Chandigarh cricket team

Team Country: India
Team City: Chandigarh
Team Administrator: Union Territory Cricket Association
Founded (Year): 2019
Home Ground: Sector 16 Stadium, Chandigarh
Coach: Rajeev Nayyar
Captain: Manan Vohra
Forms of Cricket: First-Class
Chandigarh cricket team

Chandigarh cricket team: Indian young cricket team

Published: Reading time: ~ 4 min. Comments: 0
Chandigarh cricket team

The Indian cricket team Chandigarh was formed quite recently – in 2019. The club represents one of the 8 union territories of India under the same name Chandigarh with a population of 1 million people. The team takes part in 3 professional national championships: the Ranji Trophy, the Vijay Hazare Trophy and the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. He plays home matches at the Sector 16 stadium with a capacity of 30,000. Since the team was formed quite recently, the club has not yet taken any great achievements. Check out a short overview of the Chandigarh cricket team.

Chandigarh cricket team – Association formation

Chandigarh Union Territory is world-renowned for its architecture and urban design. According to official statistics, this Indian place has the highest per capita income in the country. In addition, the Union territory has one of the highest human development indices. The city of Chandigarh was selected as the best city in terms of the happiness index in 2015.

Here, in 2019, through a partial merger of 2 other cricket teams – the Punjab and the Himachal Pradesh, a new professional team was formed – the Chandigarh cricket team.

The local Union Territory Cricket Association is responsible for the club. The sports organization is a full member of the Board of Control for Cricket in India. Thanks to this, the cricket club has the right to participate in the country’s first-class cricket championship – the Ranji Trophy.

The Ranji Trophy is a professional Indian tournament that first appeared in 1934. The most titled is the Mumbai cricket team is the most titled for 87 years. It has 41 championship victories. The last final of the championship (2020) ended in a draw between the Saurashtra cricket team and the Bengal cricket team.

In their only season at the Ranji Trophy so far, the players from Chandigarh settled into the plate group – a group of 10 young clubs. According to the championship results, the 1st place from the plates goes to the elite group C. Unfortunately, the local team did not succeed in reaching the 1st place. Chandigarh cricket team with 43 points took only 3rd place.

Chandigarh cricket team - Association formation

Chandigarh cricket team – results from other tournaments

In addition to the first-class tournament, the team began to participate in competitions of another format – cricket, with a limited number of overs. These are one-day matches that last up to a maximum of 8 hours and have a service limit (40-60 overs per game). The Vijay Hazare Trophy Championship has been held in India since 1993. For the first nine years, the competition was called the Ranji One Day Trophy. The most titled team of this tournament is the Tamil Nadu (5 times).

The Chandigarh club was in the plate group for their debut season. Here the team took 2nd place out of 10 teams. In the last season (2020-2021), due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the championship regulations changed slightly. The Chandigarh club ended up in Group E, in which they took 2nd place out of 6 at the end of the season.

The cricket team is participating in another limited overs domestic championship, the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. The rules are slightly different. There are two innings of 20 overs played in this tournament. In total, the match lasts about 3 hours. The professional tournament was formed in 2006. The teams with the most championship titles (2) are Baroda, Gujarat, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu.

Chandigarh cricket team - results from other tournaments

The Chandigarh cricket team was in group C in its 1st season. The team finished the tournament in 3rd place out of 8 professional teams. The club was transferred to the plate group in the final season 2020-2021. There, according to the results of the championship, the Chandigarh team took 2nd place out of 8.

In the last season, the young team included such cricketers as:

  • Manan Vohra (club captain);
  • Bipul Sharma;
  • Raman Bishnoi;
  • Mandeep Singh;
  • Amrit Lubana.

Of course, there is no point in evaluating the team now. The team spent only two full playing seasons. We wish the players great luck and growing professionalism.

By the way, did you know that in February 2020, the match between the Chandigarh cricket team and the Manipur cricket team became the 60,000th first-class game?

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form