Windward Islands cricket team

Team Country: West Indies
Team City: Kingstown, St. Vincent
Team Administrator: Windward Islands Cricket Board of Control
Founded (Year): 1980
Home Ground: Arnos Vale Stadium
Home Ground: Queen's Park, Grenada
Coach: Andrew Richardson
Captain: Sunil Ambris
Forms of Cricket: First-Class Limited Overs Twenty20
Windward Islands cricket team

Windward Islands cricket team: competitions

Windward Islands cricket team: First-Class Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Regional Four Day Competition Regional Four Day Competition 0

Windward Islands cricket team: Limited Overs Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Super50 Cup Super50 Cup 4 1988–89, 2000–01, 2012–13, 2017–18

Windward Islands cricket team: Twenty20 Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years
Caribbean Twenty20 0

Windward Islands cricket team: club from West India

Published: Reading time: ~ 4 min. Comments: 0
Windward Islands cricket team

The Windward Islands cricket team (WICT) is a professional cricket team representing the interests of the regional union of the Windward Islands Cricket Board of Control member countries. The franchise is also known as the Windward Islands Volcanoes and is tied to the West Indies Professional Cricket League (WIPCL).

Windward Islands cricket team: structure

The WICT includes representatives of the former British Windward Islands, some of which include Dominica (representing part of the Leeward Islands, it was part of the colony from 1940 until independence, but its federation is legally part of the Windward Islands system), Saint Lucia, Grenada and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines. The exceptions are Barbados and Trinidad and Tobago, whose teams act independently.

The Windward Islands team is present at all inter-regional competitions between representatives of the Caribbean – Regional 4-Day Competition (first class) and the Regional Super50 commercial ODI tournament. The highest level of local competitions allows the best players to develop, and the most productive have a real chance to get into the West Indies national team.

Windward Islands cricket team: structure

Windward Islands cricket team: history

The Windward Islands first class debut match was played in the 1959/60 season against the touring England squad. It is difficult to talk about a successful start for the team after ten defeats in a row, but the failures did not end there. The WICT’s mediocre level of play continued with the Combined Islands. However, the team made a serious decision to try to act as an independent unit in the 1981/82 season.

The Windwards Islands team was represented twice in the regional Red Stripe Bowl tournament. This dealership was established by the Northern Windward Islands club in the 2001/02 season, while this role went to the Southern Windward Islands in the following 2002/03 season.

Windward Islands cricket team achievements

The Windward Islands team is considered one of the most unsuccessful local West Indies league representatives in the first-class format.

Historically, the club took part in 37 Regional CL 4-Day (ex-Shell Shield) draws without winning a single title, which is considered the worst in the region.

The best achievement for the club was four trophies in the Super50 Cup.

Winning the Regional 4-Day Competition is currently a priority for the franchise’s legacy, so fans should support their favorites. The joy of success will be twice as pleasant only in this case.

Windward Islands cricket team achievements

Windward Islands cricket team: home courts

Taking into account the fact that the Windward Islands is the combined squad of the region, the club uses several stadiums accountable to it for official meetings:

  • Arnos Vale Stadium (Kingstown, Saint Vincent): 29/103 matches.
  • Queen’s Park (Grenada): 25 matches.
  • Mindoo Philip Park (Saint Lucia): 21 matches.
  • Windsor Park (Dominica): 16 matches.
  • Daren Sammy Cricket Ground (Gros Islet, Saint Lucia): 12 matches.

Philip Park has not been used for first-class matches since 2001. He was successfully replaced by Daren Sammy / Beausejour Stadium, which has hosted four meetings over the past three years.

Windward Islands cricket team: line-up

In the offseason of 2021, the Windward Islands line-up looks like this:

Name Birth date Batting style Bowling style Notes
Devon Smith 21 October 1981 (age 39) Left-handed Right-arm off spin
Desron Maloney 5 May 1991 (age 30) Right-handed
Kirk Edwards 3 November 1984 (age 36) Left-handed Right-arm off spin List A Captain
Kavem Hodge 21 February 1993 (age 28) Right-handed Left-arm orthodox
Keron Cottoy 14 November 1989 (age 31) Left-handed Right-arm leg spin
Alick Athanaze 7 December 1998 (age 22) Left-handed Right-arm off spin
Bhaskar Yadram 18 September 1999 (age 21) Left-handed Right-arm medium
Ryan John 25 September 1997 (age 23) Right-handed Right-arm medium-fast
Emmanuel Stewart 23 August 1999 (age 21) Right-handed
Andre Fletcher 28 November 1987 (age 33) Right-handed
Sunil Ambris 23 March 1993 (age 28) Right-handed First-class Captain
Spin Bowlers
Shane Shillingford 22 February 1983 (age 38) Right-handed Right-arm off spin
Larry Edwards 16 February 1995 (age 26) Left-handed Left-arm orthodox
Kenneth Dember Right-arm off spin
Pace Bowlers
Shermon Lewis 21 October 1995 (age 25) Right-handed Right-arm fast
Preston McSween 15 August 1995 (age 25) Right-handed Left-arm medium-fast
Josh Thomas Right-arm medium
Ray Jordan 21 October 1994 (age 26) Right-handed Right-arm fast-medium

* international players are in bold.

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form