KwaZulu-Natal cricket team

Team Country: South Africa
Team City: KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Founded (Year): 1889
Home Ground: Kingsmead, Durban
Forms of Cricket: First-Class Limited Overs Twenty20
KwaZulu-Natal cricket team

KwaZulu-Natal cricket team: competitions

KwaZulu-Natal cricket team: First-Class Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years 4-Day Domestic Series 4-Day Domestic Series 0

KwaZulu-Natal cricket team: Limited Overs Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Momentum One Day Cup Momentum One Day Cup 21 1910–11, 1912–13, 1933–34, 1936–37, 1946–47, 1947–48, 1951–52, 1954–55, 1959–60, 1960–61, 1962–63, 1963–64, 1966–67, 1967–68, 1973–74, 1975–76, 1976–77, 1980–81, 1994–95, 1996–97, 2001–02
CSA 3-Day Cup 0
CSA One-Day Cup 1 2006–07
Nissan Shield 3 1974–75, 1976–77, 1987–88

KwaZulu-Natal cricket team: Twenty20 Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years
Africa T20 Cup 0

KwaZulu-Natal cricket team: Current Squad

Andile Phehlukwayo Andile Phehlukwayo All-rounder

KwaZulu-Natal cricket team: professional club from South Africa

Published: Reading time: ~ 4 min. Comments: 0
KwaZulu-Natal cricket team

Cricket fans all over the world know that the Republic of South Africa has some of the brightest teams in this sport. One of them is KwaZulu-Natal cricket team. As it is not difficult to guess, the team represents the province of the same name in some domestic tournaments of South Africa. The team is based at the Kingsmead Stadium in Durban.

The team’s logo depicts an African shield, a spear and other attributes. With the help of such symbols, KwaZulu-Natal cricket team identifies itself against the background of other South African cricket clubs.

KwaZulu-Natal cricket team: some important moments from the history of the team

At the time of its creation, the team was not called as we know it today: then, it was simply Natal. Under this name, the club played first-class cricket in South Africa from December 1889 to April 1998, when its name acquired the familiar form – KwaZulu-Natal.

By the way, it is unique in the history of KwaZulu-Natal that this team is the only one that has not teamed up with any other team to participate in the SuperSport Series. However, they still had to create a new franchise: in 2003, to participate in the largest cricket championships in South Africa, they developed the brand “Dolphins”, under which they still perform.

KwaZulu-Natal cricket team: some important moments from the history of the team

KwaZulu-Natal cricket team: home ground

Kingsmead Cricket Ground – the ground that KwaZulu-Natal cricket team use as a home ground. It is located in the city of Durban, the capacity of the stadium is about 25,000 spectators. The team has been based on it from 1923 to the present. The first test match at the international level took place here on January 18, 1923, between the national teams of South Africa and England. The game ended in a draw.

The arena is one of the best in South Africa for hosting cricket matches. In October 2019, Hollywoodbets became a sponsor of this venue, so at least until August 2024, the full name of the arena sounds like Hollywoodbets Kingsmead Stadium.

KwaZulu-Natal cricket team: a review of the site and pages in social networks

We tried to find the official website of KwaZulu-Natal cricket team, but search engines persistently gave us the site of their Dolphins franchise. In principle, there is no special difference since the players are the same, and the club has not merged with anyone. Therefore, some information about KwaZulu-Natal cricket team can be obtained on the website of “dolphins”. There you can also buy tickets for the team’s performances, buy branded products, and so on.

But we found the official KwaZulu-Natal cricket team Facebook page. This page has more than 2.3 thousand subscribers, while the page has not been updated since April 2018. Also, in the description of the page, there is a link to the official website of “dolphins”. From this, we can conclude that the information team is completely focused on the updated franchise.

KwaZulu-Natal: current team composition and achievements

KwaZulu-Natal: current team composition and achievements

Athletes are the key to the success of any sports team, including in cricket. Managers and coaches of teams always try to be the first to notice the most talented players and sign them, as well as help professional athletes improve.

In 2021, the management of the KwaZulu-Natal cricket team approved the following composition:

  • Batsmen: Marques Ackerman, Sarel Erwee, Thamsanqa Khumalo, Keegan Petersen, Khaya Zondo, David Miller.
  • Bowlers: Ottneil Baartman, Eathan Bosch, Daryn Dupavillon, Kerwin Mungroo, Lifa Ntanzi, Thando Ntini, Keshav Maharaj.
  • All-rounders: Bryce Parsons, Jason Smith, Prenelan Subrayen, Andile Phehlukwayo.
  • Wicket-keepers: Ruan de Swardt, Grant Roelofsen.

The KwaZulu-Natal cricket team is more than a hundred years old. That is why it is not surprising that they have become one of the most titled teams in the Republic of South Africa over their long history. See for yourself by reading the list of achievements of the club:

  • Currie Cup (21) – 1910-11, 1912-13, 1933-34, 1936-37, 1946-47, 1947-48, 1951-52, 1954-55, 1959-60, 1960-61, 1962-63, 1963-64, 1966-67, 1967-68, 1973-74, 1975-76, 1976-77, 1980-81, 1994-95, 1996-97, 2001-02; General (3) – 1921-22, 1937-38, 1965-66.
  • Standard Bank Cup (4) – 1983-84, 1996-97, 2000-01, 2001-02.
  • South African Airways Provincial One-Day Challenge (1) – 2006–07.
  • Gillette Cup/Nissan Shield (3) – 1974–75, 1976–77, 1987–88.

Of course, the team will certainly have many new achievements ahead. We hope that KwaZulu-Natal cricket team will continue to please us with a beautiful game.

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form