Sixer / Six

Published: Reading time: ~ 2 min. Comments: 0
Sixer / Six

Sixer / Six is ​​a term used to describe a player with six scores / six runs in a professional match.

The main goal of the game is to score the most points to get ahead of the opponent. Points are awarded for runs as follows:

  • four points (four) are counted when the ball bounces (rolls) out of the field/flies over the edge;
  • Six points (six) are awarded to the batter that succeeds in throwing the ball out of bounds without touching the ground.

These are known as four or six, and the cricketers are known as a sixer. Players with these skills are respected not only in their team but also among their opponents.

In this case, we can recall the Indian cricketer Shahid Afridi, who currently holds the world’s longest six (six). His result of 158 meters was officially recorded at the International Cricket games in the match between India and South Africa on March 17, 2013 in Johannesburg. Perhaps, it is still one of the most spectacular highlights in the world of cricket.

Also, the list of players capable of implementing six would be incomplete without mentioning Herschelle Gibbs. The South African athlete became the first-ever bettor to score six sixes in an international cricket match. At the moment, Sir Cary Sobers and Ravi Shastri have joined him. However, Gibbs is still considered the only player to hold the record for six sixes in overs in the 2007 World Cup against the St. Kitts.

Among the professional cricket players who have made six sixes in a row, 26-year-old New Zealander Leo Carter can be mentioned. To date, Leo has become the seventh athlete in the world to repeat this achievement. Carter recorded his triumph in the official match between the Canterbury and the Northern Districts at the Twenty20 Super Smash on January 5, 2020.

Along with this, Carter became the 4th batsman in history to set this record in a T-20 match and the first player from New Zealand to score six sixes in an over.

The list of players who have had a chance to repeat this achievement is as follows: Gary Sobers, Ravi Shastri, Herschelle Gibbs, Yuvraj Singh, Ross Vitali, Hazratullah Zarzai and Leo Carter at the moment.

You can bet on your favorite team with Mostbet promo code.

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form