash, which now does not exist (Big Bash was renamed Big Bash League in the 2011 – 2012 season, and Twenty20 ceased to exist in 2014).

The home stadium of the NSW Blues is Sydney Cricket Ground, with a capacity of 46,000 people. The squad’s main color, as it is not difficult to guess, is sky blue (it is also the color of the state of New South Wales). The second color of the NSW Blues is dark blue, with an additional contrasting white color.

Current 2022-23 NSW Blues squad:

  • Batsmen: Oliver Davies, Daniel Hughes, Kurtis Patterson (captain), Jack Edwards, Lachlan Hearne, Jason Sangha, David Warner, Blake Nikitaras, Steve Smith, Ryan Hackney.
  • Bowlers: Toby Gray, Tanveer Sangha, Adam Zampa, Nathan Lyon, Chris Tremain, Josh Hazlewood, Trent Copeland, Will Salzmann, Ben Dwarshuis, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Mickey Edwards, Liam Doddrell, Ryan Hadley, Jack Nisbet, Hunar Verma.
  • Wicket-keepers: Baxter Holt, Matthew Gilkes, Lachlan Shaw.
  • All-rounders: Moises Henriques, Hayden Kerr, Daniel Sams, Sean Abbott.

Current NSW Blues squad

The NWS Blues cooperates with well-known world brands, including McDonald’s, Toyota and others.

The New South Wales cricket team also holds the Australian record for wins in the Sheffield Shield contest (as of 2021, the team has won the championship 47 times).

Mira Sania
Author: Mira Sania Position: Betting Expert

Comments on Article

No Comments for this post

Leave Your Comment

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form