Matabeleland Tuskers

Team Country: Zimbabwe
Team City: Bulawayo,Matabeleland region, Zimbabwe
Founded (Year): 2009
Home Ground: Queens Sports Club, Bulawayo
Coach: Dave Houghton
Captain: John Nyumbu
Forms of Cricket: First-Class Limited Overs Twenty20
Matabeleland Tuskers

Matabeleland Tuskers: competitions

Matabeleland Tuskers: First-Class Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Logan Cup Logan Cup 2 2010–11, 2011–12

Matabeleland Tuskers: Limited Overs Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Pro50 Championship Pro50 Championship 1 2016–17

Matabeleland Tuskers: Twenty20 Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Stanbic Bank 20 Series Stanbic Bank 20 Series 1 2019

Matabeleland Tuskers: Current Squad

Sean Williams Sean Williams All-rounder

Matabeleland Tuskers: about the Zimbabwe cricket team

Published: Reading time: ~ 3 min. Comments: 0
Matabeleland Tuskers

The Matabeleland Tuskers are a regional team from Zimbabwe that was created following the reorganization of the cricket system. Let’s tell you more about this team, its victories, history and players.

Creation of the Matabeleland Tuskers team

The history of this team goes back a little over a decade. It was created in 2009 when the system of cricket teams in Zimbabwe was reorganized. The reason for the reorganization was the crisis, in which the entire cricket system of the country found itself since 2003.

The entire regional cricket system has been reduced to the competition of five regional franchises Since 2009, as recommended by the ICC. At the same time, the teams of each region became more autonomous. They could dispose of the available funds at their discretion, hire players and make other important decisions regarding the game.

At first, the career of the newly minted Matabeleland Tuskers did not work out: they finished fourth out of five in the first Logan Cup, could not qualify for the final in the Twenty20 tournament. Things went smoothly already in the next season: the Matabeleland Tuskers played in the final of the Logan Cup and won their first title. They did not concede it the next year and the next after him. So they became the first team in Zimbabwe after the reorganization to boast a winning streak in this tournament.

Creation of the Matabeleland Tuskers team

Team Facts and Major Achievements

There are 5 teams currently competing in the Zimbabwe Regional Championships: the Southern Rocks, the Mashonaland Eagles, the Mid West Rhinos, the Mountaineers and the Matabeleland Tuskers.

  • The Matabeleland Tuskers played their first first-class match in 2009-10 against the Mid West Rhinos. The venue was the Kwekwe Sports Club stadium.
  • The team’s home arena is the Queens Sports Club. It is located in the city of Bulawayo and can accommodate up to 13,000 spectators.
  • Team captain for List A and Twenty20 matches is Ainsley Ndlovu, team captain for First Class matches is John Nyumbu.
  • To date, the Matabeleland Tuskers have won four Logan Cup titles, one Pro50 Championship and one Domestic Twenty20 title.
  • This team once became the silver medalist of the Logan Cup (2015 – 2016) and three times – in the Pro50 Championship (2012 – 2013, 2014 – 2015, 2018 – 2019).
Championship name Number of titles Years in which titles were won
Logan Cup 4 2010-2011, 2011 – 2012, 2012 – 2013
Pro50 Championship 1 2016 – 2017
Domestic Twenty20 1 2018 – 2019

Team Facts and Major Achievements

Matabeleland Tuskers team line-up

At the moment, the following players enter the field as part of the team:

  • In the position of the batsman: Brian Chari, Sikandar Raza, Craig Ervine, Bright Phiri, Charles Kunje, Nkosana Mpofu.
  • All-rounder: Milton Shumba, Sean Williams, Thamsanqa Keith Nunu.
  • As wicket-keepers: Ryan Murray, Cunningham Ncube, Shoun Handirisi, Taffy Mupariwa.
  • Spin Bowlers: John Nyumbu, Ainsley Ndlovu.
  • In the position of Pace Bowlers: Luke Jongwe, Chris Mpofu, Steve Chimhamhiwa, Ernest Masuku, Sheunopa Musekwa, Thabo Mboyi.
Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form