Leinster Lightning

Team Country: Ireland
Team City: Malahide, Fingal, County Dublin
Team Administrator: Cricket Leinster
Founded (Year): 2013
Home Ground: Malahide Cricket Club Ground, Malahide
Coach: Nigel Jones
Captain: George Dockrell
Forms of Cricket: First-Class Limited Overs Twenty20
Leinster Lightning

Leinster Lightning: competitions

Leinster Lightning: First-Class Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Inter-Provincial Championship Inter-Provincial Championship 6 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2019

Leinster Lightning: Limited Overs Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Inter-Provincial Cup Inter-Provincial Cup 8 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2019, 2020, 2021

Leinster Lightning: Twenty20 Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Inter-Provincial Trophy Inter-Provincial Trophy 6 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2020

Leinster Lightning: Ireland cricket club

Published: Reading time: ~ 4 min. Comments: 0
Leinster Lightning

The Leinster Lightning cricket team made their domestic debut in 2013. Today the club is a 6-time IP Championship champion. It won the IP Cup 8 times and became the champion at the IP Trophy 6 times. The team represents the province of the same name, Leinster, with a population of 2.5 million. The team is led by the Leinster Cricket Union. The Malahide Cricket Club Ground (The Village), with a capacity of 11,500 people, is considered the home place for games. The club’s most famous players are Kevin O’Brien, George Dockrell and Andrew Balbirnie. Read on for a quick overview of the popular Leinster Lightning team.

Leinster Lightning – Inter-Provincial Championship

The whole story began in 2013. Cricket Ireland or the Irish Cricket Union organized the Inter-Provincial Series at that time. The IPS includes three domestic tournaments: the IP Championship, the IP Cup and the IP Trophy. The professional cricket club Leinster Lightning competed at each of these championships.

The Irish Cricket Union is the sports organization responsible for the development of cricket in the country. The union was formed in 1923. It has been recognized as a full member of the International Cricket Council since 2017. The ICU includes five provincial unions, one of which is the Leinster Cricket Union (LCU).

LCU was formed back in 1890 under the name Leinster Branch of the Irish Cricket Union. It is a local sports union that develops and hosts various cricket competitions in the Irish province of Leinster. The LCU currently has 41 cricket clubs. The most popular command is Leinster Lightning.

Since May 14, 2013, the team has been taking part in the first-class IP Championship (the tournament officially received the status of first-class matches in 2017). This is a competition where one game lasts 3-5 days. Three provincial clubs are participating in the IPC. The Leinster Lightning team won the first draw.

During the entire tournament period, the club from the province of Leinster took 2nd place only once. It happened in 2018. The championship was held at all times in a double round format, where each team plays against each other twice. 2019 saw the last season of the first-class championship. In 2020, the season was canceled due to COVID-19. The Cricket Ireland officially announced in 2021 that it would pay more attention to the one-day match this year, so the tournament was not held either.

Leinster Lightning - Inter-Provincial Championship

Leinster Lightning – other popular tournaments

Since May 6, 2013 the team has been playing at the IP Cup. This is another provincial championship that is played in a limited overs format (one match lasts up to 8 hours, two innings of 50 overs are played). As well as in the first-class tournament, the teams face each other twice at the IP Cup.

In these matches, Leinster Lightning also took 2nd place only once. It happened in the 1st season. In all other years, the team successfully ends the season with a trophy in hand. The last draw took place in May 2021. Here LL also confidently took 1st place. By the way, this is the first season of the IP Cup, in which four teams competed. A young club named the Munster Reds joined the tournament line-up.

Leinster Lightning - other popular tournaments

Also, the LL cricket team has been playing at the Inter-Provincial Trophy since June 21, 2013. This is the third championship in the provincial series of tournaments. The championship is held in a format with a limited number of overs, in the Twenty20 status (one match lasts a maximum of 3 hours, two innings of 20 overs are played).

Three teams have become the winners of these competitions all the time:

  1. the Leinster Lightning – 6 titles (the last one in 2020);
  2. the Northern Knights – 1 championship win in 2019;
  3. the North West Warriors – 1 title in 2014.

The 2021 season will run from June 18 to September 19. It can already be noted that the Leinster Lightning club has lost two games in a row for the first time in the history of the competition. Follow the following IP Trophy results on our website!

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form