Khulna Tigers

Nickname: Ready To Roar
Ex Nickname: Khulna Royal Bengals, Khulna Titans
Team Country: Bangladesh
Team City: Khulna, Khulna Division
Team Administrator: MindTree Limited
Founded (Year): 2012
Home Ground: Sheikh Abu Naser Stadium (Bir Shrestha Shahid Flight Lieutenant Motiur Rahman Stadium)
Coach: Lance Klusener
Captain: Mushfiqur Rahim
Forms of Cricket: Twenty20
Khulna Tigers

Khulna Tigers

Khulna Tigers: Twenty20 Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Bangladesh Premier League Bangladesh Premier League 0

Khulna Tigers Ready To Roar: Bangladesh T20 domestic cricket team

Published: Reading time: ~ 4 min. Comments: 0
Khulna Tigers Ready To Roar

The Khulna Tigers, also known informally as Ready To Roar, is one of the franchise teams in the Bangladesh Cricket Premier League. It was founded in 2016, replacing the regular members of the Khulna Royal Bengals, who have played in the league since its inception. The color of the form is blue.

Khulna Tigers (Ready To Roar)
Khulna Tigers (Ready To Roar) – franchise Twenty20 cricket

Khulna Tigers Ready To Roar: history

The first season was quite successful for the Khulna Tigers predecessor team. By signing Shivnarine Chanderpole, Duane Smith and Herschell Gibbs and offering Shakib Al Hasan the position of captain, the management did not fail: the team made almost no mistakes at the group level. They confidently made it to the playoff stage, finishing second, letting the Dakkans go ahead.

Unfortunately, next year the Khulna failed to improve its performance and to repeat the achievements of the previous one. Even the presence of such players as Shahriyar Nafis, Riki Wessels and Shapoor Zadran did not have a decisive influence on the team’s results, which lost two-thirds of the matches, finishing in the last line of the standings.

After a long break due to financial and organizational problems, the club returned to the league completely renewed. Its new owner and sponsor was the Gemcon Sports, which has gone to great lengths to strengthen the roster. Among others, a number of local cricketers were invited (Mahmudullah, Shafiul Islam, Ariful Hake, Mosharraf Hossain) and acclaimed stars Andre Fletcher, Nicholas Puran and Lendl Simmons. The Khulna, having made way to the playoffs without much effort, was unable to impose a serious fight between the Dhaka Dynamites and the Rajshahi Kings. However, according to some indicators, it became the leader: in particular, Junaid Khan became the best wicket-taker, and excellent performance allowed Khulna’s attack to take first place in the list of the most effective rally bowlers.

MindTree Limited and Premier Bank Limited was named as the sponsor of the team and the team was renamed to Khulna Tigers from Khulna Titans
MindTree Limited and Premier Bank Limited was named as the sponsor of the team and the team was renamed to Khulna Tigers from Khulna Titans

Starting preparations for the 2017 season by re-signing Mahmudullah Riyadh, the Khulna has brought in several other players, including Chadwick Walton, Carlos Brathwaite, Chris Lynn and Kyle Abbott. A surprise for many was the arrival of eight local cricketers in the draft (although only two foreigners were accepted into the team in parallel), including Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Saif Hassan and Imran Ali. Having confidently passed the group stage, the team reached the playoffs but could not oppose the Rangpur Riders, ending the year in 4th place.

Despite a major team update, the following season was one of the least successful in the club’s history. On the one hand, the Khulna managed to retain key players and signed the wicket-keepers Jahurul Islam, Brandon Taylor, and others. On the other hand, all this does not help the team to reach the playoffs. The year of the Khulna ends in the last place.

The BPL was reformed again on the eve of the 2019-2020 season. Premier Bank Limited becomes the team’s new sponsor, and the franchise itself changes its name from the Khulna Titans to the Khulna Tigers. Despite temporary difficulties, the management managed to sign the famous Australian Shane Watson and the South African Imran Tahir. In contrast to the previous year, the team showed its maximum, reaching the competition’s final and finishing in second place.

Mushfiqur Rahim - Khulna Tigers captain
Mushfiqur Rahim – Khulna Tigers captain

Khulna Tigers Ready To Roar: players

James Foster currently coaches the Khulna Tigers Ready To Roar. Team captainMushfiqur Rahim, brother-in-law of Mahmudullah. Also, it is worth highlighting in the current team such players as:

  1. Batsmen Rilee Rossouw (682 wounds) and Nazmul Hossain Shanto (653 wounds);
  2. Bowlers Shafiul Islam and Robert Frielink (39 and 20 wickets, respectively).

Khulna Tigers Ready To Roar: statistics

The Khulna Tigers Ready To Roar has never won a BPL. After reaching the final of the 2019-2020 season, they lost to the Rajshahi Royals.

Year Bangladesh Premier League
2012 Semi-finals
2013 League stage
2016 Playoffs
2017 Playoffs
2019 League stage
2019-20 Runners-up
Zohur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium
The Titans use Zohur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium for home games

Khulna Tigers Ready To Roar: record holders

Despite the regular roster renewal, the Khulna Tigers Ready To Roar managed to retain several veterans who set a number of records:

  • The best batsman of the team – Mahmudulla (927 runs in the seasons 2016-2019);
  • Most productive batsmen bunch – Mehidy Hasan Miraz and Mushfiqur Rahim (168 runs against the Cumilla Warriors on January 10, 2020);
  • The maximum number of wickets was scored by Shafiul Islam (39).

Khulna Tigers  is one of the most interesting in Bangladesh cricket. Follow the News of the team, and also use Tips for matches with its participation.

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form