Hobart Hurricanes

Nickname: Hurricanes
Team Country: Australia
Team City: Bellerive, Tasmania
Team Administrator: Cricket Tasmania
Founded (Year): 2011
Home Ground: Bellerive Oval
Home Ground: University of Tasmania Stadium
Coach: Adam Griffith
Captain: Matthew Wade
Forms of Cricket: Twenty20
Hobart Hurricanes

Hobart Hurricanes: Twenty20 Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Big Bash League Big Bash League 0

Hobart Hurricanes: Australian professional men's T20 franchise

Published: Reading time: ~ 4 min. Comments: 0
Hobart hurricanes

Hobart Hurricanes is a professional men’s cricket team from Tasmania (Australia), which is a regular participant in the BBL. The home venue is Blundstone Arena. The color of the form is purple.

Hobart Hurricanes: history

The team started its debut season with a victory and showed good results, finishing third. Subsequently, Hobart repeatedly fell back to the second half of the table but never finished last.

One of the most successful in the history of Hobart was the 2013-2014 season, when they not only made it to the semifinals, but also almost won the main trophy, losing in the decisive match to the Perth Scorchers. After the end of the tournament, two representatives of Hobart were awarded special awards at once: Ben Dunk, who made 395 runs, was recognized as the best player, and Jonathan Wells was recognized as the opening of the draw.

They managed to repeat this achievement only in the framework of the seventh draw (the title was taken by the Adelaide Strikers, who showed a more convincing game in the final). In 2018, Hobart became one of the six teams that received an invitation to the first Abu Dhabi T20 Trophy.

Hobart hurricanes was founded in 2011
Hobart hurricanes are one of the youngest teams in Big Bash League

Hobart Hurricanes: players

Currently, the captain of the Hobart Hurricanes is Matthew Wade, who has managed to mark himself not only in T20 competitions, but also in ODI and test ones. In addition, the following sportsmen played for Hobart at various times:

  1. D’Arcy Short, one of the team’s key players, on whose form the final result largely depends. In the 2017-2018 season, he took second place in the list of the most effective batsmen;
  2. Daniel Christian, one of the best bowlers in the country and the fourth Australian to score a hat-trick in an ODI.

Hobart is willing to invite foreign players, primarily the British. In particular, batsman and wicketkeeper Ben Duckett, bowler Tim Bresnan, as well as one of the best T20I batsmen, Dawid Malan, played for the team.

The current squad includes South African batsman David Miller, who joined the team in 2019, all-rounder James Faulkner, as well as one of the old-timers – George Bailey, the former captain of the Australian national team. In addition, many consider the young Nepalese Sandeep Lamichhane, who is one of the most gifted bowlers of his generation, to be a potential star of Hobart.

Hobart hurricanes represents BBL
Hobart hurricanes compete in Australia’s domestic T20 cricket competition known as the Big Bash League

Hobart Hurricanes: record holders

Over the years of active performances in the Hobart Hurricanes league, they showed the best results in matches against the Melbourne Renegades (an average of 8/223, the optimal indicators fell on the 2016-2017 season).

  • The maximum number of runs on account of D’Arcy Short (1794);
  • Matthew Wade and D’Arcy Short are considered the best pair of batsmen;
  • Cameron Boyce took the most wickets (43).

In addition, Hobart has several significant team records, including the fourth highest number of runs in the league.

Hobart Hurricanes: statistics

Hobart Hurricanes have never won the BBL, but they have reached the final twice, losing to more successful competitors.

League position Final position Season (years)
2 Reached the semifinals 2011-2012
6 Did not make it to the semifinals 2012-2013
4 Reached the final 2013-2014
5 Did not make it to the semifinals 2014-2015
7 Did not make it to the semifinals 2015-2016
7 Did not make it to the semifinals 2016-2017
4 Reached the final 2017-2018
1 Reached the semifinals 2018-2019
4 Eliminated at the Eliminator stage 2019-2020
6 Did not make it to the semifinals 2020-2021

Hobart Hurricanes is one of the most interesting in Australian cricket. Follow the News of the team, and also use Tips for matches with its participation.

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Comments on Article

No Comments for this post

Leave Your Comment

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form