Karnataka Premier League

Full Current Name: Karnataka Premier league
Tournament Country: India
Tournament Administrator: Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI)
Cricket Forms: Twenty20
Current Champion: Gulbarga Mystics
Nearest Tournament: 15 August 2022 - 31 August 2022
Format Tournament: Round-robin & playoffs
Numbers Of Team: 6
Karnataka Premier League

Karnataka Premier League: participating teams

Karnataka Premier League (Maharaja Trophy T20): Twenty20 cricket in India

Published: Reading time: ~ 4 min. Comments: 0
Karnataka Premier League

The Karnataka Premier League is a professional cricket tournament featuring seven well-known teams. The games are held in a format with a limited number of overs (Twenty20). This means that one game consists of 2 innings, where 20 overs are played in each. The Karnataka State Cricket Association manages the league. The championship appeared in 2009 and is currently one of the most popular championships in India. The largest number of titles on account of the Bijapur Bulls team. It became the champion in 2016 and 2019. Get acquainted with a brief overview of the Karnataka Premier League.

Karnataka Premier League – debut season

Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA) is a local sports body responsible for cricket in the state of Karnataka (population 61 million people, until 1973 it was called Mysore). The Association was formed in 1933. It is a full member of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). Due to this, KSCA has the right to field a cricket club for various national cricket championships.

The BCCI is the national Cricket Council, which is responsible for the sport throughout the country. The Council has been organizing and conducting popular domestic cricket competitions since 1928.

With the consent of the BCCI, the Karnataka State Cricket Association decided to create its own domestic professional league in 2009. The championship participants are formed sports teams sponsored by local companies, enterprises, factories and plants.

Karnataka Premier League – debut season

Twelve clubs applied for the debut draw. However, the limit of the championship was eight teams. To select the required amount, an auction was held, the winners of which were the following teams:

  1. Bangalore Brigadiers – a bet of $ 1.0 million;
  2. Rockstars* – a bet of $ 1.0 million;
  3. Mangalore United – a bet of $ 590 thousand;
  4. Belagavi Panthers – a bet of $ 530 thousand;
  5. Shamanur Davangere Diamonds – a bet of $ 520 thousand;
  6. Bijapur Bulls – a bet of $ 490 thousand;
  7. Mysuru Warriors – a bet of $ 460 thousand;
  8. Namma Shivamogga* – a bet of $ 460 thousand.

*For a number of reasons, two teams were unable to play in the debut season. They were replaced by the collectives Provident Bangalore and Malnad Gladiators.

The first season took place in September 2009. The league’s main sponsor was a real estate sales company in India – Mantri Developers (a 5-year contract).

The competition was held in two rounds – a group round and a playoff round. The playoffs began with the 1/2 final stage, where the top 4 clubs got into. The debut winner of the Karnataka Premier League was the Provident Bangalore team, which beat Belagavi Panthers in the final with an advantage of 5 wickets.

Karnataka Premier League – all results and other information about KPL

Karnataka Premier League – all results and other information about KPL

With each season, the teams at KPL changed. Some were unable to compete with other clubs, and some simply ceased to exist. Karnataka Premier League was not held in the period from 2011 to 2014.

In the last season (2019-2020), seven teams competed. Let’s make a table of champions for the entire history of the championship:

Season Numver of clubs Winner 2nd place
2009-2010 8 Provident Bangalore Belagavi Panthers
2010-2011 8 Mangalore United Provident Bangalore
2014-2015 7 Mysore Warriors Belagavi Panthers
2015-2016 8 Bijapur Bulls Hubli Tigers
2016-2017 8 Bellary Tuskers Hubli Tigers
2017-2018 7 Belagavi Panthers Bijapur Bulls
2018-2019 7 Bijapur Bulls Bengaluru Blasters
2019-2020 7 Hubli Tigers Bellary Tuskers

After a 5-year contract with Mantri Developers, the next main sponsor was an Indian smartphone manufacturing company – Karbonn Mobiles. Karbonn is the first Android One smartphone sold in the UK. Today, the title sponsor is the Redmi brand, owned by the Chinese company Xiaomi.

By the way, did you know that in 2017, for the first time in India, KPL used cameras with a 360-degree view?

The 2020-2021 season was canceled due to the spread of COVID-19. We hope that in the near future the situation will change and we will again watch the highlights of the Karnataka Premier League.

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Comments on Article

No Comments for this post

Leave Your Comment

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form