Knights cricket team

Team Country: South Africa
Team City: Kimberley, Northern Cape, South Africa
Founded (Year): 2003
Home Ground: Mangaung Oval, Diamond Oval
Coach: Allan Donald
Captain: Pite van Biljon
Forms of Cricket: First-Class Limited Overs Twenty20
Knights cricket team

Knights cricket team: competitions

Knights cricket team: First-Class Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years 4-Day Domestic Series 4-Day Domestic Series 1 2016–17

Knights cricket team: Limited Overs Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Momentum One Day Cup Momentum One Day Cup 1 2010–11

Knights cricket team: Twenty20 Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Betway T20 Challenge Betway T20 Challenge 0

Knights cricket team: professional club from South Africa

Published: Reading time: ~ 3 min. Comments: 0
Knights cricket team

The Knights cricket team were formed in 2003, thanks to a change in the domestic cricket competition in South Africa. Initially, the club was called Diamond Eagles and was renamed in 2010. The team is one of the six major professional cricket teams in South Africa, which take part in 3 national championships. The club has won 2 championship victories in the 4-Day Domestic Series, three titles in the Momentum One Day Cup, and twice the team was recognized as the best in the CSA Twenty20 Challenge short matches tournament. The team plays home games at the Mangaung Oval with a capacity of 20,000 and the De Beers Diamond Oval with a capacity of 11,000.

Knights cricket team – the history of the first clubs in the province of Free State

The first recorded cricket game in the Orange Free State was held in 1892 in Bloemfontein at the Ramblers Cricket Club Ground. The Orange Free State team of the same name played an international match against the English team, which traveled to the cities of South Africa at that time.

The Orange Free State team represented the province of the same name in the country’s main cricket championships in the period from 1892-2004. In 1995, the team became known as the Free State. Unfortunately, the club’s highest result was 2nd in the first-class Currie Cup (now the 4-Day Domestic Series) until 1989. However, the team was able to transform and win several champion titles in the 1990s:

  • the Currie Cup (3 times) – in 1993, 1994, 1998;
  • the Standard Bank Cup (now Momentum One Day Cup) – 4 times. 1989, 1994, 1995 and 1996;
  • the CSA Provincial Competitions (1) – in 2005.

In 2003, the Free State Club teamed up with the Griqualand West team to form the professional Diamond Eagles team. The Free State players themselves continued to compete in the provincial CSA Provincial Competitions.

The second club that is part of the Diamond Eagles is called the Northern Cape. It was formed in 1884 under the name Kimberley Cricket Club, and since 1891 it was called the Griqualand West. The club represents the South African province of the North Cape. The home venue for the games is the De Beers Diamond Oval in Kimberley.

Throughout its history, the team was recognized as the best in 3 competitions 6 times:

  • the Currie Cup (1) – 1891;
  • the Standard Bank Cup (1) – in 1999;
  • the CSA Provincial Competitions (4) – most recently in 2012.

In 2003, due to significant changes in the first-class cricket championships, Griqualand became part of the new Diamond Eagles team. The team itself continued to perform at the provincial tournament CSA Provincial Competitions. In 2015, it was renamed the Northern Cape.

Knights cricket team - the history of the first clubs in the province of Free State

Knights cricket team – new team

Thanks to the partial merger of 2 professional cricket teams, the Diamond Eagles team was formed in 2003. After reorganizing the competition in South Africa, the club began participating in 3 major championships: the 4-Day Domestic Series, the Momentum One Day Cup and the CSA Twenty20 Challenge. The team was renamed the Knights in 2010. Throughout their history, the Knights were able to become the best in the country 7 times:

  1. the 4-Day Domestic Series (2) – The first time was a joint victory with the Dolphins club in 2005. 2nd title in 2008;
  2. the Momentum One Day Cup (3) – in 2005, in 2006 and 2011;
  3. the CSA Twenty20 Challenge (2) – in 2004 and 2006.

Knights cricket team - new team

And the most important information you need to know about the club is that the first-class Knights team will not be in the national cricket championships from the 2021 to 2022 season. Together with the other 5 main clubs, the teams cease to exist independently. Instead, 15 provincial teams will take part in the South African tournaments.

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form