Warriors cricket team

Team Country: South Africa
Team City: East London, Eastern Cape
Founded (Year): 2003
Home Ground: St George's Park, Port Elizabeth; Buffalo Park, East London
Coach: Robin Peterson
Captain: JJ Smuts
Forms of Cricket: First-Class Limited Overs Twenty20
Warriors cricket team

Warriors cricket team: competitions

Warriors cricket team: First-Class Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years 4-Day Domestic Series 4-Day Domestic Series 0

Warriors cricket team: Limited Overs Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Momentum One Day Cup Momentum One Day Cup 1 2009–10

Warriors cricket team: Twenty20 Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Betway T20 Challenge Betway T20 Challenge 1 2009–10

Warriors cricket team: professional club from South Africa

Published: Reading time: ~ 3 min. Comments: 0
Warriors cricket team

The Warriors are a professional cricket team formed in 2003. It appeared thanks to the partial merger of 2 provincial collectives – Border and Eastern Province. For 18 years, the club won the 4-Day Domestic Series tournament in 2010, the best in the same year in the Momentum One Day Cup, and once again won the CSA Twenty20 Challenge championship in 2018. The Warriors play home games at St. George’s Park Cricket Ground with a capacity of 19,000 people and the Buffalo Park sports field, which has a capacity of 15,000 people. The traditional colors of the club are green and black.

Warriors – Provincial Team Overview

Cricket began to appear in South Africa at the end of the 19th century. In 1889, a local cricket club called the Eastern Province was formed in Port Elizabeth. The team began to participate in the multi-day Currie Cup championship from the first year of its foundation. Saints George’s Park became the home place for games.

Unfortunately, the Eastern Province cricket team did not show great results until the end of the 1980s. Finally, the team managed to win their first championship title in 1989. In total, today club has 5 significant titles today :

  • Currie Cup (3 times) – in 1989, 1992 (individual championship), 1990 (joint victory with Western Province);
  • Momentum One Day Cup (2) – in 1990 and 1992.

At the end of 2003, the South African domestic cricket championship was seriously changed. The main feature was that 11 provincial teams had to form 6 professional clubs. Thus, the Eastern Province players partly joined the Border cricket team. As a result, a new team appeared called Warriors. The Eastern Province itself continued to compete in the provincial championship – CSA Provincial Competitions.

The Border is the second team that created the Warriors. It represents the eponymous South African region of Border (Eastern Cape province). The club appeared in 1898. Of all the clubs, the Border players were the weakest in the country. To date, the team does not have a single champion title.

Since 1988, the Border has played home games at Buffalo Park Stadium. In 2003, the team members created the first-class Warriors club with the Eastern Province cricket team. But the provincial team itself continued to compete in CSA Provincial Competitions.

Warriors - Provincial Team Overview

Warriors – team building

The Warriors Cricket Club was founded in 2003. The united team participates in 3 major South African championships:

  1. the 4-Day Domestic Series;
  2. the Momentum One Day Cup;
  3. the CSA Twenty20 Challenge.

The Warriors meet their rivals in two places: on St. George’s Park and Buffalo Park. The club won its first serious championship in 2010. That year, the Warriors were able to take two championship titles at once: the 4-Day Domestic Series and the Momentum One Day Cup.

Warriors - team building

In addition, the players participated in the international Champions League in 2010, which took place in South Africa. Having got to the group stage in Group A, the team took 2nd place, losing only to the Indian club Chennai Super Kings. After reaching the playoffs, the team beat the Australian players from the West End Redbacks in the semi-finals 175/6 – 145/7. Although it came to the final, the Warriors lost to the same Chennai Super Kings by a score of 8 wickets in the decisive match.

The team won the last championship title in 2018 together withthe Dolphins at the Momentum One Day Cup tournament. In March 2021, it became known that the Warriors club would no longer exist. The format of the domestic championships is completely changed, and instead of the Warriors, the Eastern Province and Border cricket clubs will represent the Eastern Province.

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form