Chhattisgarh cricket team

Team Country: India
Team City: Naya Raipur, Chhattisgarh
Team Administrator: Chhattisgarh State Cricket Sangh
Founded (Year): 2016
Home Ground: Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Cricket Stadium
Coach: Devendra Bundela
Captain: Harpreet Singh Bhatia
Forms of Cricket: First-Class Limited Overs
Chhattisgarh cricket team

Chhattisgarh cricket team: competitions

Chhattisgarh cricket team: First-Class Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Ranji Trophy Ranji Trophy 0
Irani Trophy 0

Chhattisgarh cricket team: Limited Overs Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Vijay Hazare Trophy Vijay Hazare Trophy 0

Chhattisgarh cricket team: Indian domestic cricket team

Published: Reading time: ~ 4 min. Comments: 0
Chhattisgarh cricket team

The Indian cricket team Chhattisgarh was formed in 2016. The club represents the self-titled state of Chhattisgarh, with a population of 29 million people. The team plays in the domestic first-class cricket tournament Ranji Trophy, the championship Vijay Hazare Trophy (format of the same name matches) and Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy (Twenty20 format). Home games are played at the Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Stadium, with a capacity of 65,000 people. Unfortunately, for 5 years of the existence of a professional team, Chhattisgarh has not won any championship titles. However, the club strives for this. We have prepared for you a brief overview of a young and promising cricket club.

Chhattisgarh cricket team – Association history

Every cricket team has its own manager. Chhattisgarh cricket team is managed by a local Board called Chhattisgarh State Cricket Sangh (CSCS). It is the governing body responsible for the activities of cricket throughout the state. Despite the professional team being formed in 2016, CSCS appeared much earlier – in 2000.

Cricket in India appeared in the XVIII century. Today, this sport is considered the most popular sport in the country. Moreover, according to official statistics, cricket ranks 2nd in the world ranking among the most viewed sports.

It is very surprising that the local governing body for cricket in the state of Chhattisgarh appeared only at the beginning of the XXI century. We got acquainted with the history of the state and realized that it was in 2000 that it was formed. Before that, the state of Chhattisgarh was part of the territory of Madhya Pradesh (the 2nd largest state of India).

Since the zero years of the 21st century, the territory is considered an independent administrative unit. Therefore, initially, cricket was only at the amateur level. After the formation of CSCS, local inter-district cricket tournaments for all age groups began to appear in the state.

The youth and adult teams (U16, U19, U25) have already played at the Vijay Merchant Trophy, Cooch Behar Trophy, and CK Nayudu Trophy zonal championships.

Chhattisgarh State Cricket Sangh joined the Board of Control for Cricket in India in 2008 as an associate member. According to the rules, a local governing body can obtain the status of a full member at least five years after the year of joining the Council. In addition, the BCCI must be sure that the cricket in the area has reached a professional level. So, only in 2016, the state of Chhattisgarh received the status of a full member of the BCCI. This gave it the right to field the team for the best tournaments of the country.

Chhattisgarh cricket team – Association history

Chhattisgarh cricket team – professional status

Starting from the 2016-2017 season, the team appeared in the first-class Ranji Trophy championship. In the debut match, the club played against the Tripura cricket team. The match ended with Chhattisgarh winning by 9 wickets. At the end of the 1st season, the club took 9th place in Group C.

In the last season of the Ranji Trophy (2020, it was not held in 2021 due to the COVID-19 pandemic), the team was in the plate group (a group of young clubs). Here it took 3rd place out of 10 (but only the 1st place gave a chance to move to the next group).

The Vijay Hazare Trophy is another professional cricket championship, but with a limited number of overs (one-day format). Here, Chhattisgarh, in the last season of 2021 (unlike the Ranji Trophy, the tournament took place), was in Group E and took 2nd place out of 6.

In addition to the two previous championships, the club also competes in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy championship. The tournament is held in the format of short matches (two innings of 20 overs each). In the last season (it was also in 2021), the Chhattisgarh cricket team took 2nd place in the plate group.

Chhattisgarh cricket team – professional status

The following successful players have played for the team at various times:

  • Rajesh Chauhan;
  • Amandeep Khare;
  • Abhimanyu Chauhan;
  • Harpreet Singh.

As we can see, the club is gradually moving higher and higher. We wish the team good luck and soon take the 1st championship title. Our website will definitely monitor all the achievements of the team.

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form