Band-e-amir Dragons

Team Country: Afghanistan
Team City: Ghazni, Band-e-Amir Region
Team Administrator: Paragon Group
Founded (Year): 2013
Home Ground: Ghazni Cricket Ground, Ghazni
Coach: Umesh Patwal
Captain: Rashid Khan
Forms of Cricket: Twenty20
Band-e-amir Dragons

Band-e-amir dragons cricket team: competitions

Band-e-amir Dragons: Twenty20 Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years
Shpageeza 1 2017

Band-e-amir dragons cricket team: Current Squad

Usman Ghani Usman Ghani Batsman Waqar Salamkheil Waqar Salamkheil Bowler

Band-e-amir dragons cricket team: a review of the club

Published: Reading time: ~ 5 min. Comments: 0
Band-e-amir dragons cricket team

This club is named after a series of six lakes that are in the Bamyan Province. The Band-e-Amir Dragons became the champion of the Shpageeza Cricket League for the first in 2017 and so far the last time. The team represents six provinces: Ghazni, Bamyan, Panjshir, Parwan, Wardak and Daykundi.

Band-e-Amir Dragons: basic information

The Band-e-Amir Dragons is based at Ghazni Cricket Ground. The stadium is in the administrative center of the province of the same name. It has 19 districts, where more than 1000 settlements with a population of about 1.3 million are represented. It is the fifth most populous province in Afghanistan. Ghazni is home to 270,000 people. Ghazni is known in Afghanistan as a place with little rainfall.

The lakes in the Bamyan province gave the name to the club. More than 495 thousand people live here. The name of the province can be translated as follows: “The Place of Shining Light”. The area has a good territorial location. In ancient times, the Silk Road passed here. Travelers have repeatedly stayed in Bamyan. The province has a well-developed art that combines Greek and Buddhist features.

There are seven districts in Panjshir province. Just over 346 thousand people live here. Many of the indigenous people of this province move to others, especially to Kabul. The administrative center of Panjshir is the city of Bazarak (population – about 25 thousand). Panjshir province gained independence only in 2004. It was previously part of Parwan. The main population of the province is not Afghans but Tajiks. Ahmad Shah Massoud, an Afghan field commander with Tajik roots, is buried here.

Parwan is a very large province. More than 2 million people of different nationalities live here. There are ten districts in Parwan. The administrative center is the city of Charikar with a population of 96 thousand people. The name of the province is attributed to a city that existed in ancient times. There is no exact information about him. Parwan is one of the parts of Afghanistan that has hardly suffered in major military battles of the 21st century. However, news of attacks and explosions came from this province as well.

Wardak province has a different name Maidan because Maidan Shar is considered to be its administrative center. At the same time, just over 14 thousand people live in Maidan Shar. The population of the province is about 567 thousand. Wardak is an insecure territory in Afghanistan. The province was under Taliban control In 2008 and 2009. Until now, the influence of the Taliban on this region is great.

Daykundi province has a population of 723,980. The administrative center is Nili (population – about 18 thousand people). Azra Jafari became the mayor of Nili in 2008. She was the first woman in Afghanistan to receive such a high position.

In addition to participating in the Shpageeza Cricket League, the Band-e-Amir Dragons plays in several other leagues:

  • In the Ahmad Shah Abdali 4-day Tournament. Since 2017, the event has been in first class. In the same season, the club lost its debut match to Mis Ainak Region by 262 early.
  • In the Ghazi Amanullah Khan Regional One Day Tournament.

The Dragons’ head coach is Umesh Patwal, a former Afghanistan national cricket player. After the end of his playing career, he worked in Nepal and India, particularly in the Kochi Tuskers Kerala team.

Band-e-Amir Dragons: basic information

Band-e-Amir Dragons: history of performances in the Shpageeza Cricket League

2017 was the most successful year for the Band-e-Amir Dragons. Despite being defeated in the opening match by the Mis Ainak Knights, the club managed to gain a good move. Subsequently, the designated teams finished first in the group stage standings and met at the start of the playoffs. Again, the opponent won, with a difference of 24 runs. To take revenge, the Dragons had to beat the Kabul Eagles. In the final, the Band-e-Amir finally won. The match took place in a bitter struggle, and the teams were divided by only four runs.

The club played for the first time in the final of the Shpageeza Cricket League in 2014. Then, following the results of the regular season, the team finished first without losing a match. The Dragons defeated Amo Sharks in a bitter struggle in the semifinals but lost in the decisive match to the Mis Ainak Knights (the opponent ran 14 runs more). Once again, one step away from the title, the club stopped in the 2019 season. With three victories and two defeats, the club from the provinces of Ghazni, Bamyan, Panjshir, Parwan, Wardak and Daykundi took first place in the regular season. At the start of the playoffs, the team passed the Mis Ainak Knights with great difficulty. In the final, the opponent managed to take revenge by winning with a difference of four wickets.

The club showed the weakest result in the history of the Shpageeza Cricket League in 2015, finishing fourth. The team won bronze medals in 2016 and 2020.

Band-e-Amir Dragons: history of performances in the Shpageeza Cricket League

The Band-e-Amir Dragons: players

Team composition as of early 2021:

  • Rashid Khan (retained).
  • Asghar Afghan (icon player).
  • Sharafudin Ashraf.
  • Hanid Hassan.
  • Ibrahim Zadran.
  • Hazratullah Zazai.
  • Tarik Stanikzai.
  • Mirwais Ashraf.
  • Waqarullah Salamkhil.
  • Nasir Jamal.
  • Usman Ghani.
  • Mohammad Sardar.
  • Ibrahim Abdurrahimzai.
  • Wafadar Momand
  • Ikram Alikhil.
  • Imran Mir.
  • Parwin Amin.

The Dragons captain is Rashid Khan Arman. In addition to playing in Afghanistan, he also plays in India (for the Sunrisers Hyderabad), Australia (for the Adelaide Strikers) and Pakistan (for the Lahore Qalandars). Arman is the vice-captain of the Afghanistan national cricket team. He became the youngest player to lead the ICC Player Rankings for bowlers in ODIs in 2018.

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form