Sylhet Thunder

Nickname: Sylhet Sunrisers
Ex Nickname: Sylhet Sixers
Team Country: Bangladesh
Team City: Sylhet, Sylhet Division
Team Administrator: Pragati Green Auto Rice Mills
Founded (Year): 2012
Home Ground: Sylhet International Cricket Stadium (Sylhet Stadium)
Coach: Mervyn Dillon
Captain: Ravi Bopara
Forms of Cricket: Twenty20
Sylhet Thunder

Sylhet Thunder

Sylhet Thunder: Twenty20 Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Bangladesh Premier League Bangladesh Premier League 0

Sylhet Thunder: Bangladesh professional T20 franchise

Published: Reading time: ~ 4 min. Comments: 0
Sylhet Thunder (Bat e Ball e Bojropat)

A Sylhet Thunder (Bat e Ball e Bojropat) is one of the permanent franchise teams of the BPL (Bangladesh Cricket Premier League). It is previously known as the Sylhet Royals and the Sylhet Super Stars. Home games are held at the local stadium Sylhet International, which can accommodate over 22 thousand spectators. The color of the form is black-green.

Sylhet Thunder squad
Sylhet Thunder is a professional cricket franchise team based in Sylhet, Bangladesh

Sylhet Thunder: history

The Sylhet Royals joined the revamped Bangladesh cricket league in the year of its presentation – 2012. Despite serious ambitions, the most that the team managed to achieve in the first seasons is to reach the playoffs (draw-2013). After a loud scandal that somehow affected all BPL franchises, and the subsequent reformatting, the Sylhet returned under a new name – the Sylhet Super Stars. However, they again failed to advance beyond the league stage, and the team missed the next draw.

Sylhet applied for the league again in 2017. This time, the club changed the name and the leadership: it was headed by the eminent architect, public figure and IT specialist Shahed Muhith, and the politician Abul Maal Abdul Muhitр became the main ideological inspirer. The new team was supposed to boost youth interest in cricket and help bridge the gap between established stars and fans. The current management of the Sylhet consists of former cricketers, coaches, lawyers and businessmen.

All-round Nasir Hossain became the captain of the renewed team, the role of A + player was entrusted to Sabbir Rahman. In addition, Sylhet’s roster includes wicket-keeper Nurul Hasan and spinner Taijul Islam and some foreign cricketers, from Krishmar Santokie to Ross Whiteley. Abul Hasan, Chaturanga de Silva and Ghulam Mudassar joined the team during the draft stage.

The Sylhet started the season with four wins in a row. Bowlers Nasir Hossain and Liam Plunkett managed to show themselves especially brightly, but then a series of injuries followed, which did not allow the team to fight for high places in the standings.

Before the start of the 2018 season, the Sylhet managed not only to save Sabbir Rahman, Nasir Hosain and Soheil Tanvir, but also to sign several new players, including the wicket-keeper of the national team Liton Das, Australian batsman David Warner, as well as such eminent cricketers as Imran Tahir and Jason Roy. As part of the draft, Taskin Ahmed, Afif Hossain and Alok Kopali joined the team.

Unfortunately, neither this nor the following seasons brought the Sylhet the desired success. They finished 2019 on the sixth line of the standings, and they completely rolled back to the last one a year later.

Sylhet Thunder Bat e Ball e Bojropat: players

Currently, the captain’s duties of the Sylhet Thunder Bat e Ball e Bojropat are assigned to David Warner. The head coach is Pakistani Waqar Younis. In the current composition, first of all, it is worth highlighting:

  1. Batsman Andre Fletcher (642 runs in the 2017-2020 seasons);
  2. Bowler Ebadat Hossain, who took 19 wickets in the last season.
Mosaddek Hossain is the Sylhet Thunder captain
Mosaddek Hossain captained the team again in a five-match series of limited-overs matches immediately afterwards

Sylhet Thunder Bat e Ball e Bojropat: Statistics

The Sylhet Thunder Bat e Ball e Bojropat has never won the main league trophy. In addition, the team is on the last line in terms of the number of victories (24 out of 69, that is, 34.78%).

Year Bangladesh Premier League Team Name
2012 League Stage Sylhet Royals
2013 Playoffs Sylhet Royals
2015 League stage Sylhet Super Stars
2016 Suspended
2017 League stage  Sylhet Sixers
2019 League stage  Sylhet Sixers
2019-20 League stage  Sylhet Thunders

Sylhet Thunder Bat e Ball e Bojropat: record holders

Although the updated Sylhet Thunder Bat e Ball e Bojropat has never topped the standings, it is worth noting some personal records set by the club’s players in different years:

  • Best Team Batsman – Andrew Fletcher (642 runs in the 2017-2020 seasons);
  • Most productive batsmen bunch – Andrew Fletcher and Jackson Charles (150 runs against the Khulna Tigers on December 21, 2019);
  • The maximum number of wickets on Taskin Ahmed account (22).

Sylhet Thunder is one of the most interesting in Australian cricket. Follow the News of the team, and also use Tips for matches with its participation.

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form