Cape Town Blitz

Team Country: South Africa
Team City: Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Founded (Year): 2018
Home Ground: Newlands, Cape Town
Coach: Ashwell Prince
Captain: Quinton de Kock
Forms of Cricket: Twenty20
Cape Town Blitz

Cape Town Blitz: competitions

Cape Town Blitz: Twenty20 Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years
CSA T20 Challenge
Mzansi Super League Mzansi Super League 0

Cape Town Blitz: Current Squad

Quinton de Kock Quinton de Kock Wicket-Keeper

Cape Town Blitz: professional club from South Africa

Published: Reading time: ~ 4 min. Comments: 0
cape town blitz

Cape Town Blitz is one of the six franchise teams played in the Mzansi Super League Twenty20. It was established in 2018 and since then had not missed a draw, except for 2020, when the tournament was postponed due to the alarming rate of the spread of the pandemic COVID-19.

Cape Town Blitz represents Cape town (South Africa) and can boast of having their own platform – Newlands Cricket Ground with a capacity of 25,000 spectators, which also accepts test matches, ODI and T20I competition. The colors of the form are blue and red.

The 2018 draft was a serious challenge for the management of the newly organized team. On the one hand, it was necessary to maintain a balance between local and visiting players. On the other – to choose a competitive squad. Cape Town successfully coped with this task by signing South Africans Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dale Steyn and Janneman Malan. In addition, Pakistanis Mohammad Nawaz, Asif Ali and Hussain Talat joined the ranks of the team.

Cape Town Blitz: history

Even though the Cape Town Blitz squad seemed, at first glance, not the most stellar and not the strongest in the league, it was they who took first place in the standings, having won a total of six victories in ten matches. The club’s players were recognized as the best six times:

  • Mohammad Nawaz – in the match against Tshwane Spartans;
  • Asif Ali – in the match against Durban Heat;
  • Janneman Malan – in the match against Nelson Mandela Bay Giants;
  • Quinton de Kock – in matches against Jozi Stars, Tshwane Spartans and Paarl Rocks.

According to the league’s rules, reaching first place automatically earned Cape Town Blitz a ticket to the final. However, they failed to put a spectacular point in the draw: in the final match on December 16, 2018, Cape Town lost to Jozi Stars with a difference of eight wickets.

Unfortunately, the success of the first season of Cape Town Blitz could not be repeated. This was partly due to personnel changes: for example, Quinton de Kock replaced Farhaan Behardien as captain, who left the team, which also lost several key players. The arrival of Liam Livingstone, Wahab Riaz and Sisanda Magala did not help correct the situation: Cape Town was stormy, so it got only four victories in ten matches, ending the season on the penultimate line.

And yet, even though the team failed to make it to the playoffs and compete for the trophy again, 2019 cannot be called a definite failure. Cape Town players were recognized as the best four times:

  • Janneman Malan – in the match against Jozi Stars (on the road);
  • Liam Livingstone – in the match against Jozi Stars (home);
  • Dale Steyn – in matches against Durban Heat and Tshwane Spartans.

Currently, the Cape Town team is led by former South African national team captain Ashwell Prince.

Year Number of Matches Wins Losses Points
2018 10 6 3 30
2019 10 4 5 19

Cape Town Blitz: the best players

Cape Town Blitz representatives have been included in the lists of the best batsmen and bowlers of the Mzansi Super League Twenty20 three times. So, in particular:

  • In 2018, Quinton de Kock, who made 412 runs, took second place in the list of the most effective batsmen of the tournament;
  • A year later, a colleague’s achievement was repeated by Janneman Malan, and Dale Steyn became the third in the list of the best bowlers in the league with a score of 15 wickets.

Cape Town Blitz: the best players

Cape Town Blitz: records

The best batsman of Cape Town Blitz is Janneman Malan, who made 663 runs in matches for the team. The second and third places are occupied by Quinton de Kock and Asif Ali (647 and 240 runs, respectively). In addition, the list of team record holders includes:

  • The best pair of batsmen – Quinton de Kock and Janneman Malan, who scored 105 runs for two in a match against Paarl Rocks on December 7, 2018;
  • The best bowlers are Dale Steyn (27 wickets), Anrich Nortje (14 wickets) and Sisanda Magala (11 wickets).
Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form