Perth Scorchers

Team Country: Australia
Team City: Perth, Western Australia
Team Administrator: Western Australian Cricket Association (WACA)
Founded (Year): 2011
Home Ground: WACA Ground
Home Ground: Optus Stadium (Perth Stadium)
Coach: Adam Voges
Captain: Ashton Turner
Forms of Cricket: Twenty20
Perth Scorchers

Perth Scorchers: competitions

Perth Scorchers: Twenty20 Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Big Bash League Big Bash League 4 2013-14, 2014-15, 2016-17, 2021-22

Perth Scorchers: Current Squad

Ashton Agar Ashton Agar Bowler Colin Munro Colin Munro Batsman

Perth Scorchers: Australian professional men's T20 franchise

Published: Reading time: ~ 4 min. Comments: 0
Perth Scorchers - australian cricket team

The Perth Scorchers are the most successful team in the history of the BBL, having triumphed in the league three times. Until 2018, its home venue was the WACA Ground, later the Perth Stadium with the capacity of 60 thousand people. The color of the players’ uniforms is orange-black.

Perth Scorchers: history

The first coach of Perth was appointed Mickey Arthur, who later took the position of head coach of the Australia national cricket team (currently, the Perthians are coached by Adam Voges). The core of the team was made up of representatives of Western Australia, who were joined by several promising players. Having started the 2011-2012 season rather mediocre, in the end, they reached the final, but they could not take the main trophy. The subsequent performance of the team in the T20 Champions League was not the best.

A year later, Perth again started in the league with a series of defeats. The coaching staff tried to compensate for the injuries of key players by inviting new stars (in particular, it was then that the South African Alfonso Thomas and the future coach of the team Adam Voges joined the ranks of the Perth players), but this was not enough to win the league.

The third season in the BBL finally brought Perth the coveted trophy: they beat the Hobart Hurricanes in the league final, and a year later, they celebrated the triumph again, not much ahead of the Sydney Sixers in the final match.

Perth stadium
Perth Stadium – homeground Perth Scorchers in Big Bash League

Despite the fact that the Perthians failed to take the main prize of the league for the third time in a row, they set a number of records in the next two seasons, including winning a match with ten wickets (December 30, 2015). In 2016, the fan-favorite Brad Hogg left the team, but this did not prevent Perth from winning the BBL again (later, this achievement will be repeated by the Sydney Sixers). And although after the leaving of several main players, there was a natural decline in the team’s performances, some time later it returned to its previous positions, making it to the league finals, where it lost to the same Sydney Sixers.

It should be noted that Perth became the first team in the league to take two titles in a row.

Perth Scorchers: players

The current captain of the Perth Scorchers is Mitchell Marsh. The recognized stars of the team include:

  1. Mitchell Marsh, an all-rounder who boasts more than impressive statistics – 2000 runs in 93 games plus about 50 wickets taken;
  2. Jason Roy, an English batsman who is famous for his aggressive style of play. On his account, more than 5.5 thousand runs in T20 matches;
  3. Andrew Tye, one of the most famous fast bowlers of the country, who managed to shine in the Indian Premier League;
  4. Colin Munro, a New Zealand veteran who took part in more than 250 T20 matches and made over 6.5 thousand runs.
Mitchell Marsh - current Perth Scorchers captain
Mitchell Marsh – current Perth Scorchers captain

Perth Scorchers: statistics

The Perth Scorchers share the top spot with the Sydney Sixers in terms of the number of BBL trophies won (each team has three wins in a season). In addition, Perth has reached the competition’s final three times but twice lost to the same Sydneysiders and once to the Brisbane Heat.

League position Final position Season (years)
1 Reached the final 2011-2012
2 Reached the final 2012-2013
3 Victory 2013-2014
2 Victory 2014-2015
3 Reached the semifinals 2015-2016
1 Victory 2016-2017
1 Reached the semifinals 2017-2018
8 Did not make it to the semifinals 2018-2019
6 Did not make it to the semifinals 2019-2020
2 Reached the final 2020-2021

Perth Scorchers: record holders

Perth Scorchers often invite foreign stars, but the main bet is still made on local natives. In particular, the Marsh brothers (Shaun and Mitchell), the sons of the Australian ex-cricketer, coach and selector Geoff Marsh, managed to prove themselves in the best possible way in the games for the team:

  • The maximum number of runs on account of Shaun Marsh is 1435;
  • Shaun Marsh and Michael Klinger are recognized as the best pair of batsmen;
  • Andrew Tye took the most wickets (70).

Perth Scorchers is one of the most interesting in Australian cricket. Follow the News of the team, and also use Tips for matches with its participation.

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form