Amo Sharks

Nickname: Amo Region
Team Country: Afghanistan
Team City: Mazar-i-Sharif, Balkh province, Afghanistan
Team Administrator: Al-Masafi Group
Founded (Year): 2013
Home Ground: Balkh Cricket Stadium, Mazar-i-Sharif
Coach: Gordon Parsons
Captain: Mirwais Ashraf
Forms of Cricket: Twenty20
Amo Sharks

Amo Sharks dragons cricket team: competitions

Amo Sharks: Twenty20 Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years
Shpageeza 0

Amo Sharks cricket team: a review of the club

Published: Reading time: ~ 5 min. Comments: 0
Amo Sharks:

It is one of only two Shpageeza Cricket League clubs to have never won a tournament. It is named after the Amo River, which flows through northern Afghanistan and Central Asia. The team won the most bronze medals. It represents nine provinces Sat once: Balkh, Kunduz, Jowzjan, Faryab, Baghlan, Sar-i-Pul, Samangan, Badakhshan and Takhar.

Amo Sharks: basic information

The club owner is the Al-Masafi Group, which deals with projects and all types of mechanical work in the field of fire fighting. The head coach of Amo Sharks is Gordon Parsons. The English specialist was born in 1959. At one time, he played as a fast bowler. Parsons spent most of his career at the Leicestershire County Cricket Club. He also played for other English teams. Parsons was remembered for moving quickly across the lawn. Gordon had a younger brother, Hansie Cronje, who also played cricket at a higher level. He died in a plane crash in 2004.

Perhaps the most famous province represented by Amo Sharks is Balkh. It is home to more than 1.24 million people, who are concentrated in 15 districts. The main city of the region is Mazar-i-Sharif. This province is a kind of gateway for Afghanistan to Central Asia. Kunduz province is located on the border next to Tajikistan. It is home to 953,800 people from different ethnic groups. In the middle of the 20th century, Kunduz was a major economic center of Afghanistan, but its position changed after the Afghan war (1979-1989).

Jowzjan province has a population of 512,100. The population of this region is mainly engaged in agriculture. The administrative center of the province is Sheberghan. Faryab province borders with Turkmenistan. It is home to 948,000 people. The administrative center of the province is Maymana. Baghlan province is located in the north of the country and has a population of 910,700. The administrative center is Puli Khumri. After the next military battles, the city was badly damaged, in particular, temples and churches. Hungary rendered great assistance in their restoration.

Sar-e Pol province was established in 1988 by politician Sayed Nasim Mihanparast. It is surrounded by other provinces of Afghanistan and is divided into seven districts. It is home to 532,000 people. The administrative center is the city of the same name Sar-e Pol. Samangan province has the administrative center of the same name. It is home to 368,800 people. This province has been considered safe for life in the last ten years, although armed conflicts have erupted in Samangan. Badakhshan province is the most northeastern corner of the country. It shares borders with Tajikistan and Pakistan. It is home to 904,700 people. The administrative center is the city of Fayzabad. Also, the Amo Sharks represents Takhar province. Here the population is about the same – 933,700. In 2015, the region was hit by the most powerful earthquake in the country’s history – the Mercalli intensity of VIII. As a result, about 30,000 houses were destroyed, several people died, more than 1,700 received various kinds of injuries.

Amo Sharks: basic information

Amo Sharks: home stadium

The Amo Sharks plays home matches at several stadiums at once. The main one, perhaps, is the Balkh Cricket Stadium. It was built with the help of India and the United States Agency for International Development and is located in the city of Mazar-i-Sharif.

The club previously hosted other teams at the Kunduz Cricket Ground.

Amo Sharks: history of performances in the Shpageeza Cricket League

The most successful season for the club is 2016. During the regular season, the Amo Sharks won four wins and one defeat. These results made it possible to score the same number of points with the Kabul Eagles. The teams advanced to the playoffs from the first two places and identified the first finalist. The opponent won with a 17 run lead. The Amo did not take advantage of the second chance to fight for the title. In the next match, the team lost without a chance to Mis Ainak Knights (a difference of 32 runs). Thus, the Amo Sharks finished only in third place in the standings. The club took the same position in 2015.

In the 2014 season, the Amo Sharks was fourth in the standings. In recent years, the club has been one of the weakest in the Shpageeza Cricket League. So, the team lost five out of five matches and finished the championship in last place in 2020.

Amo Sharks: history of performances in the Shpageeza Cricket League

Amo Sharks: players

The line-up of the club at the beginning of 2022:

  • Juma Gul Miakhil (retained).
  • Javed Ahmadi (icon player).
  • Yousuf Zazai.
  • Farhan Zakhail.
  • Farhid Malik.
  • Murad Muradi.
  • Shawkhat Zaman.
  • Yamin Ahmadzai.
  • Zahid Zakhail.
  • Hayatullah Nasiri.
  • Darwish Rasooli.
  • Batin Shah.
  • Fitraullah Khawri.
  • Qasim Oryakhil.
  • Abdul Wasi.
  • Nasratullah Quraishi.
  • Imran Mohammadi.

The captain of the Amo Sharks is Mirwais Ashraf Khan, who was born in 1988 in Kunduz. Since 2009, he has been playing for the Afghan national team. He was named the best cricketer in the Amo Sharks at the Ghazi Amanullah Khan Regional One Day Tournament in the 2019 season.

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form