West End Redbacks

Nickname: Southern Redbacks
Team Country: Australia
Team City: Adelaide, South Australia
Team Administrator: South Australian Cricket Association
Founded (Year): 1887
Home Ground: Adelaide Oval
Coach: Jason Gillespie
Captain: Travis Head
Forms of Cricket: First-Class Limited Overs Twenty20
West End Redbacks

West End Redbacks: Competitions

West End Redbacks: First-Class Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Sheffield Shield Sheffield Shield 13 1894, 1910, 1913, 1927, 1936, 1939, 1953, 1964, 1969, 1971, 1976, 1982, 1996

West End Redbacks: Limited Overs Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years One Day Cup One Day Cup 3 1984, 1987, 2012

West End Redbacks: Twenty20 Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Big Bash League Big Bash League 1 2011

West End Redbacks: a brief overview of the team

Published: Reading time: ~ 3 min. Comments: 0
West End Redbacks

The West End Redbacks are the main professional cricket team of the state of South Australia, the driest part of the entire continent. The team is also known to its fans under the nickname Southern Redback. The team acquired its main name due to a sponsorship agreement with West End Draught – this is the name of the beer that is brewed in Australia by the Lion company.

As befits the top cricketers in Australia, the West End Redbacks represent their state in the continent’s best tournaments in this sport – the Sheffield Shield and the limited overs Marsh One-Day Cup. They also competed with other teams in tournaments that no longer exist (for example, the KFC Twenty20 Big Bash).

The team is based at the giant Adelaide Oval Stadium. This venue can accommodate more than 53,000 spectators at the same time.

The brand colors of the West End Redbacks are red, black and white. The logo shows a black and red spider, as well as the name of the team itself.

He is a member of the South Australian Cricket Association along with such teams as the Adelaide Strikers and SA Scorpions.

West End Redbacks: the history and main events of the team

West End Redbacks: the history and main events of the team

We have received a little information about the history and origin of the West End Redbacks team. According to various sources, the debut first-class match took place in 1877 against the national team of Tasmania. At the same time, the Association, in which the team is still a member, was founded in 1871.

The West End Redbacks were doing incredibly well, so already in 1892-1893, they became on a par with NSW and Victory and played in the first season of the Sheffield Shield, taking, by the way, second place. But the next attempt to participate in this tournament for the team from South Australia was successful: they took first place, and with it – the main prize in cricket in Australian tournaments.

During the many years of the team’s existence, a huge number of international cricketers have played for the West End Redbacks. Bowler Clarrie Grimmett, who played in the team in the 1920s-1930s, is the author of the Australian state record: in total, he managed to take 668 wickets.

This record is not the only one for the West End Redbacks. So, batsman Barry Richards in the 1970-1971 season managed to make 1538 runs per season, which is a record for the state of South Australia.

Over the years of the team’s existence, dozens of top players have passed through it. The West End Redbacks continue to compete in major domestic tournaments in Australia.

West End Redbacks today: achievements, line-up

West End Redbacks today: achievements, line-up

In recent years, starting with the 2017-2018 season, the West End Redbacks have been experiencing an obvious decline in strength: the guys do not take any cool awards and also do not get knocked out in the finals.

However, during its activity, the team has won a large number of awards. We list their achievements:

  • Sheffield Shield Winners: 1893 – 1894, 1909 – 1910, 1912 – 1913, 1926 – 1927, 1935 – 1936, 1938 – 1939, 1952 – 1953, 1963 – 1964, 1968 – 1969, 1970 – 1971, 1975 – 1976, 1981 – 1982, 1995 – 1996.
  • One-day Cups Winners: 1983 – 1984, 1986 – 1987, 2011 – 2012.
  • KFC Twenty20 Big Bash Winners: 2010-2011.

The current composition of the West End Redbacks for 2021:

  • Batsmen: Travis Head (captain), Jake Lehmann, Jake Weatherald, Henry Hunt.
  • Bowlers: Wes Agar, David Grant, Joe Mennie, Kane Richardson, Nick Winter, Daniel Worrall, Lloyd Pope.
  • Wicketkeepers: Alex Carey, Harry Nielsen.
  • All-rounders: Ben Pengelley, Cameron Valente.

Now the West End Redbacks continue to bring up new players and stay among the six major Australian cricket teams.

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Comments on Article

No Comments for this post

Leave Your Comment

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form