Rajshahi Royals Rise of Royals

Nickname: Rise of Royals
Ex Nickname: Duronto Rajshahi
Team Country: Bangladesh
Team City: Rajshahi, Rajshahi Division, Bangladesh
Team Administrator: Bangladesh Cricket Board
Founded (Year): 2012
Coach: Owais Shah
Captain: Andre Russell
Forms of Cricket: Twenty20
Rajshahi Royals Rise of Royals

Rajshahi Royals Rise of Royals: competitions

Rajshahi Royals Rise of Royals: Twenty20 Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Bangladesh Premier League Bangladesh Premier League 1 2019-20

Rajshahi Royals Rise of Royals: Bangladesh cricket club

Published: Reading time: ~ 4 min. Comments: 0
Rajshahi Royals Rise of Royals

Rajshahi Royals Rise of Royals is one of seven franchise teams in the BPL – Bangladesh Premier League. It changed its name several times: having made her debut under the name Duronto Rajshahi, it returned to the league as Rajshahi Kings in 2016. The color of the form is purple-yellow.

The Duronto Rajshahi was among the participants in the first league draw in 2011-2012. At that time, the team was led by Mushfiqur Rahim, and in the base, Marlon Samuels, Sabbir Rahman, and Mohammad Sami played. The Rajshahi won seven out of ten games in the league stage and even claimed the title but found no argument against the Barisal Burners in the semifinals, ending the year in third place.

Before the start of the next season, the main squad experienced a serious castling. In particular, Tamim Iqbal took the place of captain, accompanied by Sean Erwin and Moeen Ali. However, all this almost did not affect the team’s results and did not help it improve its performance: the Rajshahi finished the season on the fourth line.

Rajshahi Royals Rise of Royals history

The Rajshahi had a chance to declare themselves again only a few years later, when, after a long pause, they returned to the league under the new name the Rajshahi Kings. After gaining the right to sign two local players before the start of the draft, they chose Mehedi Hasan and Nurul Hasan. In addition, the roster was joined by Mohammad Sami, Darren Sammy, all-rounder player James Franklin, and experienced Sabbir Rahman, who plays the same position.

Although the season turned out to be rather uneven for the Rajshahis, they could reach the playoffs in the sum of achievements, beating the Dhaka Dynamites and the Khulna Titans. However, in the final, where the Dakkians again opposed the Rajshahi, the team failed to repeat this feat – it had to be satisfied with the second place at the end of the season.

The Rajshahi replaced the A + player Mushfikur Rahman in 2017, retaining several backbone players, in particular, Mominul Haque, Farhad Reza and Mehedi Hasan. In addition, they managed to sign Luke Wright and Lendl Simmons. They are supposed to bring added stability to the team. As part of the draft, the Rajshahi intercepted Mustafizur Rahman and Osama Mira. Still, all this did not help them achieve the desired goal: after losing several key matches, the team fell back to the sixth line of the standings.

The affairs of the Rajshahis in the next season were not much better: they were unable to reach the playoffs. It is not surprising that the team soon had a targeted update (in particular, the South African all-rounder Jean-Paul Duminy joined the team). After another rebranding, the club changed its name again, which brought good luck: the Rajshahi Royals won the first league trophy in their history in the 2019-2020 season.

Rajshahi Royals Rise of Royals: players

Owais Shah currently coaches the Rajshahi Royals Rise of Royals. The captain is performed by Andre Russell. In the current composition, an important role is played by:

  1. Batsmen Liton Das and Shoaib Malik, who share the first place in the number of runs (455);
  2. Farhad Reza ranked first in the list of the most effective bowlers (27 wickets).

Rajshahi Royals Rise of Royals: players

Rajshahi Royals Rise of Royals: statistics

The Rajshahi Royals Rise of Royals is the reigning champions of the league. In addition, they have one final on their account:

League position Final position Season (years)
3 Semi-final 2012
4 Playoffs 2013
Did not participate 2015
2 Final 2016
6 Stage League 2017
5 League Stage 2019
1 Victory 2019-2020

Rajshahi Royals Rise of Royals: record holders

The Rajshahi Royals Rise of Royals is not the most productive team in the league, but a number of their players managed to mark local records:

  • The best batsman of the team – Mominul Hake (646 runs in the 2016-2019 seasons);
  • Most productive batsman bunch – Laurie Evans and Ryan ten Doeschate (148 runs against Comilla Victorians on January 21, 2019);
  • The maximum number of wickets on account of two bowlers at once – Mohammad Sami and Mehidy Hasan Miraz (33).
Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form